Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Alaska Airlines | Mileage Plan
Reload this Page >

How Much Time is needed connecting Internationally in Seattle

How Much Time is needed connecting Internationally in Seattle

Old May 27, 14, 4:34 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,054
How Much Time is needed connecting Internationally in Seattle

YYJ →SEA → MCI

My Wife and I both have Global Entry if that Helps.

If we arrive at 8:39 can we make a 10:00AM fight? Trying to avoid having to take the 6:00am Flight from YYJ → SEA.

Thanks!
jr1202sr is offline  
Old May 27, 14, 5:45 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: LKE
Programs: LH SEN, SPG
Posts: 388
Customs is not usually busy in the early morning. So, you should be able to make this connection. Keep in mind that if you have checked baggage you'll need to retrieve and recheck it. With checked baggage, it will be closer.

Will AS sell a 81 minute I->D connection in SEA on one ticket?
andymell is offline  
Old May 27, 14, 5:52 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: SEA
Programs: AS MVPG 75K, Marriott Titanium
Posts: 1,313
Is there Preclearance in YYJ. A quick search seems to think there is, but I've never actually been there before.
MonThruThurs is offline  
Old May 27, 14, 6:10 pm
  #4  
ANC
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Programs: AS MVPG, CO, NW(now DL), Flying Blue
Posts: 6,544
Originally Posted by andymell View Post
Customs is not usually busy in the early morning. So, you should be able to make this connection. Keep in mind that if you have checked baggage you'll need to retrieve and recheck it. With checked baggage, it will be closer.

Will AS sell a 81 minute I->D connection in SEA on one ticket?
I think its 90 but may depend who the other carrier is? If its AS I think its 70 minutes
ANC is offline  
Old May 27, 14, 6:13 pm
  #5  
ANC
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Programs: AS MVPG, CO, NW(now DL), Flying Blue
Posts: 6,544
Originally Posted by MonThruThurs View Post
Is there Preclearance in YYJ. A quick search seems to think there is, but I've never actually been there before.
Dont all AS Canada destinations have it?
ANC is offline  
Old May 27, 14, 6:50 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SEA, BHM
Programs: AS MVP, DL Kryptonium Medallion, UA, Starbucks Gold
Posts: 1,449
Originally Posted by ANC View Post
Dont all AS Canada destinations have it?
IIRC, YYJ didn't used to have preclearance, but does now.
Tide_from_PAE is offline  
Old May 27, 14, 8:31 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: CAV8 or YYJ
Posts: 234
Originally Posted by Tide_from_PAE View Post
IIRC, YYJ didn't used to have preclearance, but does now.
Really?! Hot dog!!

We are on that glorious 6am yyj-sea flight tomorrow so I'll check it out.

For what it's worth I'm pretty sure you can make the connection described in 81 minutes. Unless you get stuck behind several in-coming 747s the crowd on the yyj-sea flight usually clears customs pretty quick. We've certainly had inbound connections through SEA that were much less than 81 minutes to make the sea-yyj flight.
zoyabean is offline  
Old May 27, 14, 9:15 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: LKE
Programs: LH SEN, SPG
Posts: 388
How Much Time is needed connecting Internationally in Seattle

If there is preclearence in YYJ, then this is an easy connection. There wasn't the only time I flew out of there, but you could certainly imagine that changing. (There are already preclearence facilities in Victoria for the us-bound ferries, so they have the personnel up there for it.)
andymell is offline  
Old May 27, 14, 11:07 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SEA
Programs: AS MVP Gold, UA MP, National EE, Marriott Gold, Avis First, WS Rewards
Posts: 229
According to CBP, the only pre clearance in Victoria is somehow in Port Angeles. If there isn't one at the airport, keep in mind that during that time frame, DL from PVG and NRT arrive between 8:30-9 if they're not early. Both are A330's for right now with NRT being upgraded to a 777 for the summer.
Alaska737890 is offline  
Old May 28, 14, 7:54 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: CAV8 or YYJ
Posts: 234
Nope, no preclearance at YYJ although the improved security means no more manual bag checks at the gate.
zoyabean is offline  
Old May 28, 14, 8:25 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: SEA
Programs: AS MVPG 75K, Marriott Titanium
Posts: 1,313
Originally Posted by Alaska737890 View Post
According to CBP, the only pre clearance in Victoria is somehow in Port Angeles. If there isn't one at the airport, keep in mind that during that time frame, DL from PVG and NRT arrive between 8:30-9 if they're not early. Both are A330's for right now with NRT being upgraded to a 777 for the summer.
True - the Asia flights do pose a problem. But with GE, shouldn't be a problem. I've never had to wait long for a station.
MonThruThurs is offline  
Old May 28, 14, 9:05 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,334
Will AS sell you a ticket with the shorter connection? If not, you're at their mercy if you miss your connection and you'll likely have to cool your heels for 24 hours until the flight the next day - if there's room.
flytoeat is offline  
Old May 28, 14, 9:51 am
  #13  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,054
No they wouldn't allow me to book it online. I was going to call and see what they were going to say and then possibly book two one ways myself since I have to re-checkin already.

I am thinking I might just book the Southwest to MCI that leaves at Noon to be safe. Price is same. Have to recheckin anyways. I don't like Southwest though.

I was told no precheckin in Victoria.
jr1202sr is offline  
Old May 28, 14, 11:55 am
  #14  
FlyerTalk Evangelist, Moderator, Information Desk, Ambassador, Alaska Airlines
Hilton Contributor BadgeIHG Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: ANC, MRI
Programs: AS MVP Gold75K, AS 1MM, Maika`i Card, AGR, HH Gold, Hertz PC, Marriott LTG, SPG Gold, CO, 7H, BA, 8E
Posts: 41,323
Wirelessly posted (beckoa's BB: Mozilla/5.0 (BlackBerry; U; BlackBerry 9810; en-US) AppleWebKit/534.11+ (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/7.1.0.694 Mobile Safari/534.11+)

I'd take the 6 AM over connecting to WN myself.
beckoa is offline  
Old May 28, 14, 2:41 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Canada
Programs: AS, DL, UA, Hyatt, SPG
Posts: 2,510
Originally Posted by flytoeat View Post
Will AS sell you a ticket with the shorter connection? If not, you're at their mercy if you miss your connection and you'll likely have to cool your heels for 24 hours until the flight the next day - if there's room.
AS rejigged a lot of the flight schedules out of YEG, YYC and other Canadian cities and this has caused big problems with some of the connecting banks.

Pre-clearance (YVR, YYC) are 60 minutes FROM Canada TO Domestic. Apparently, in the last week, YEG just got changed to 40 minutes. Why YEG is ok for 40 minutes and YVR and YYC aren't are beyond me - it makes no sense. No, AS won't sell you the short connection even if it's off by just 3 or 4 minutes (trust me, I have tried exhaustively!).

YYJ seems to show as 1hr20 minutes connect time if AS-AS. This would indicate your 08:39 to 10:00 would be fine.

AS-AS I-D .40 YEG - ALL
AS-AS I-D 1.20 YLW - ALL
AS-AS I-D 1.00 YVR - ALL
AS-AS I-D 1.00 YYC - ALL
AS-AS I-D 1.20 YYJ - ALL

The other direction going TO Canada it's usually 40 minutes.
SamuelS is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread