Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Airport Lounges
Reload this Page >

3-hour lounge passes for long layovers: possible to use for 3 hours after landing?

3-hour lounge passes for long layovers: possible to use for 3 hours after landing?

Old Jun 22, 19, 8:21 am
Original Poster

I'm new to the world of airport lounges so I hope you'll forgive a beginner's question. I was looking into lounge options at Gatwick South Terminal, where I'll have an 8-hour layover with a flight arriving at 9am and leaving again at 5pm. I see there are three-hour passes available for a reasonable price. What I don't get is why the pass doesn't allow you to access the lounge until three hours before the actual flight time. This effectively turns this into a 1 to 1.5 hour pass at the very most to allow time to pass security and get to the gate. What's the point of this? I'm surprised it's not 3 hours prior to boarding time at the very least, even though that still neglects the time needed to go through security and arrive at the gate. I see that I can tack on extra hours for a fee, which I don't mind doing. But if I pay for three hours I want three hours, not one. Anyone have any advice or suggestions for how to actually get what I pay for? For instance, is there any way to use the pass three hours after arrival and not prior to departure?
Old Jun 25, 19, 10:37 pm

Same question to ask as I will also have a long layover in HKG next month. Not sure whether I can spend more than 3 hours in the lounge...
Old Jun 25, 19, 10:59 pm

Programs: AA EXP, UA 1K