Alaska Airlines Canadian MasterCard

Old Aug 17, 13, 8:12 pm
  #166  
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: canada
Programs: BA, AA, SPG, US, DL
Posts: 184
What about supplementary card charges ..?
danlauz is offline  
Old Aug 18, 13, 11:30 am
  #167  
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 550
so this is normal card ?can I upgrade to World Elite later with 10,000 miles?

Originally Posted by jerryhung View Post
GCR is now offering $75 rebate on application, making this card 1st year free, woo hoo
http://www.greatcanadianrebates.ca/d...aska-Airlines/
ecgz88 is offline  
Old Aug 18, 13, 11:35 am
  #168  
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,627
Originally Posted by ecgz88 View Post
so this is normal card ?can I upgrade to World Elite later with 10,000 miles?
That'd be my guess too, and I'll apply soon and hope to find out (and hope they don't auto-offer me World Elite, like CIBC's Aerogold Infinite)


but not sure about the 10K miles offer applies to EVERYONE (I know regular card income requirement is $35K? and World Elite is $70K+)

††††To be eligible for an Alaska Airlines World Elite Account, your personal income must be greater than $70,000 or your household income must be $120,000 or greater.
jerryhung is offline  
Old Aug 20, 13, 1:57 pm
  #169  
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Delta, BC
Posts: 1,433
Originally Posted by Finkface View Post
And call in to select a new pin.
You can view your current PIN and change it on-line once you've got your card.
robsaw is online now  
Old Aug 28, 13, 1:51 pm
  #170  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Programs: Aeroplan, BMI, Hyatt, SPG, PC
Posts: 599
Has anyone got this bonus yet?
erasmus99 is offline  
Old Aug 28, 13, 3:18 pm
  #171  
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: YVR, HNL
Programs: AS MVPG, UA peon, BA Bronze, Marriott Gold, HH Diamond, Fairmont Plat (RIP)
Posts: 5,445
Originally Posted by erasmus99 View Post
Has anyone got this bonus yet?
Nope, not me. I have 2 coming.
Finkface is offline  
Old Aug 28, 13, 3:50 pm
  #172  
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: YYZ
Posts: 1,629
Thumbs down EPIC FAIL

Received my new (upgraded) card in the mail today. I have to say, this is one big Epic FAIL.

The card in not black (it is silver)
The card is not branded Alaska Airlines (it has no branding)
The card does not say World Elite (it says nothing)
My Alaska MP number is not embossed beneath my name

It appears all they did was re-issue the card on blank (silver) card stock


(W)hisky (T)ango (F)oxtrot ? ? ?


This is what the card was supposed to look like:





This is what I received:


Last edited by todd-r; Aug 29, 13 at 7:55 am
todd-r is offline  
Old Aug 29, 13, 6:58 am
  #173  
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Programs: United Premier 1K
Posts: 1,210
Originally Posted by todd-r View Post
It appears all they did was re-issue the card on blank (silver) card stock
I got the same looking card. But it came with a notice stating that the "card was so popular" (?!) that they ran out of the printed cards, so in the interim they sent out a generic card. Once they get stock in, they will send out the proper looking card (with the same card number).
Toronto1970 is offline  
Old Aug 29, 13, 10:04 am
  #174  
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: YYZ
Posts: 1,629
Originally Posted by Toronto1970 View Post
I got the same looking card. But it came with a notice stating that the "card was so popular" (?!) that they ran out of the printed cards, so in the interim they sent out a generic card. Once they get stock in, they will send out the proper looking card (with the same card number).
Good to know. I didn't receive any type of notice with my card (nor did my husband). Also, the call centre seems to know nothing about the generic card vs the printed card (or about the new Alaska Airlines World Elite card in general). The rep actually said (an obvious lie) this was the way the card was supposed to look and continued to make up a story when asked why it didn't even say Alaska Airlines or World Elite anywhere on the card. When asking for a Supervisor, of course none were available. Again, not the best way to introduce a new product.
todd-r is offline  
Old Aug 29, 13, 10:35 am
  #175  
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Programs: United Premier 1K
Posts: 1,210
Originally Posted by todd-r View Post
Good to know. I didn't receive any type of notice with my card (nor did my husband).
My envelope contained THREE identical notices of this, so perhaps I got yours! LOL
Toronto1970 is offline  
Old Aug 29, 13, 11:49 am
  #176  
Fairmont Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: (SJC)
Programs: HH Gold, Fairmont Platinum (No Airline Status, a first in 7 years)
Posts: 2,099
NEVER heard of RUNNING OUT OF STOCK. muhhahaha. most cards are printed in a big plant that makes many different cards.

Maybe with the switch, TD had to print them and truly didnt have stock?

My spouse applied for the basecard under the TD nameplate now, and got a letter from BofA Canada... lol
AMRivlin is offline  
Old Aug 29, 13, 1:08 pm
  #177  
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Delta, BC
Posts: 1,433
Originally Posted by AMRivlin View Post

My spouse applied for the basecard under the TD nameplate now, and got a letter from BofA Canada... lol
There is all sorts of stuff that mixes in BofA stuff still due to the takeover of MBNA, even for non-Alaska cards. Even the behind-the-scenes stuff on the website is still BofA. Little slips of paper included with my correspondence on my wife's recently replaced Alaska card clarify to read "MDNA or TD" and not "BofA Canada" (NOT the World Elite, but the old Platinum card due to a fraud issue); the card does indicate TD on it though instead of BofA Canada.
robsaw is online now  
Old Aug 29, 13, 3:18 pm
  #178  
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: YVR, HNL
Programs: AS MVPG, UA peon, BA Bronze, Marriott Gold, HH Diamond, Fairmont Plat (RIP)
Posts: 5,445
Both mine and Mr. Fink's cards arrived today. 3 of the notices in each envelope about running out of stock, this being a temporary and the actual card would be mailed as soon as it was available. So I got 6 notices altogether
Finkface is offline  
Old Aug 30, 13, 6:31 pm
  #179  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Toronto
Programs: SPG Gold, HH Silver
Posts: 855
Guys, does anyone know if by upgrading, my credit report will show a "closed" account, and therefore I will lose the benefit of the ongoing age of the previous account? This is a CRUCIAL consideration for me...
blueline7 is offline  
Old Sep 2, 13, 7:25 am
  #180  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Programs: 24 million points to burn!
Posts: 1,509
I'm a Canadian who lives in the US. Can I get both the US and Canadian versions, with bonuses for both on the same Mileage Plan account?
Preacher7 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: