Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Alaska Airlines | Mileage Plan
Reload this Page >

Strategy for Hawaii flight, MVP status & companion?

Old Jan 23, 19, 12:36 pm
Original Poster
2019 FlyerTalk Awards

Programs: AA 1MM GLD, Hertz #1 Gold, bunch of other programs w/no status

My wife got to MVP status last year; first time status on AS for anyone in our family, so sorry if this is a total noob question. I am trying to develop a booking strategy for a trip to Hawaii this summer. My wife and I each have companion tickets to use, so that lets us take our kids for "free". However, will her MVP status offer us anything in terms of upgrades to either Premium class or even F? It's OK only to upgrade two of us; we can leave the 2 kids in the main cabin (they are teens). I don't think MVP allows for companion upgrades, but if there is availability, say in Premium class, could she upgrade for free if I paid for the upgrade? Any advice is appreciated.
Old Jan 23, 19, 1:12 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: OneSky Alliance Elite+ with Zirconium and oak leaf cluster, Braniff Unobtainium
MVP does not offer companion upgrades for anything. Your wife won't be upgraded if anyone else is on the same PNR; you need the companion to be on the same PNR to use the companion ticket. So my advice is "don't expect an upgrade".
Old Jan 23, 19, 1:23 pm

Programs: AS 75K and Marriott Platinum
Yep; sadly, you wonít be able to get upgraded. When MVPs are traveling with someone else, they can request to split the reservation to allow for upgrades, but thatís not an option when using a companion certificate. Even with two in the reservation, she should at least have access to the elite seats, so hopefully you can at least grab exit row seating. Youíll also get the two free checked bags benefit for both her and the child on the same reservation
eponymous_coward likes this.
Old Jan 23, 19, 1:33 pm

Programs: AS, New Sagaya