JFK-MEL double in price

Old May 4, 2010, 4:09 am
Original Poster

Programs: AA Plat, CO Plat, DL Plat, FB Plat, UA 1P, VA Plat, VS Silver, SPG Plat, Hertz PC, National EE
JFK-MEL double in price

I'm new to all this but I must say this is the most amazing community.

Quick question:
I've been keeping an eye on the prices for jfk- mel over the last few weeks and most of the airlines were hanging around $1100 or so. In the last couple of days the price on aa has gone up twice that. I find this quite strange as all other carriers are still around $1100 including Qantas which is actually the airline that aa codeshare with.
Any explanations?
Old May 4, 2010, 4:56 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AA Lifetime PLT, AS MVPG, HH Diamond, NCL Platinum Plus, MSC Diamond
Originally Posted by aussieflyer
I'm new to all this but I must say this is the most amazing community.

Quick question:
I've been keeping an eye on the prices for jfk- mel over the last few weeks and most of the airlines were hanging around $1100 or so. In the last couple of days the price on aa has gone up twice that. I find this quite strange as all other carriers are still around $1100 including Qantas which is actually the airline that aa codeshare with.
Any explanations?
AA's inventory of the cheapest seats has run out. (My guess... )
Old May 4, 2010, 5:06 am
In Memoriam

Programs: aa plt 4.9MM LTAC
$1100 is a fare that i would have jumped on.for an aa code share.....

what date[s] are you looking for?.....good luck...
Old May 4, 2010, 6:31 am
Original Poster

Programs: AA Plat, CO Plat, DL Plat, FB Plat, UA 1P, VA Plat, VS Silver, SPG Plat, Hertz PC, National EE
I was looking at 21/6-21/7.
I paid $1083 on qantas but I wanted the aa coseshare so I could do the platinum challenge. Guess ill have to wait to become elite on aa.
Old May 4, 2010, 6:35 am
Original Poster

Originally Posted by mvoight
AA's inventory of the cheapest seats has run out. (My guess... )