Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Airport Lounges
Reload this Page >

ORD: Chicago O'Hare Priority Pass lounges and switching terminals

ORD: Chicago O'Hare Priority Pass lounges and switching terminals

Old Jan 19, 19, 8:21 pm
  #61  
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 194
Originally Posted by g289t View Post
True, depending on how much hassle one is willing to put up with. I recently had a 5 hour layover at ORD, with my departure flight leaving from Terminal 1. I decided to go to Terminal 5 for two reasons:

1. To see if I could get into T5 with a boarding pass for a flight departing from T1.
2. To check out the Priority Pass lounges.

In the end, I felt it was worth it. The lounges weren't as good as a lot of airline lounges, but in my opinion, it was worth my time. But I enjoy airports. For a passenger who would not enjoy the transit to another terminal and two security checks, I'd say grab a meal at a restaurant in your terminal and wait out the layover there.
but you clearly made it through security with a T1 boarding pass? Nice
Soccerjoshj07 is offline  
Old Jan 21, 19, 2:19 pm
  #62  
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 237
Originally Posted by Soccerjoshj07 View Post
but you clearly made it through security with a T1 boarding pass? Nice
Yes, that part of it was a non issue. Security at T5 took a bit of time though. If I would not have had lots of time to kill, I would not have waited. Besides the lounges, I also enjoyed walking up and down the terminal and viewing the aircraft of foreign airlines.
g289t is offline  
Old Jan 21, 19, 5:13 pm
  #63  
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: IAD
Programs: UA 1K + 1MM; HHonors Gold; Marriott Gold
Posts: 724
Originally Posted by g289t View Post
In the end, I felt it was worth it. The lounges weren't as good as a lot of airline lounges, but in my opinion, it was worth my time. But I enjoy airports. For a passenger who would not enjoy the transit to another terminal and two security checks, I'd say grab a meal at a restaurant in your terminal and wait out the layover there.
Thanks for the feedback. I am planning to over to T5 this Thursday. If I was to pick one of the two PP lounges, which one would you recommend - Swissport or AF? I believe those are the two PP lounges in T5. BTW, I too love walking thru airports and checking out the aircraft. #avgeek
sharmaintl is offline  
Old Jan 22, 19, 3:20 am
  #64  
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 237
Originally Posted by sharmaintl View Post
If I was to pick one of the two PP lounges, which one would you recommend - Swissport or AF? I believe those are the two PP lounges in T5.
Yes, these are the two Priority Pass lounges in T5. I thought that Swissport was more comfortable, but it doesn't have any windows. AF has a fairly decent view of the apron. As far as the food, I would rate them about the same, at least when I was there. This can vary, depending on when you visit and how crowded it is. I was in them between 2 and 4 PM or so. AF was quite crowded, but Swissport was quiet.

If you have time, visit both. They're quite close together. And please be aware that YMMV. When you visit, the conditions could be opposite of when I was there.
g289t is offline  
Old Jan 25, 19, 5:21 am
  #65  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Watchlisted by the prejudiced, en route to purgatory
Programs: Just Say No to Fleecing and Blacklisting
Posts: 88,881
Originally Posted by g289t View Post
Yes, these are the two Priority Pass lounges in T5. I thought that Swissport was more comfortable, but it doesn't have any windows. AF has a fairly decent view of the apron. As far as the food, I would rate them about the same, at least when I was there. This can vary, depending on when you visit and how crowded it is. I was in them between 2 and 4 PM or so. AF was quite crowded, but Swissport was quiet.

If you have time, visit both. They're quite close together. And please be aware that YMMV. When you visit, the conditions could be opposite of when I was there.
I've seen times when the AF lounge, the Swissport lounge or both lounges reject PP customers due to capacity concerns. Just something to consider.

I prefer the AF lounge to the Swissport lounge at ORD, but there are times when the Swissport lounge has had better food than the AF lounge.

I would consider going to T5 just for Bao.
chitink likes this.
GUWonder is offline  
Old Jun 7, 19, 4:17 pm
  #66  
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Programs: American Airlaines, Delta SkyMiles, United, BA, HH, Marriott, SPG, Priority Club
Posts: 154
I just checked into the Swissport in T5 and can confirm you can get in without an international boarding pass. Iím flying domestic with a 6 hour layover and simply needed to exit out of security and take the bus to T5 and then go in through security. You canít take the shuttle on the secured side but once you exit security then you can get into T5 just fine
Jeremyh11 is offline  
Old Jun 15, 19, 3:20 am
  #67  
Used to be 'rockferd'
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SEA
Programs: AS MVP 75K, UA Gold, HH: Gold, Marriott: Platinum Premier
Posts: 202
Originally Posted by Jeremyh11 View Post
I just checked into the Swissport in T5 and can confirm you can get in without an international boarding pass. Iím flying domestic with a 6 hour layover and simply needed to exit out of security and take the bus to T5 and then go in through security. You canít take the shuttle on the secured side but once you exit security then you can get into T5 just fine
Did they let you take the shuttle back airside or did you have to go land side and clear security again?
DoubleWidesFly is offline  
Old Aug 5, 19, 8:11 pm
  #68  
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Programs: American Airlaines, Delta SkyMiles, United, BA, HH, Marriott, SPG, Priority Club
Posts: 154
Originally Posted by DoubleWidesFly View Post
Did they let you take the shuttle back airside or did you have to go land side and clear security again?
sorry, just saw this - I had to take the land side back and clear security again.
Jeremyh11 is offline  
Old Aug 14, 19, 9:50 am
  #69  
formerly known as Tad's Broiled Steaks
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: @BuildingMyBento
Programs: Metro-North Rubbish, Keisei Skinflint, KCR Headphones, Kopaja Platinum
Posts: 5,229
If anyone's at the B6 lounge now, I'm sitting by the food in front of...B6.
BuildingMyBento is offline  
Old Aug 20, 19, 7:04 am
  #70  
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: PHL
Programs: UA 1K, Marriott Gold, IHG Gold, Raddison Gold
Posts: 3,287
I wonder if they will ever add a restaurant on the domestic side like at IAH.
eng3 is offline  
Old Aug 23, 19, 11:45 am
  #71  
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Programs: AA EXP, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 323
AF lounge is better for food IMO and drinks. However, I have only been in once, because the other four times I have tried I was rejected due to "potential fullness due to incoming flights". I am getting pretty frustrated that the PP is useless at my home airport.
chitink is offline  
Old Aug 23, 19, 1:41 pm
  #72  
formerly known as Tad's Broiled Steaks
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: @BuildingMyBento
Programs: Metro-North Rubbish, Keisei Skinflint, KCR Headphones, Kopaja Platinum
Posts: 5,229
Originally Posted by chitink View Post
AF lounge is better for food IMO and drinks. However, I have only been in once, because the other four times I have tried I was rejected due to "potential fullness due to incoming flights". I am getting pretty frustrated that the PP is useless at my home airport.
ORD is a disaster, and its two T5 PP lounges are microcosms for the airport itself.

The only positive to ORD is that it is quite well-connected public transit wise...but darn, I wish that people mover would come back in action before BER opens.
BuildingMyBento is offline  
Old Nov 3, 19, 12:53 am
  #73  
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Greater Chicagoland Area
Programs: frontier Elite, Hertz PC
Posts: 916
Just to answer some questions:

T5 doesn't have a precheck line. If you have precheck, you can hold it up so you don't have to take your shoes off and you can go through the metal detector. I assume you can leave your coat on but I always have stuff in mine so I run it through the X-ray machine

The Air France lounge has multiple.hours where PP is restricted so I usually end up at the Swissport across the hallway. They used to have a fruit plate, which I loved but at my current flying time in the afternoon, at least it's gone and meatballs only show up right before I'm about to leave

When I used to be able to use the Air France lounge after 9pm, it had better food (some noodles and something else). Oatmeal containers. The only other food in Swissport is the soup containers that you pour hot water into.
rhwbullhead is offline  
Old Nov 3, 19, 8:28 am
  #74  
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 194
Originally Posted by rhwbullhead View Post
Just to answer some questions:

T5 doesn't have a precheck line. If you have precheck, you can hold it up so you don't have to take your shoes off and you can go through the metal detector. I assume you can leave your coat on but I always have stuff in mine so I run it through the X-ray machine

The Air France lounge has multiple.hours where PP is restricted so I usually end up at the Swissport across the hallway. They used to have a fruit plate, which I loved but at my current flying time in the afternoon, at least it's gone and meatballs only show up right before I'm about to leave

When I used to be able to use the Air France lounge after 9pm, it had better food (some noodles and something else). Oatmeal containers. The only other food in Swissport is the soup containers that you pour hot water into.
Yes, the Swissport lounge was very disappointing. If you have an early flight (like to Asia), Air France should work out.
Soccerjoshj07 is offline  
Old Dec 4, 19, 1:02 am
  #75  
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Greater Chicagoland Area
Programs: frontier Elite, Hertz PC
Posts: 916
Originally Posted by rhwbullhead View Post
Just to answer some questions:

T5 doesn't have a precheck line. If you have precheck, you can hold it up so you don't have to take your shoes off and you can go through the metal detector. I assume you can leave your coat on but I always have stuff in mine so I run it through the X-ray machine

The
I guess there is now a preCheck line, sort of. You do the ID check with everyone else. If you are precheck, you now get a laminated sign/paper. You carry that to the far right line and apparently that line is only for other Prechecks.

This changed the next trip after I made the post above
rhwbullhead is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread