Same Day Confirmed Change (SDC)

Old Apr 25, 16, 8:09 am
  #76  
21A
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,300
Originally Posted by 21A View Post
Any experiences with SDC on only the first leg of two (thus lengthening the connection)? I don't see anything preventing this.
Just to update a little on what I learned here... It was originally a three-segment itinerary (double connection).
- in its original state no alternate flights at all were offered by web/app
- called and was able to move up the first leg by several hours, thus creating a stopover of ~12 hours in connecting city 1
Now the two parts of the trip seem to have separated for check-in purposes (checking in the first leg doesn't give boarding passes for the downward ones). In check-in for leg two, I get:
- options connecting to an earlier CCC-DDD (including more than one BBB-CCC for each)
- earlier BBB-CCC options connecting to the same CCC-DDD that's booked, up to a maximum connection of four hours.

To summarize,
- changing an earlier flight is no problem even if the second flight doesn't change,
- three-leg itineraries are too complex to do anything with without calling,
- the check-in automation appears to go by the 4 hour connection rule, and phone agents appear to have more latitude.

I should note also that none of the flights have been taken yet. I would imagine certain types of changes would only work after flying the first leg (e.g. move only the second leg later).
21A is offline  
Old Apr 25, 16, 8:05 pm
  #77  
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Programs: AS MVPG
Posts: 2,094
Not sure if this deserves it's own thread. If you are booked into first, specifically an first class saver award in my case, will you be able to SDC directly into F if there are any seats for sale?
alphaeagle is offline  
Old Apr 25, 16, 8:12 pm
  #78  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: SMF, IDA
Programs: Flying whoever is most convenient
Posts: 16,114
Originally Posted by 21A View Post
Just to update a little on what I learned here... It was originally a three-segment itinerary (double connection).
- in its original state no alternate flights at all were offered by web/app
- called and was able to move up the first leg by several hours, thus creating a stopover of ~12 hours in connecting city 1
Now the two parts of the trip seem to have separated for check-in purposes (checking in the first leg doesn't give boarding passes for the downward ones). In check-in for leg two, I get:
- options connecting to an earlier CCC-DDD (including more than one BBB-CCC for each)
- earlier BBB-CCC options connecting to the same CCC-DDD that's booked, up to a maximum connection of four hours.

To summarize,
- changing an earlier flight is no problem even if the second flight doesn't change,
- three-leg itineraries are too complex to do anything with without calling,
- the check-in automation appears to go by the 4 hour connection rule, and phone agents appear to have more latitude.

I should note also that none of the flights have been taken yet. I would imagine certain types of changes would only work after flying the first leg (e.g. move only the second leg later).
Thanks I booked a ticket for later this year when I want to shorten a connection so this is good info. I might also try to use it to lengthen a connection this weekend.
PV_Premier is offline  
Old Apr 27, 16, 11:20 am
  #79  
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Canada
Programs: AS, DL, UA, Hyatt, SPG
Posts: 2,518
Has anyone ever SDC'd from an all-AS itinerary to an AS with AS codeshare itinerary (specifically, AS from SEA-LAX, then AS codeshare operated by AA onwards for the short hop from LAX).

I'm guessing this is a "no" even though it's a codeshare. AS has only one daily flight so all the later connections I'd prefer would be AS connecting to AS codeshare operated by AA.
SamuelS is offline  
Old Apr 27, 16, 12:29 pm
  #80  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: SMF, IDA
Programs: Flying whoever is most convenient
Posts: 16,114
Originally Posted by SamuelS View Post
Has anyone ever SDC'd from an all-AS itinerary to an AS with AS codeshare itinerary (specifically, AS from SEA-LAX, then AS codeshare operated by AA onwards for the short hop from LAX).

I'm guessing this is a "no" even though it's a codeshare. AS has only one daily flight so all the later connections I'd prefer would be AS connecting to AS codeshare operated by AA.
I highly doubt this will be allowed. Also, technically you are not allowed to change your routing, sounds like you are looking to go from a nonstop on AS to a connection. Some agents will allow this but it is technically outside the scope of SDC rules.
PV_Premier is offline  
Old Apr 27, 16, 2:12 pm
  #81  
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Canada
Programs: AS, DL, UA, Hyatt, SPG
Posts: 2,518
Originally Posted by PV_Premier View Post
I highly doubt this will be allowed. Also, technically you are not allowed to change your routing, sounds like you are looking to go from a nonstop on AS to a connection. Some agents will allow this but it is technically outside the scope of SDC rules.
It would be from a single connection to a double connection so it would be a routing change in that regard, so I am guessing you are correct. I will report back though! AS only has one flight a day into this station (super early!) so it's a bit of a PITA but I will just have to suck it up and be an early riser and get up at 3am
SamuelS is offline  
Old Apr 27, 16, 2:18 pm
  #82  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: SMF, IDA
Programs: Flying whoever is most convenient
Posts: 16,114
Originally Posted by SamuelS View Post
...will just have to suck it up and be an early riser and get up at 3am
welcome to my almost every trip...
PV_Premier is offline  
Old May 1, 16, 8:43 am
  #83  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brisbane AU
Programs: AA EXP/2MM - DL PM - OZ Diamond - Bonvoy LTT - Hyatt Glob - IHG Plat - National EE - Sixt Platinum
Posts: 1,306
Are AS flights booked through AA (i.e. on AA ticket stock) still eligible for SDC as well?

