FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   Alaska Airlines | Mileage Plan (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/alaska-airlines-mileage-plan-442/)
-   -   EQM's, COS bonus, and upgrading. (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/alaska-airlines-mileage-plan/684014-eqms-cos-bonus-upgrading.html)

Seattler Apr 18, 2007 3:29 pm

EQM's, COS bonus, and upgrading.

I'm new to FT, and have a couple of questions about the AS mileage program.

1. I'm MVP Gold, so I get put on the waitlist for upgrades sometimes, but often don't get make it to F. I also have my 4 yearly OW paper upgrades in hand still, which I believe I can use to confirm upgrade in advance. How can I tell in advance if my waitlist upgrade has a prayer of getting me into F, so I know whether to spend my paper upgrade or take a chance on upgrading off waitlist?
2. Do COS bonus miles count towards EQ?

Thanks! Sorry this is so long, I'm still figuring out the lingo!

BLI-Flyer Apr 18, 2007 5:45 pm

1) You can't really tell. If it's critical that you get into F (for me, that's a SEA-BOS, SEA-EWR, SEA-DCA, or SEA-MCO flight), use the paper upgrade cert IF you can get it confirmed, otherwise get on the waiting list knowing that you're probably not going to be upgraded.

2) Yes, I'm pretty sure COS miles count as EQM.

kmcg Apr 18, 2007 7:12 pm

You can use seatcounter.com to check the fluctuating availability of U seats on a particular flight. I think it's pretty accurate. But it's really more useful if you are trying to use the certificates - I doubt it would realistically predict availability at the 72 hour mark.

Seattler Apr 18, 2007 8:20 pm

THX!..one last question... (well, probably not the last)

Do the 500 minimum miles for a short leg (SEA to PDX) also count as 500 EQM, or do they does AS use actual miles for EQM in this case?

THX

Eastbay1K Apr 18, 2007 8:48 pm

Originally Posted by Seattler (Post 7604846)