Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Oversold First Class?!

Search this Thread

Old Sep 28, 2018, 1:49 pm
Original Poster

Oversold First Class?!

Greetings ... I've been a fan of this forum for many years and rarely post, but AS has recently done something that makes ZERO sense to me.

I'm a travel agent and confirmed First Class (paid FULL First Class FASR fare) for AS16, SEA-MCO 10/15 and received the following message from AS:
AS FLT16 15OCT SEAMCO OVRBKD IN FC/LOOKING
FOR VOL WLNG TO CHNG FLT OR DWNGRD IN EXCH
FOR COMP/PLS CTC PAX TO ADVISE AND CTC
ALASKAAIR IF WILLING TO CHNG OR WITH
QUESTIONS/THANK YOU

I called Alaska Concierge Desk and they too were shocked by what is going on. After some investigation, it appears AS oversold First Class and if they do NOT get volunteers to switch, Alaska will bump the last ticketed passenger into Economy Class!!!! Is AS now overselling First Class? How often does this happen? HOW DOES THIS HAPPEN? (I was assured my clients were not the last booked into First Class, but still am cautious). Thank you in advance.
Old Sep 28, 2018, 2:04 pm

Programs: ʙᴏɴᴠo̱ʏ Au, IHG Au, HH Dia, Nexus, Pilot FlyingJ Preferred
738 F cabin only had 12 seats (and Airbii only have 8 currently). If it's swapped from a 16 F seat 739, instant oversale. Unless you mean they are selling more than those without a swap?
Old Sep 28, 2018, 3:47 pm

Programs: Alaska Tanzanite 100K
I'm flying MCO/SEA on Monday and both planes are -900s.

Odd that Alaska would downgrade to an -800, its been a while since I've been on one to MCO.
Old Sep 28, 2018, 4:05 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AS 75K
And people say AS doesn't sell F seats. Most flights that week look to be full or close to full in F. At least they are reaching out in advance. Other carriers you may not know F is oversold until the gate
Old Sep 28, 2018, 4:12 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: DL 1 million, AA 1 mil, HH lapsed Diamond, Marriott Plat
Originally Posted by CDKing