And if so, can I request through the app?

Thanks!
SpeedRicer is offline  
Old May 1, 16, 5:26 pm
  #84  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: SMF, IDA
Programs: Flying whoever is most convenient
Posts: 16,114
Originally Posted by 21A View Post
Just to update a little on what I learned here... It was originally a three-segment itinerary (double connection).
- in its original state no alternate flights at all were offered by web/app
- called and was able to move up the first leg by several hours, thus creating a stopover of ~12 hours in connecting city 1
Now the two parts of the trip seem to have separated for check-in purposes (checking in the first leg doesn't give boarding passes for the downward ones). In check-in for leg two, I get:
- options connecting to an earlier CCC-DDD (including more than one BBB-CCC for each)
- earlier BBB-CCC options connecting to the same CCC-DDD that's booked, up to a maximum connection of four hours.

To summarize,
- changing an earlier flight is no problem even if the second flight doesn't change,
- three-leg itineraries are too complex to do anything with without calling,
- the check-in automation appears to go by the 4 hour connection rule, and phone agents appear to have more latitude.

I should note also that none of the flights have been taken yet. I would imagine certain types of changes would only work after flying the first leg (e.g. move only the second leg later).
To add to this today I SDC a trip on the app with 2 segments to create a 10 hour SEA stopover. I did this by checking in separately for my 2nd segment on the app and all available SDC options were offered. I might have to SDC again as I'm bordering on missing my 7:30pm flight at this rate.
PV_Premier is offline  
Old May 2, 16, 1:59 am
  #85  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brisbane AU
Programs: AA EXP/2MM - DL PM - OZ Diamond - Bonvoy LTT - Hyatt Glob - IHG Plat - National EE - Sixt Platinum
Posts: 1,306
Originally Posted by SpeedRicer View Post
Are AS flights booked through AA (i.e. on AA ticket stock) still eligible for SDC as well?

And if so, can I request through the app?

Thanks!
Was able to confirm that AA-issued tickets are good for SDC. Just checked-in on the app at 10 PM the night before and was able to SDC to a later flight for tomorrow... ^
SpeedRicer is offline  
Old May 2, 16, 6:16 am
  #86  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Back home in the REAL Washington (SEA); still teleworking with the other Washington (DCA area)
Programs: DL PM 1.3MM; AS MVPG 75K
Posts: 14,989
I have an AA flight booked with AS miles ... presumably I'm under AA's rules if I want to try SDC/SDS, since they're the operating carrier
jrl767 is offline  
Old May 12, 16, 12:37 pm
  #87  
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: EWR PHL JFK
Programs: AA PLT, HH Gold, Marriott Gold
Posts: 197
can we use credit certificates to pay for the SDC fee?
ulzimates is offline  
Old May 12, 16, 4:56 pm
  #88  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: EUG
Programs: BonVoy Au, IHG Au, HH Au, Nexus, Pilot FlyingJ Preferred, *$ Au
Posts: 4,930
Originally Posted by ulzimates View Post
can we use credit certificates to pay for the SDC fee?
My Wallet funds, credit certificates and discount codes can only be used for new tickets, unfortunately.
rustykettel is offline  
Old May 18, 16, 12:34 pm
  #89  
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Canada
Programs: AS, DL, UA, Hyatt, SPG
Posts: 2,518
Originally Posted by jrl767 View Post
I have an AA flight booked with AS miles ... presumably I'm under AA's rules if I want to try SDC/SDS, since they're the operating carrier
I have the same question.

If you book an AA ticket with AS miles, AS issued e-ticket... Can you still SDC from say the AA flight to an AS operated flight for instance?
SamuelS is offline  
Old May 18, 16, 1:37 pm
  #90  
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SEA/YYZ
Posts: 1,561
Originally Posted by SamuelS View Post
I have the same question.

If you book an AA ticket with AS miles, AS issued e-ticket... Can you still SDC from say the AA flight to an AS operated flight for instance?
Nope, the SDC policy only applies if Alaska is the operating airline.
United757 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: