Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > America - USA > Alaska
Reload this Page >

TSA checkpoints in remote Alaska airports?

TSA checkpoints in remote Alaska airports?

Old Feb 26, 11, 8:23 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: STL
Posts: 1,339
TSA checkpoints in remote Alaska airports?

So I've been watching Flying Wild Alaska on the Discovery Channel, and everytime they show the inside of the terminal of one of those remote Alaskan airports, it looks like it's just a small building with a couple check in desks and some chairs. So I was wondering, do these airports have full security checkpoints that they're just not showing on camera, or are the passengers screened when they arrive at their destination (probably ANC) if they're connecting.
t325 is offline  
Old Feb 26, 11, 8:50 am
  #2  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Programs: Hyatt Diamond, Fairmont Platinum, Aeroplan Diamond, HHonors Gold, SPG Gold
Posts: 18,686
I assume that they have full security TSA approved checkpoints.. We were in Waterton, and passed the border by boat. On land, they even had TSA checkpoints there too.. probably as obscure as Alaska.
Ancien Maestro is offline  
Old Feb 26, 11, 9:17 am
  #3  
Senior Moderator/Moderator: United MileagePlus
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Programs: UA Plat/2MM [23-yr. 1K, now emeritus] WN-A List; MR LT Titanium; HY Whateverist.
Posts: 12,095
Although this could be moved to the Travel Safety/Security forum, I'm betting the readers of the Travel->Alaska forum can hone in on this. I'll move it there. Ocn Vw 1K, Moderator, TravelBuzz.
Ocn Vw 1K is offline  
Old Feb 26, 11, 12:30 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Neither here nor there
Programs: DL plt, HH dia, MR Plat, CC con, at least two of those buy 10 get 1 free coffee cards
Posts: 1,503
Nope. Many remote Alaskan airports do not have tsa checkpoints. You can even bring your coffee on board! Non secured flights arrive and depart from the downstairs concourse at ANC. You then go through security if you're connecting to a mainline flight.
aroundtheworld76 is offline  
Old Mar 6, 11, 3:30 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
TSA in AK

TSA only has a presence at remote airports served by Alaska Airlines. And you only have to go through security if you are flying on Alaska. The lower levels of the Anchorage airport do not have TSA checkpoints either. Fly on Grant Aiation, ERA, or Penair to skip the TSA.
premieride is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread