Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Alaska Airlines | Mileage Plan
Reload this Page >

2 flights in a row without Precheck, despite Global Entry # in profile

2 flights in a row without Precheck, despite Global Entry # in profile

Old Apr 25, 18, 1:51 pm
  #1  
Moderator Hilton Honors, Travel News, West, The Suggestion Box, Smoking Lounge & DiningBuzz
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Programs: AS MVP Gold, Honors Diamond, Hertz Presidents Circle, National Exec Elite
Posts: 34,480
2 flights in a row without Precheck, despite Global Entry # in profile

This is annoying and weird

I chalked up Saturday's flight w/o PreCheck to randomness.

But I just checked in for tomorrow's flight and once again no PreCheck despite my Trusted Traveler/Global Entry # being in my profile.

I do note that on the my profile page on Alaska's website that the TT # no longer shows the whole thing (which it always used to) but simply shows **31

Help! Any ideas?

ETA: I just talked to a Phoenix-based Alaska CSR who told me that they had been told that there is currently some glitch in the system and that if one doesn't get PreCheck despite having a TT #, you will have to call and it will have to "manually" be added to that particular itinerary, but it won't necessarily carry over to any following ones. After she took my number out and put it into the PNR, I re-checked and indeed now have PreCheck

Last edited by cblaisd; Apr 25, 18 at 2:09 pm
cblaisd is offline  
Old Apr 25, 18, 2:09 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: EUG
Programs: BonVoy Pt, IHG Au, HH Dia, Nexus, Pilot FlyingJ Preferred, *$ Au
Posts: 5,136
Originally Posted by cblaisd View Post
This is annoying and weird

I chalked up Saturday's flight w/o PreCheck to randomness.

But I just checked in for tomorrow's flight and once again no PreCheck despite my Trusted Traveler/Global Entry # being in my profile.

I do note that on the my profile page on Alaska's website that the TT # no longer shows the whole thing (which it always used to) but simply shows **31

Help! Any ideas?
Try sending a DM to TSA on Twitter (@askTSA)

https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/show...&postcount=201
rustykettel is offline  
Old Apr 25, 18, 2:10 pm
  #3  
Moderator Hilton Honors, Travel News, West, The Suggestion Box, Smoking Lounge & DiningBuzz
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Programs: AS MVP Gold, Honors Diamond, Hertz Presidents Circle, National Exec Elite
Posts: 34,480
Originally Posted by rustykettel View Post


Try sending a DM to TSA on Twitter (@askTSA)

https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/show...&postcount=201
Good to know. I've never personally had much look with TSA via Twitter; mostly get unhelpful boilerplate answers. Maybe they've gotten better.

See my "ETA" in my post which I was writing at the same time you were.
rustykettel likes this.
cblaisd is offline  
Old Apr 25, 18, 3:12 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: SEA/BET
Programs: Alaska MVPG
Posts: 899
Also, know that just because your KTN is in your profile, it doesn't mean it is saved to your reservation.

If you book a flight through a third party and don't add it, it will NOT be associated with your reservation.
lalala likes this.
sturges is offline  
Old Apr 25, 18, 3:39 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Seattle WA, USA
Programs: Hilton Diamond, Marriott Plat, AS MVPG&AL, others no status
Posts: 3,440
Originally Posted by cblaisd View Post
...ETA: I just talked to a Phoenix-based Alaska CSR who told me that they had been told that there is currently some glitch in the system and that if one doesn't get PreCheck despite having a TT #, you will have to call and it will have to "manually" be added to that particular itinerary, but it won't necessarily carry over to any following ones. After she took my number out and put it into the PNR, I re-checked and indeed now have PreCheck
Thanks for the heads up. Just to clarify, are you saying she removed the TT# that was already in the PNR and then entered the one you gave her? I want to make sure I can clearly explain what I need to a CSR if this happens to me. PreCheck is an important part of allowing me to maintain my sunny disposition while traveling.

BTW: I'm old school so ETA has always meant Estimated Time of Arrival to me. I actually had to do a search to discover that it also means Edited To Add nowadays. Live and learn.
Westcoaster is offline  
Old Apr 25, 18, 4:50 pm
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: BOS/ORH
Programs: AS MVPG
Posts: 18,094
Originally Posted by Westcoaster View Post
BTW: I'm old school so ETA has always meant Estimated Time of Arrival to me. I actually had to do a search to discover that it also means Edited To Add nowadays. Live and learn.
OT, I know i'm getting old because I text in complete sentences. I still just type out *edit* on FT
Baze likes this.
CDKing is offline  
Old Apr 25, 18, 5:16 pm
  #7  
Moderator Hilton Honors, Travel News, West, The Suggestion Box, Smoking Lounge & DiningBuzz
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Programs: AS MVP Gold, Honors Diamond, Hertz Presidents Circle, National Exec Elite
Posts: 34,480
Originally Posted by Westcoaster View Post
Thanks for the heads up. Just to clarify, are you saying she removed the TT# that was already in the PNR and then entered the one you gave her? I want to make sure I can clearly explain what I need to a CSR if this happens to me.
Yes. Even though the two numbers were exactly the same.
cblaisd is offline  
Old Apr 25, 18, 6:05 pm
  #8  
Moderator, Alaska Airlines
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: British Columbia
Programs: AS MVPG75K, UA PP, DL Platinum, Marriott Bonvoy Titanium, Hilton Gold
Posts: 5,193
Originally Posted by Westcoaster View Post

BTW: I'm old school so ETA has always meant Estimated Time of Arrival to me. I actually had to do a search to discover that it also means Edited To Add nowadays. Live and learn.
Appropriately ETA is also used to mean an Electronic Travel Authority. 😁

I am currently on AS611 LAS-SEA. My KTN didn't make it to the reservation as well. It could be that it was a name change for one party on the return portion of a companion certificate itinerary. None the less, I just waited untiI I checked my baggage in at LAS and had the Agent update the reservation and print boarding passes. Both parties on the reservation received TSA Pre.

Calling in for me has also worked, but not everytime especially if it an international itinerary. As a last resort an agent at the airport works too.

James

Last edited by Flying for Fun; Apr 25, 18 at 7:44 pm
Flying for Fun is offline  
Old Apr 25, 18, 8:10 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Seattle WA, USA
Programs: Hilton Diamond, Marriott Plat, AS MVPG&AL, others no status
Posts: 3,440
Originally Posted by Flying for Fun View Post
Appropriately ETA is also used to mean an Electronic Travel Authority. 😁...
Great. Back to Google I go to find out what that is...

Thanks for letting us know it worked at check-in for you. In the old days I thought the TSA had to says thumbs up or down some period of time in advance. Nice to know check-in can be soon enough.
Westcoaster is offline  
Old Apr 25, 18, 10:08 pm
  #10  
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Snohomish, WA
Programs: AS MVP Gold, HHonors Diamond
Posts: 2,657
Originally Posted by Westcoaster View Post
Great. Back to Google I go to find out what that is...

Thanks for letting us know it worked at check-in for you. In the old days I thought the TSA had to says thumbs up or down some period of time in advance. Nice to know check-in can be soon enough.
I've added my KTN to a reservation after check-in by re-checking in on the mobile app while I'm standing right at the TSA PreCheck line at SeaTac. The boarding card comes back immediately with PreCheck on it.

I do believe that early in the program it was some sort of advance time required, but these days it's instant.
missamo80 is offline  
Old Apr 26, 18, 12:52 am
  #11  
Moderator, Alaska Airlines
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: British Columbia
Programs: AS MVPG75K, UA PP, DL Platinum, Marriott Bonvoy Titanium, Hilton Gold
Posts: 5,193
Originally Posted by missamo80 View Post
I've added my KTN to a reservation after check-in by re-checking in on the mobile app while I'm standing right at the TSA PreCheck line at SeaTac. The boarding card comes back immediately with PreCheck on it.

I do believe that early in the program it was some sort of advance time required, but these days it's instant.
Indeed that usually works too as well as if the reservation is updated by an agent via a phone call. I have done that too when my KTN from my online account didn't populate to the reservation. In my particular instance today it did not update in the app when checking in again and requested I see an agent, most likely because one party in the reservation required wheelchair assistance to the aircraft.

James
Flying for Fun is offline  
Old Apr 26, 18, 9:01 am
  #12  
Used to be 'rockferd'
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SEA
Programs: AS MVP 75K, UA Gold, HH: Gold, Marriott: Platinum Premier
Posts: 225
Make sure your KTN is in your profile/on your reservation. If that doesn't work consider a reddress number
DoubleWidesFly is offline  
Old Oct 5, 18, 7:16 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: SEA
Programs: AS MVP Gold
Posts: 1,443
Warning- TSA Pre Status No Showing

This morning I showed up at the airport and was about to enter the Pre line when I noticed my online boarding pass did not show my Pre status. It has always shown 100% of the time in the past. Talked to a counter agent and she said that unless I knew the number there was nothing she could do, despite it being in my AS profile. Luckily I am always early “just in case” but others should be aware and double check your boarding pass.
jsguyrus is offline  
Old Oct 5, 18, 7:33 am
  #14  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 50,270
This has nothing to do with AS and should be moved to the approrpriate forum. Hopefully a Mod will do so.

While an air carrier's printer may physically print (or app display) the Pre-Check logo, the process by which a TTP participant is included or excluded on a particular segment is a Homeland (TSA) process. This could have been DL or BA.
JacksonFlyer likes this.
Often1 is offline  
Old Oct 5, 18, 7:40 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: LAS
Programs: UA 1K (2MM), BA Gold, MH Enrich Platinum
Posts: 1,693
I find my Pre-check is 99.5% on UA and 75% or less on AS. I fly less on DL but that is closer to 90%.

Although TSA (or TSA computer) decides whether we get the access I believe my track record shows something with AS.
zebranz is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: