Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Alaska Airlines | Mileage Plan
Reload this Page >

Does Alaska recognize your phone when you call?

Does Alaska recognize your phone when you call?

Old Dec 31, 19, 2:39 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oakland CA
Programs: UA *G, AS MVPG, Globalist
Posts: 930
Does Alaska recognize your phone when you call?

Every time I call the MVP line, Alaska says 'Please enter your mileage plan number', and I have to manually key in my number.

I just called customer care to fix this, and the rep said 'they don't have the technology' to recognize a customer's phone number, and all customers need to manually enter their mileage plan number every time they call.

True? Given that its (almost) 2020, this seems like a simple capability to have.
dordal is offline  
Old Dec 31, 19, 2:46 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: PDX
Programs: AS MVP Gold 75K
Posts: 846
This sounds very strange. I believe they recognize you and your status when you call. I've never been asked for my mileage plan number...
RAD_PDX is offline  
Old Dec 31, 19, 3:07 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: San Diego, CA
Programs: Southwest A-List; Alaska MVPG; Hilton Diamond; Avis PreferredPlus
Posts: 377
I hadnít thought about it, but I donít believe Iíve ever given that information to begin a call (either by typing it in or verbally). Every agent Iíve spoken to seems to have a quick grasp on my upcoming flights and can navigate to them without any hassle or even confirmation.

Sample script might be something like:

Me: I have an upcoming flight to Boston....
Agent: Is that the one on Feb 29th?
Me: yes.
twitch76 is offline  
Old Dec 31, 19, 3:09 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Programs: AS MVPG, DL GM, New Sagaya
Posts: 824
Hmm, I have to key in my mileage number each time.
williwaw is offline  
Old Dec 31, 19, 3:16 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 391
I too key in my Mileage Plan number each time. That's how I memorized it.
PaperGlider is offline  
Old Dec 31, 19, 3:20 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Seattle
Programs: AS MVPG, Alaska Lounge, HHonors Silver, Bonvoy Gold, National Executive
Posts: 430
I'm recognized whenever I call from my cell phone, which is the number I have listed in my profile. I have to enter in my number if I call from a different phone.
lg20 is offline  
Old Dec 31, 19, 3:20 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: PDX
Programs: AS MVP Gold 75K
Posts: 846
I just called the MVP priority line to test it and was not prompted at all. The agent asked for my first name and that was sufficient.

As a note, I always call from the number listed in my profile.
RAD_PDX is offline  
Old Dec 31, 19, 3:22 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Programs: AS MVPG, 1MM
Posts: 350
Had a mechanical this past week that eventually became a cancellation. As folks rushed to the desk I called the Gold desk and was greeted with "Please enter you mileage plan number OR just say I don't know". The agent came on pretty quick, asked for my confirmation number for the flight...when she brought it up she goes "oh, you are having a bad day"...no kidding. Promptly had me re-booked, great service.
PaperGlider likes this.
JacksonFlyer is offline  
Old Dec 31, 19, 3:23 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Programs: AS MVPG, HH G
Posts: 219
I have a couple of phone numbers in my account. When I call from the one set as my primary phone number, it goes to the MVPG priority line automatically. When I call from the other one (also a mobile phone) it doesn't.

On the MVPG line, after I give my name and say what flights I'm calling about sometimes they'll ask for the confirmation number and other times they'll call up the relevant itinerary without it.

Į\_(ツ)_/Į
RaginPlainsman is offline  
Old Dec 31, 19, 5:42 pm
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bay Area, CA
Programs: UA Plat 2MM; AS MVP Gold 75K
Posts: 34,983
What phone are you using?

AS recognizes numbers for sure. Is your phone blocking caller ID by default? If so, they wouldn't know who you are. If this is a work phone, this could be a company wide setting. If this is a desk phone at work, they could be using the caller ID of a main or general number.
channa is offline  
Old Dec 31, 19, 5:44 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Programs: AS MVPG, DL GM, New Sagaya
Posts: 824
My primary is my mobile and that what I call from. I just deleted my office number - will have to test it later.
williwaw is offline  
Old Dec 31, 19, 6:16 pm
  #12  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Juneau, Alaska.
Programs: AS 75K; BA Gold
Posts: 13,208
The system recognizes my phone number when I call. In the past, the problems reported have arisen from calling from a different phone than their primary number, the phone number is associated with more than one account, caller ID blocking on your phone, problems related to merging of Virgin accounts and associated phone numbers, and other reasons. See also:
MVPG line not recognizing my phone number suddenly
To what purpose do the automated responses really serve when calling?
Call Center Improvements
missamo80 likes this.
jerry a. laska is offline  
Old Dec 31, 19, 6:31 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: YVR, HNL
Programs: AS MVPG, UA peon, BA Bronze, Marriott Gold, HH Diamond, Fairmont Plat (RIP)
Posts: 5,751
I always have to key in my number. And I call from the same phone (the one in my profile) every time. No caller id blocking, no duplicate accounts. No associated phone numbers. Nuttin’.
Finkface is offline  
Old Dec 31, 19, 7:48 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Programs: AS MVPG75k
Posts: 325
I feel bad for you folks who have to key in a MP number. One of my favorite parts of The MVPG line is that they immediately know who I am, my status, and upcoming flights after I verbally confirm my name.

UA 1K line doesnít do this and have always thought, ďwow, hereís something AS tech is actually doing better than the competition.Ē

If it isnít working for you, I would talk to CS about what the cause could be and HUCA if necessary. Itís a valuable time-saving feature when everyone is trying to get on a new flight, post-cancellation.
jjmadison is offline  
Old Dec 31, 19, 8:11 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Programs: AS MVPG, DL GM, New Sagaya
Posts: 824
My mobile is also the primary for my children - that might be the issue!
lensovet and be_rettSEA like this.
williwaw is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: