Using Miles to Travel from CLT to GOT

Old Oct 19, 09, 3:59 am
Original Poster

Using Miles to Travel from CLT to GOT

Hi everyone,

I'm new here, so I apologize if this is not the correct forum, but I think it is. I'm a graduate student from the US studying overseas in Gothenburg, Sweden, have a ticket to come home for Christmas (my return flight on my original booking to Sweden), but am attempting to book my next flight back to Sweden.

My brother has graciously offered me to use his American AAdvantage miles. The shortest American Airlines itinerary I can find from CLT is 4 flights and >24 hours of travel time versus ~12 hours in 2 flights if I book a USAir flight. Now I realize the flight time would be longer with American since I need to travel to one of their international HUBs while I can catch a direct USAir flight to FRA from CLT. This seems a little long though.

From the patterns I've seen one of the bigest problems is there are no direct AA flights from CLT to JFK, where I catch my overnight flight to BRU and then jump over to GOT. All the itineraries I've seen have me going to from CLT to ORD, DFW, or MIA then to JFK.

Can anyone help me find a better set of flights from CLT to GOT during the week after Christmas but before New Year's (Dec. 27 - Jan. 1) using AA? I'd be willing to drive to a nearby airport, but don't know which ones I should try.

Thanks a lot for any help you may have.
Old Oct 19, 09, 4:28 am

Programs: DL DM; AA EXP, 1MM
The only AA flight numbers to GOT is a Brussels Airlines flights from Brussels (which I'm guessing you've already figured out ) It looks like this causes you two problems, one you already know about and one you may not:

1. AA only flies non-stop from ORD and JFK in the US to BRU. Unfortunately, it appears the ORD-BRU flight arrives in BRU too late to be a legal connection to GOT. So you would have to connect through JFK which, as you discovered, has no non-stop AA service from CLT.