SEA-KOA Refueling Stop?

Old Jan 28, 19, 7:39 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Programs: 30+ years of continous AS MVP/MVPG, Hertz Gold Plus 5*, Marriott Platinum, Nexus / Global Entry
Posts: 610
SEA-KOA Refueling Stop?

Non-stop added about 4 hours with a stop in OAK to top off the tanks last week due to headwinds. Of course that is better than running out of fuel but annoying. Particularly when you spend a fair amount of time on the tarmac waiting for a gate to free up due to being so late.

i rarely check bags but brought enough carry on camera gear and work related stuff to necessitate checking a bag. The bag was late on the inbound flight so at least I got $25 for the baggage guarantee.

Zero compensation for the unscheduled stop.

Would have been nice to know it was happening in advance at the very least.

Customer Care said nope - no compensation and no text updates on the fuel stop. Not super thrilled about that. Oh well...

i searched and and didn’t see any threads regarding this topic other than one trans on thread about an A320 so forgive me if this has been discussed ad nauseum.

At least they were good about the baggage guarantee.
sea_jeff is offline  
Old Jan 28, 19, 7:46 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Programs: DL 1 million, AA 1 mil, HH lapsed Diamond, Marriott Plat
Posts: 28,174
Strong winter winds test the range of AS 738s to Hawaii each winter. The Max 9s will do better. Or, fly a Delta 757.
3Cforme is offline  
Old Jan 28, 19, 7:54 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Programs: 30+ years of continous AS MVP/MVPG, Hertz Gold Plus 5*, Marriott Platinum, Nexus / Global Entry
Posts: 610
To be honest I did consider flying another carrier since this was booked on about 3 weeks notice and zero chance of scoring an upgrade and zero chance of using a GGU. An alternative carrier would at least have been on a wide body or a longer range plane.
sea_jeff is offline  
Old Jan 28, 19, 8:20 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Programs: AS MVPG, New Sagaya
Posts: 633
Some rumors of Alaska acquiring a couple Boeing 314's for the route.
williwaw is offline  
Old Jan 28, 19, 8:26 pm
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Programs: 30+ years of continous AS MVP/MVPG, Hertz Gold Plus 5*, Marriott Platinum, Nexus / Global Entry
Posts: 610
That would be going in style albeit slowly.
wrp96, flatdawgs and williwaw like this.
sea_jeff is offline  
Old Jan 29, 19, 12:07 am
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist, Moderator, Information Desk, Ambassador, Alaska Airlines
Hilton Contributor BadgeIHG Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: ANC, MRI
Programs: AS MVP Gold75K, AS 1MM, Maika`i Card, AGR, HH Gold, Hertz PC, Marriott LTG, SPG Gold, CO, 7H, BA, 8E
Posts: 41,299
Crew was hungry and needed its INO fix.
beckoa is offline  
Old Jan 29, 19, 1:32 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Seattle, WA
Programs: AS - MVPG; DL - SM; Marriott, Hilton, SPG - Gold
Posts: 98
Originally Posted by beckoa View Post
Crew was hungry and needed its INO fix.
No joke, that's the first place I head whenever I fly into OAK!
LWkitty is offline  
Old Jan 29, 19, 6:07 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,901
Originally Posted by 3Cforme View Post
Strong winter winds test the range of AS 738s to Hawaii each winter. The Max 9s will do better. Or, fly a Delta 757.
Delta has made fuel stops too. Winds have been brutal.
fly18725 is offline  
Old Jan 29, 19, 7:37 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: EUG/PDX
Programs: AS MVP Au, UA Ag, Marriott Ti, IHG Au, HH Ag, Nexus, Pilot FlyingJ Preferred, *$ Au
Posts: 4,264
Originally Posted by williwaw View Post
Some rumors of Alaska acquiring a couple Boeing 314's for the route.
Will AS be flying from LKE or KEH?
rustykettel is offline  
Old Jan 29, 19, 9:00 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 65
I had this happen on the same route in October. Stopped @ PDX to refuel (seriously...)

Got a $75 code per person.
KnownasEric is offline  
Old Jan 29, 19, 11:42 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: SEA
Posts: 315
Originally Posted by rustykettel View Post
Will AS be flying from LKE or KEH?
It would have to be KEH; not enough distance at LKE for a 314 to make a safe turn once airborne.
quemalo is offline  
Old Jan 29, 19, 5:23 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 839
Originally Posted by quemalo View Post
It would have to be KEH; not enough distance at LKE for a 314 to make a safe turn once airborne.
So, exactly where did the flying boats land in Seattle back in the day?! Somehow that was not covered in any of the several Washington history classes I had in high school and at UDub....
AndyPatterson is offline  
Old Jan 29, 19, 5:48 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Programs: AS MVPG, New Sagaya
Posts: 633
Originally Posted by AndyPatterson View Post
So, exactly where did the flying boats land in Seattle back in the day?! Somehow that was not covered in any of the several Washington history classes I had in high school and at UDub....
(Sorry to hijack the thread with a smart aleck comment...)

The Renton facility was where Boeing tested from, there was also some naval flying boat activity from Sand Point. But not sure about commercial service. I think the Clippers worked out of San Francisco, so I assume you connected via some other route to start the travel.
williwaw is offline  
Old Jan 29, 19, 7:27 pm
  #14  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 43,252
Originally Posted by sea_jeff View Post
Non-stop added about 4 hours with a stop in OAK to top off the tanks last week due to headwinds. Of course that is better than running out of fuel but annoying. Particularly when you spend a fair amount of time on the tarmac waiting for a gate to free up due to being so late.

i rarely check bags but brought enough carry on camera gear and work related stuff to necessitate checking a bag. The bag was late on the inbound flight so at least I got $25 for the baggage guarantee.

Zero compensation for the unscheduled stop.

Would have been nice to know it was happening in advance at the very least.

Customer Care said nope - no compensation and no text updates on the fuel stop. Not super thrilled about that. Oh well...

i searched and and didn’t see any threads regarding this topic other than one trans on thread about an A320 so forgive me if this has been discussed ad nauseum.

At least they were good about the baggage guarantee.
There really are not many options and it is rarely planned significantly in advance because it is a matter of wind intensity.

Options are:
1. Crash into the Pacific (not really likely because there are likely reserves sufficient to make it).
2. Cancel flight.
3. Lease / purchase new aircraft (likely takes more than 4 hours).

You are 100% due compensation from whoever caused the headwinds. Seriously.
Often1 is offline  
Old Jan 29, 19, 7:43 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Programs: AS MVPG, New Sagaya
Posts: 633
Earlier this week a friend on a E175 from DAL to PDX had to stop in Redmond to refuel. She asked via Twitter for some consideration and received a voucher.
sea_jeff likes this.
williwaw is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread