Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Alaska Airlines | Mileage Plan
Reload this Page >

alaskaair.com seems a wee bit melted down Today (6/14/2017)

alaskaair.com seems a wee bit melted down Today (6/14/2017)

Old Jun 14, 17, 3:12 pm
  #1  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SEA, but up and down the coast a lot
Programs: OneSky Alliance Elite+ with Zirconium and oak leaf cluster, Braniff Unobtainium
Posts: 18,654
alaskaair.com seems a wee bit melted down Today (6/14/2017)

The header at the top of the page isn't there, and the purchase logic for tickets is totally busted (I had to log in using the 404 page, trying to buy doesn't recognize that I am logged in and eventually i get some naked text about my K fare). Picture attached. Checked two browsers. Busted on both.

I'd just buy my ticket in the app, except the ONE THING I need to do, you can't do in the app (buy a K fare and upgrade to F with a GGU).

Paging missydarlin... cleanup on Aisle 4...
Attached Images  
eponymous_coward is offline  
Old Jun 14, 17, 3:35 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SEA, but up and down the coast a lot
Programs: OneSky Alliance Elite+ with Zirconium and oak leaf cluster, Braniff Unobtainium
Posts: 18,654
Well, the front page is fixed... just not the purchase pages.
Attached Images  
eponymous_coward is offline  
Old Jun 14, 17, 4:11 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: EUG
Programs: BonVoy Pt, IHG Au, HH Dia, Nexus, Pilot FlyingJ Preferred, *$ Au
Posts: 5,136
Cue almost completely baseless left field FT speculation..3..2...1...


I had the banner disappear a few days ago and reappear a couple of minutes later. I can't remember what I was trying to do but it was a pain in the rear to try navigating without that banner.
rustykettel is online now  
Old Jun 14, 17, 4:47 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SEA
Programs: AS MVPG, NEXUS
Posts: 165
Interesting though, an hour ago I tried to look at flights through our corporate travel provider Egencia and it told me that the airline I selected didn't have any flights for the times I requested (I know they do).
brownnet is offline  
Old Jun 14, 17, 5:21 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SEA
Posts: 119
Good to know I wasn't the only one having issues... I had the same experience on my desktop but was able to make a booking via the browser on my phone.
AgentCooper is offline  
Old Jun 14, 17, 5:48 pm
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SEA, but up and down the coast a lot
Programs: OneSky Alliance Elite+ with Zirconium and oak leaf cluster, Braniff Unobtainium
Posts: 18,654
Originally Posted by rustykettel View Post
Cue almost completely baseless left field FT speculation..3..2...1...
I make no speculation, I just calls 'em as I sees 'em. With screenshots.

Originally Posted by AgentCooper View Post
Good to know I wasn't the only one having issues... I had the same experience on my desktop but was able to make a booking via the browser on my phone.
Good call on that, this seems to work (whew).
eponymous_coward is offline  
Old Jun 14, 17, 6:02 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Treasure Coast, FL
Programs: DL Diamond, Marriott LT Plat, HH Diamond, Avis Preferred Plus, National Executive
Posts: 4,552
Had the same thing happen yesterday. All seems to be normal just now when I checked.
apodo77 is offline  
Old Jun 14, 17, 6:14 pm
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SEA, but up and down the coast a lot
Programs: OneSky Alliance Elite+ with Zirconium and oak leaf cluster, Braniff Unobtainium
Posts: 18,654
Yeah, the rep I have on the line says it's an ongoing intermittent issue for folks.
eponymous_coward is offline  
Old Jun 14, 17, 7:08 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Anchorage, AK
Programs: Lifetime AS 1MM & MVPG, AS MVPG75K, AA, DL, HH-G
Posts: 7,679
Originally Posted by rustykettel View Post
Cue almost completely baseless left field FT speculation..3..2...1...
Delta hackers?

Baseless enough for you?
BOB W is offline  
Old Jun 15, 17, 2:35 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: SEA/BET
Programs: Alaska MVPG
Posts: 899
This happened to me last week when purchasing a ticket. It seemed to be linked to my session cookie because it worked fine when I loaded the page in a private window.

One interesting bug was that it acted like it would allow me to book my flight without payment - just showing a button "add passenger" and "book flight" without any payment section.

I cleared cookies for Alaskaair.com and the problem went away.
sturges is online now  
Old Jun 15, 17, 8:27 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: SEA
Programs: AS MVPG 75K, Marriott Titanium, UA Silver
Posts: 1,333
I've had several (~5 flights) disappear from my Purchased flights on AS.com.

The confirmation codes are still good, but the reservations are not showing up.
MonThruThurs is offline  
Old Jun 15, 17, 12:08 pm
  #12  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SGF
Programs: AS, AA, UA, AGR (ex-75K, GLD, 1K, and S+), Choice Diamond, HZ PC, Costco Exec, NPS Passport
Posts: 22,933
Originally Posted by rustykettel View Post
Cue almost completely baseless left field FT speculation..3..2...1...


I had the banner disappear a few days ago and reappear a couple of minutes later. I can't remember what I was trying to do but it was a pain in the rear to try navigating without that banner.
I had the same thing happen at about the same timeframe as you mentioned. (I think it was on Sunday IIRC?)

Somehow I then managed to get to the My Trips page, but then when I tried to pull up any reservations, I got a text-only screen listing the confirmation number and travelers and miles paid but nothing else. Odd. It resolved itself a short while later.
jackal is offline  
Old Jun 15, 17, 7:43 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Programs: Alaska G75k, SPG Platinum, United Silver.
Posts: 11
Still happening to me on Chrome. Tried Safari and no issue. Tried again to clear my cache on Chrome and still no top navigation bar.

Also, I get an error when I pull up any reservation under My Trips.
michaelstant is offline  
Old Jun 15, 17, 8:54 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Programs: Marriott Titanium, AS MVP Gold, UA Silver, National Executive Elite
Posts: 243
Originally Posted by michaelstant View Post
Still happening to me on Chrome. Tried Safari and no issue. Tried again to clear my cache on Chrome and still no top navigation bar.
Mine fixed when I cleared Chrome's cache/cookies for the website.
mroseman13 is offline  
Old Jun 16, 17, 10:48 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: ANC
Programs: AS MVP Gold; Hyatt; Hilton; SPG
Posts: 1,716
Originally Posted by mroseman13 View Post
Originally Posted by michaelstant View Post
Still happening to me on Chrome. Tried Safari and no issue. Tried again to clear my cache on Chrome and still no top navigation bar. Also, I get an error when I pull up any reservation under My Trips.
Mine fixed when I cleared Chrome's cache/cookies for the website.
For what it's worth, I've experienced no recent problems with the site when using Firefox.
AKCuisine is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: