FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   Airtran Airways | A+ Rewards (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/airtran-airways-rewards-441/)
-   -   ATL->SFO AirtranU Standby Success? (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/airtran-airways-rewards/1272525-atl-sfo-airtranu-standby-success.html)

dkzjunk Oct 24, 2011 5:34 pm

ATL->SFO AirtranU Standby Success?

Hi,

Being a student, I'm interested in taking advantage of the Airtran U for trip from ATL -> SFO on November 4th weekend. I have a discounted ticket back from US, so want to use Airtran for the first part of the trip.

I've searched the forum, but can't find any hint to whether this is even feasible. I know being November (holiday month)) will make things difficult. I am available to wait on Thursday and Friday nights, though I know the second is harder to get on.

Thursday and Friday flights: 9AM, 7:30PM, and 9PM. The PM flights still work when searching for 9 seats.

I know 9am would be hard to get on, since they like to overbook those and move people over to the later time flights.

But this is my first time, any insight if this has a good chance?

jiggs Oct 26, 2011 5:09 pm

I would say, as you imply, that Thursday will likely be better than Friday, but it all up to the load. Since its only a week away, you could try to get an idea of what the loads are like this Thursday/Friday as an indication of what you may expect.

Even with coach 'sold out', unless they oversell it, you still have a decent shot at a seat since several people will pay the $129 to upgrade on this flight. That can open several coach seats in the last 24 hours.

So do some research for upcoming flights this week if you can, and try to be there at the minute that they allow AirtranU people to purchase a ticket.

dmbolp Oct 27, 2011 4:16 pm