Seat no longer available

Old Aug 1, 19, 4:21 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SFO/SEA
Programs: MVP Gold
Posts: 73
Seat no longer available

I'm MVP Gold and did a SDC yesterday for today's flight and am now seated in 29E. Normally when I do this and am assigned a middle seat the day before, I can check in again later and get an aisle or window seat. Today, EVERY time I see a seat come free, I get an error message that "seat is no longer available." This is the case even when I try and move to a different middle seat. Are people really monitoring the seat map every minute and grabbing the seats, or is something else happening? I've been looking at it about every 15 minutes today, for an 8 pm flight, and have seen a few windows and aisles that I couldn't book.

As an aside, I don't show up on the upgrade list either. I didn't bother to call since the upgrade list is really long, and I stand zero chance of upgrade without being 75K.

Last edited by sjbsf; Aug 1, 19 at 4:23 pm Reason: additional info
sjbsf is offline  
Old Aug 1, 19, 4:29 pm
  #2  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 83,728
Call. Could you have been rebooked into a fare class that doesn't allow seat selection or upgrades when you did the SDC? This is bizarre, but it seems to have the features of basic economy on some carriers.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old Aug 1, 19, 4:32 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SFO/SEA
Programs: MVP Gold
Posts: 73
That should't be the problem. I always book main cabin, not saver.
sjbsf is offline  
Old Aug 1, 19, 4:33 pm
  #4  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 83,728
Originally Posted by sjbsf View Post
That should't be the problem. I always book main cabin, not saver.
However an agent or a glitch could have rebooked you into a cheaper available fare class.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old Aug 1, 19, 4:41 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Seattle
Programs: AS MVP
Posts: 1,428
Originally Posted by MSPeconomist View Post
However an agent or a glitch could have rebooked you into a cheaper available fare class.
Especially since they put you in 29. Worth a call.
pcoll is offline  
Old Aug 1, 19, 5:13 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Programs: AS MVPG75k
Posts: 257
This has happened to me before. It's one of many bugs with the SDC system. Call in or text (820-08) and they will be able to override the error.
be_rettSEA likes this.
jjmadison is offline  
Old Aug 1, 19, 5:53 pm
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SFO/SEA
Programs: MVP Gold
Posts: 73
Of course, calling in was the right suggestion. The agent originally couldn't change my seat and couldn't figure out how to override it and told me to go to the airport early. However, during the call I saw my flight was delayed, asked the agent to put me on the later flight (which was now earlier), then saw that second flight was delayed, and she put me back on the original flight. That cleared whatever glitch was with my ticket and I'm in 17D.
be_rettSEA and pcoll like this.
sjbsf is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread