Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Alaska Airlines | Mileage Plan
Reload this Page >

AS Mobile App - Questions / Comments / Suggestions

AS Mobile App - Questions / Comments / Suggestions

Reply

Old Feb 28, 19, 5:10 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Seattle, Washington, USA
Programs: Alaska MVPG, Hilton Diamond, Hertz President's Circle
Posts: 16
AS Mobile App - Questions / Comments / Suggestions

Just noticed that the app now allows you to add Mileage Plan, KTN, and Redress numbers by tapping on the passenger name when viewing an upcoming trip. Seems like there may be a few bugs to work out as only 1/5 upcoming trips show my KTN attached to the reservation, whereas the website has it attached to all.

KevPNW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 19, 5:46 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 83
Hopefully your mobile boarding pass has it all correct
ASA_1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 19, 5:49 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Programs: AS, New Sagaya
Posts: 287
The new app update doesn't show my number in the app but they are recorded when I view on the web. Maybe the app is just adding the ability to update as a functionality.
be_rettSEA likes this.
williwaw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 19, 6:03 pm
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Seattle, Washington, USA
Programs: Alaska MVPG, Hilton Diamond, Hertz President's Circle
Posts: 16
Originally Posted by williwaw View Post
The new app update doesn't show my number in the app but they are recorded when I view on the web. Maybe the app is just adding the ability to update as a functionality.
Initially thought the same, but itís pre-populated in one reservation and not the others. Assuming itís just a bug theyíll work out.
williwaw likes this.
KevPNW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 19, 5:45 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: YYF/YLW
Programs: AA, DL, AS MVP, VA
Posts: 4,710
Hmm. I noticed yesterday when I checked in that I had to enter my known traveler number and passport information even though itís in my profile and Iím pretty sure I confirmed that it was in the reservation when I made it a few weeks ago. Then I got SSSS instead of precheck, which turned 5 minutes at SEA security to 30. I assumed it was just a random selection, but I wonder if the KTN wasnít in the reservation in advance and that increased my SSSS probability?
ashill is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 19, 7:49 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 83
This is definitely not ok. If this is systemic, they need to know about it ASAP. I recommend using the ďcontact usĒ > ďapp feedbackĒ to vocalize our frustrations, and also sending them a message on facebook to make sure things really get going to fix it.
ASA_1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 19, 12:21 pm
  #7  
brp
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SJC
Programs: AA EXP, BA Silver, AS 75K Gold MVP, and some hotel stuff...
Posts: 32,406
I just noticed this as well.

Another issue I've found (and this predates the current update): WHen I save BPs to my Apple Wallet, they do not show up on the Lock Screen within 4 hours of the flight. Pretty sure that AS used to work properly on this, And both AA and BA are currently working, so pretty sue it's not my phone setup.

Are others seeing this as well

Cheers.
tullera likes this.
brp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 19, 1:27 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 11
For boarding passes I take a screen shot and save it to my picture gallery. Then I don't have to worry about a weak wifi signal and/or my phone timing out just as I reach the gate or TSA.

Last edited by dougfoglesong; Mar 1, 19 at 1:28 pm Reason: misspell
dougfoglesong is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 19, 1:34 pm
  #9  
brp
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SJC
Programs: AA EXP, BA Silver, AS 75K Gold MVP, and some hotel stuff...
Posts: 32,406
Originally Posted by dougfoglesong View Post
For boarding passes I take a screen shot and save it to my picture gallery. Then I don't have to worry about a weak wifi signal and/or my phone timing out just as I reach the gate or TSA.
Once it's in the Waller, no signal is necessary to get it back. But timeout is definitely still an issue.

Cheers.
brp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 19, 3:01 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Programs: AS, New Sagaya
Posts: 287
I received an email back on the numbers not showing yet.

ďI talked to our developers, and since you already have the reservation on your app, we cache some of the data. Once the cache updates, your number should appear when you tap your name. You can also pull to refresh on the actual flight card to force the refresh.



Sorry for the confusion, when I add your reservations to my app, itís pulling fresh data, so I saw your TSA number right away. ď
williwaw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 19, 5:31 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: YYF/YLW
Programs: AA, DL, AS MVP, VA
Posts: 4,710
Originally Posted by brp View Post
I just noticed this as well.

Another issue I've found (and this predates the current update): WHen I save BPs to my Apple Wallet, they do not show up on the Lock Screen within 4 hours of the flight. Pretty sure that AS used to work properly on this, And both AA and BA are currently working, so pretty sue it's not my phone setup.

Are others seeing this as well

Cheers.
Yes, I am absolutely seeing (and annoyed by) this issue and have for a few years across multiple major iOS updates, I think. I know it worked properly a few years ago. More recently, Wallet boarding passes show up on the lock screen when I add them but not when itís actually close to flight time. I have complained to Alaska about this before; they very unhelpfully told me to talk to Apple. Though I *think* it actually worked yesterday (but I didnít really verify as I had a traveling companionís mobile boarding pass on the phone but had to have paper for myself thanks to SSSS).
ashill is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 19, 5:35 pm
  #12  
brp
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SJC
Programs: AA EXP, BA Silver, AS 75K Gold MVP, and some hotel stuff...
Posts: 32,406
Originally Posted by ashill View Post


Yes, I am absolutely seeing (and annoyed by) this issue and have for a few years across multiple major iOS updates, I think. I know it worked properly a few years ago. More recently, Wallet boarding passes show up on the lock screen when I add them but not when itís actually close to flight time. I have complained to Alaska about this before; they very unhelpfully told me to talk to Apple. Though I *think* it actually worked yesterday (but I didnít really verify as I had a traveling companionís mobile boarding pass on the phone but had to have paper for myself thanks to SSSS).
I know it didn't work on Sunday for either of us, each with our own BPs. As to the "talk to Apple" comment, that s clearly not relevant as it works for other airlines (BA, AA recently, WN, DL a little while back).

Cheers.
brp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 19, 5:41 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Seattle WA
Programs: AS MVP Gold, *wood LT Gold
Posts: 1,655
Is the wallet on lock screen triggered by time, or by location services detecting that you're near the geolocation of the airport...?
Tracer_SEA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 19, 5:42 pm
  #14  
brp
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SJC
Programs: AA EXP, BA Silver, AS 75K Gold MVP, and some hotel stuff...
Posts: 32,406
Originally Posted by Tracer_SEA View Post
Is the wallet on lock screen triggered by time, or by location services detecting that you're near the geolocation of the airport...?
Time. Shows up 4 hours before the scheduled departure. Does this for the other airlines, and did this for AS (when it worked).

Cheers.
brp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 19, 6:11 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: YYF/YLW
Programs: AA, DL, AS MVP, VA
Posts: 4,710
Originally Posted by williwaw View Post
I received an email back on the numbers not showing yet.

ďI talked to our developers, and since you already have the reservation on your app, we cache some of the data. Once the cache updates, your number should appear when you tap your name. You can also pull to refresh on the actual flight card to force the refresh.

Sorry for the confusion, when I add your reservations to my app, itís pulling fresh data, so I saw your TSA number right away. ď
I added my Known Traveler Number (which I had thought was already in the reservation) this morning through the iOS app. Checked back just, now, and it showed as blank both before and after a refresh. However, when I check the reservation on the web site in a desktop browser, it says "Known Traveler number has already been collected for this traveler." It also says
Secure Flight information has already been collected for this passenger.
We are unable to collect your international information online. To expedite check-in, you can call Reservations at 1-800-252-7522 (TTY/TDD: 1-800-682-2221) to add your information, or you can check in with a Customer Service Agent at the airport on the day of departure.
I think it used to be possible to edit international information once submitted, but maybe I misremember; I don't generally pay a lot of attention to these things when they work. This is for the return (to Canada) of an international trip with the outbound already flown.
ashill is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread