Overbooked first class, need advice

Old May 4, 17, 11:15 pm
Original Poster

Overbooked first class, need advice

Hi everyone,

I wanted to solicit advice regarding an overbooked first class situation for a flight taking place in about 2 weeks. As a side note, I generally maintain Star Alliance Gold with ANA since I usually fly to Japan or Germany for business. This is my first time flying Alaska.

So, I purchased two first class (F) tickets at full price for my wife and I, with in-lap baby (yes, I know.. but the extra room really helps ) for a quick anniversary trip SMF-OGG. We purchased a bit late because my work schedule was a bit uncertain but secured assigned first class seats which were confirmed by email. Everything was fine up until a few days ago when I received a voicemail from Alaska stating that for my OGG-SMF return trip, "first class is overbooked due to our operational needs". Alaska stated my wife and I were the last to purchase they would have to move us if they can't find volunteers.

I called back and asked a few questions along the lines of the following:
Me: When will you know if you have to move us?
Alaska: we will ask for volunteers until 5th May.

Me: Where would you put us if you move us?
Alaska: There are no seats together in Premium but seats available in coach.

Me: Would an entire row in coach be an option? (because baby)
Alaska: We can give you aisle and window but no guarantee on the middle. (only 1 empty row remaining in coach).

Me: Any other flights?
Alaska: There is only 1 flight per day to SMF but we can route you through SEA. It's a red-eye.

Me: I'll wait until Friday but what happens if you move us?
Alaska: We refund the difference in fare.
Was a bit disappointed they were rather apathetic about whole the ordeal, especially because no apology was given, but I didn't pursue further and decided I would wait.