Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air New Zealand | Air Points
Reload this Page >

Air NZ Airpoints members keep status' until 2023, but lose recognition upgrades

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Sep 27, 2020, 7:14 pm
Original Poster

Hi there, I'm a journalist so I'll say that up front, but I'd be keen to hear your thoughts on the recognition upgrades being excluded from the extension. Do you think this is fair and have similar decisions been made with other airlines.
If you are okay with your rely being used as an anonymous quote in a story, then please mention this in your comment. Regardless, am keen to know what the community thinks!

It won't let me post a URL, but the story is at Newshub.co.nz forward slash travel
Old Sep 28, 2020, 5:38 am

Programs: NZ *G, AS 75K
Originally Posted by dannews
Hi there, I'm a journalist so I'll say that up front, but I'd be keen to hear your thoughts on the recognition upgrades being excluded from the extension. Do you think this is fair and have similar decisions been made with other airlines.
If you are okay with your rely being used as an anonymous quote in a story, then please mention this in your comment. Regardless, am keen to know what the community thinks!

It won't let me post a URL, but the story is at Newshub.co.nz forward slash travel
I'm totally fine with it - I understand that I wouldn't have travelled this year anyway, and see it more of a pause rather than an extension. Very happy with Air NZ extending for another year and look forward to flying again soon.

You can quote me how you like.
Old Sep 28, 2020, 8:42 am

Programs: NZ*G ELT, VA-G
1. Most airlines don't offer free upgrades nowadays.
2. The extended status year will come with new upgrades. They could always extend your existing upgrades by another 12 momths but now give out new ones for the extended year, which would work out the same.