Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Alaska Airlines | Mileage Plan
Reload this Page >

Best Strategy Flying to China in Business with a Stop in HK (and Earn AS EQM)

Old Dec 5, 18, 10:41 pm
Original Poster

Programs: Alaska Airlines MVPG, Hilton Diamond

Hello,

Newbie here. I'm planning a trip to mainland China around April 2019. Planning on flying business and wanted to make a stop in Hong Kong on my way back. The two transpacific legs will be something like:
  1. Somewhere in North America -> (Stop in Japan/Korea/HK ->) somewhere in mainland China
  2. Hong Kong -> (Stop in Japan/Korea ->) Somewhere in North America
(I'm SEA based, but willing to buy separate domestic tickets to make up the whole itinerary if there's a good deal that doesn't start from or end at SEA.)
For AS EQM purposes, I'm only looking at AA, HU, CX, JL and KE. Is there any route that is more likely to offer business class at a lower rate that I should be looking at? Or is it still too early to start planning? Any direction is appreciated!

Thanks!
Old Dec 6, 18, 12:09 am

Programs: CO - Onepass Gold Elite--> UA - MileagePlus Gold Premier--> Silver --> AS - MileagePlan MVPGOLD!
Frankly, if it were me, and since you're Seattle based, I'd take advantage of that new SEA nonstop on Cathay.
Business classes J, C, D, and I earn 225% RDM, and that's if you're not an elite with AS.
Premium economy classes W, E, and R earn 110% RDM.

Either that, or the JAL route through Narita, which (if you're unfamiliar) is a FANTASTICALLY EASY airport to make international connections through. In my opinion, the easiest in the world.

Is it to early to buy? Who knows. Maybe. Maybe not. But it's certainly not to early to PLAN!
Old Dec 6, 18, 12:25 am

Deleted (missed the part about wanting to make the stops)

Last edited by VegasGambler; Dec 6, 18 at 12:33 am
Old Dec 6, 18, 2:22 am
Original Poster

Originally Posted by Legend717 View Post