Wiki Posts
Search

Overbooking on domestic flights

Search this Thread

Old May 10, 2009, 1:51 am
Original Poster

Programs: TK*G (Elite+)
Overbooking on domestic flights

Question for NZ frequent flyers, what is airline policy when the flight is overbooked?

Do they offer any voucher, compensation (like in EU) or just alternative flight?
Old May 10, 2009, 2:34 am

Programs: NZ*G, QF NB, UA 1K, AA ExecPlat, IHG PlatAmb, HHonors Gold, SPG Gold, Marriott Gold, ZE1 PC
While I have no direct experience with this, I would expect you may get IDB compensation if they can't get you out same-day. However, I think this would be EXTREMELY rare and probably only occur in bad weather in remote stations.

Generally speaking NZ has good inventory management and the domestic network is big enough with enough variation in pax loads that there will either be enough no-shows/people voluntarily changing their flights, that the flight will get out without denying boarding. If it's really bad, they usually offer to put you on an earlier flight when you arrive at the airport, if one is available.
Old May 10, 2009, 2:42 am

Programs: DL Plat, NZ Elite, QF Plat
A good friend on mine was involuntarily bumped a couple of years ago WLG-DUD and received a very large amount of compensation in AP$ as well as a number of one-time Koru Club passes. But as ajnz mentions, NZ overall have excellent inventory management. It's rare for international flights to be overbooked and even rarer for domestic. No compo for weather related problems in my experience though.
Old May 10, 2009, 1:10 pm
Moderator, Hilton Honors

Programs: some
In my experience the only times pax need to be bumped is irrops (eg trying to accommodate pax when earlier/later flight(s) have been cancelled).

In several hundred NZ flights I can only think of a handful of cases.
Old Dec 2, 2011, 11:59 am

Programs: United 1K Hilton Gold
It does happen....