Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > ITA Airways | Volare > Alitalia | MilleMiglia
Reload this Page >

Medical Emergency on AZ608 on 6/12/18... How does treating doctor contact Alitalia?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Medical Emergency on AZ608 on 6/12/18... How does treating doctor contact Alitalia?

Search this Thread

Old Jul 10, 2018, 9:54 am
Original Poster

Programs: AA, SPG
Question Medical Emergency on AZ608 on 6/12/18... How does treating doctor contact Alitalia?

This is my mother's story in her own words:

"I was on flight AZ608, on Tuesday, June 12. I paid for and flew Business Class. My name is xxxx. Early on in the flight I developed a headache. I asked the stewardess for aspirin and she was reluctant to give it to me, because the name of the medication was in Italian. I told her I was a physician and ascertained, the medicine was in fact aspirin, and I took the pills.
A few hours later I was approached by another steward, asking if I would administer to a sick passenger on the plane. He stated that the stewardess had told him I was a physician. I went with the steward to the rear of the plane where an Egyptian woman, who spoke only Egyptian was sitting, holding her chest, sweating and in obvious distress. We got her on the floor. I knew from the stewardess, who had showed me medicine the passenger had asked her to refrigerate for the flight, that the woman had diabetes and was taking insulin. The woman showed me her pill box, none of the pills were marked except nitroglycerin pills, which were in a bubble dispense package. Her blood pressure was 210/120, her pulse was 110, she was breathing rapidly and holding her chest. Her husband was called. He spoke some English, but minimal, and could not distinguish between past present and future tense - so getting any kind of medical history from him was difficult.