Using/Adding VX on International Award

Old May 14, 17, 10:54 pm
Original Poster

Using/Adding VX on International Award

Since Virgin America has merged, am I able to use international award on Cathay Pacific with the additional stop over with Virgin America as opposed to only Alaska Airlines?

Eg- First class redemption from JNB to HKG to LAX on July 15th then LAX to OGG on Virgin America?

PS should be adding a stop over for one way award ticket for title
Old May 14, 17, 10:56 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: Flying whoever is most convenient
Nope, for the moment VX is still treated as a partner and you can't mix two partners on one ticket.
Old May 15, 17, 8:30 am
Original Poster

PV Premier- Thank for the answer
Old May 24, 17, 11:37 pm

Using VX to domestically on international award

Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to Alaska Mileage Plan and I'm planning my first trip. As far as I understand, you can use 1 partner + Alaska on an international award. My question is: can I fly virgin america instead of Alaska? Or would that break the itinerary? I just called Alaska and the agent said yes, but I don't think he understood my question. Has anyone have experience in this?

Lastly, just want to quickly run my plan by the experts on this forum I want to fly NRT-BOS (stop over)-LAX. Is this allowed? Nothing I found online said I can't backtrack, but I just want to make sure.

Thanks!
Old May 25, 17, 12:11 am

Programs: DL FO, Hilton/Marriott Gold, Accor Silver
The agent was wrong; combining VX with another partner probably won't be allowed until they're on AS's operating certificate. That's hopefully going to happen before the end of the year, so if you're booking 330 days out you might have a chance of adding VX segments before you depart.