Change FF programme on booking after check-in

Old Feb 1, 19, 8:33 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Programs: Lifetime *G (MP), Silver (VA), Lifetime PE (Bonvoy)
Posts: 1,332
Change FF programme on booking after check-in

Does anyone know if it's possible to change FF programme for credits after check-in? I wouldn't be asking staff to do it; I'd be accessing my PNR direct online
RTWFF is offline  
Old Feb 1, 19, 9:10 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: PPQ/WLG/BKK
Programs: TG*G, Accor Gold
Posts: 7,282
I tried twice 2 weeks ago using the app once in the lounge and failed. Wanted to change accrual from TG to NZ.

Thai-Kiwi is offline  
Old Feb 1, 19, 9:19 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Singapore
Programs: TK G, NZ G, QF G, AZ G, EK S.
Posts: 3
Pretty sure I have done it before in the lounge - used Gold status on one FF programme to get priority seating, lounge access etc, then once in the lounge had the agent change FF to the programme that I need to accrue my points on.
honie99 is offline  
Old Feb 2, 19, 3:33 pm
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Programs: Lifetime *G (MP), Silver (VA), Lifetime PE (Bonvoy)
Posts: 1,332
Originally Posted by honie99 View Post
Pretty sure I have done it before in the lounge - used Gold status on one FF programme to get priority seating, lounge access etc, then once in the lounge had the agent change FF to the programme that I need to accrue my points on.
Right but that was an agent change, not one you did online yourself?
RTWFF is offline  
Old Feb 2, 19, 6:33 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: PPQ/WLG/BKK
Programs: TG*G, Accor Gold
Posts: 7,282
I believe AirNZ staff will do this IF it doesnít involve Air NZ.

A couple of reports that were along the lines of, for example, have UA*G in booking to get seats lounge etc, and then change once in the lounge to KF to accrue the miles.

However, Air NZ wonít allow entry on, for example, UA*G and then change to NZ Airpoints once in the lounge
Thai-Kiwi is offline  
Old Feb 2, 19, 11:12 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: New Zealand
Programs: NZ Elite, QF Platinum, VA Gold
Posts: 1,553
Originally Posted by Thai-Kiwi View Post
I believe AirNZ staff will do this IF it doesnít involve Air NZ.

A couple of reports that were along the lines of, for example, have UA*G in booking to get seats lounge etc, and then change once in the lounge to KF to accrue the miles.

However, Air NZ wonít allow entry on, for example, UA*G and then change to NZ Airpoints once in the lounge
Apparently OW you can log on and change FFP on Finnair I think, yourself. I havenít heard of any *A equivalent for this. Have you?
NZbutterfly is offline  
Old Feb 6, 19, 6:41 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 354
Haven't had success doing this online after check-in - even if the webpage seems to show it was successful, my boarding pass doesn't update.
ukflyer1 is offline  
Old Feb 6, 19, 7:29 pm
  #8  
Ambassador: Air New Zealand
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Wellington NZ
Programs: NZ Gold, EK Gold, Amex Plat, SPG Gold, Accor Gold
Posts: 1,263
Originally Posted by ukflyer1 View Post
Haven't had success doing this online after check-in - even if the webpage seems to show it was successful, my boarding pass doesn't update.
Airport has control. Check in, Lounge or Gate only can make changes.
WLG Base is offline  
Old Feb 6, 19, 9:43 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: AKL
Programs: NZ Elite, QF Plat, Hilton Gold, Accor Gold
Posts: 1,516
I'd just do it at the gate. The lounge staff may have been instructed not to do this and they'll see it as "double-dipping" even though that's not the case at all - but that's what they've been told. Gate staff won't care, they'll just get the number changed and move on to the next job to get the plane ready and departed.
NZ_Flyer is offline  
Old Feb 7, 19, 7:13 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: YYZ/SFO/AKL
Programs: NZ*G, back of the bus UA, corner of the MLL AC.
Posts: 203
Originally Posted by NZ_Flyer View Post
I'd just do it at the gate. The lounge staff may have been instructed not to do this and they'll see it as "double-dipping" even though that's not the case at all - but that's what they've been told. Gate staff won't care, they'll just get the number changed and move on to the next job to get the plane ready and departed.
Yep, I concur - skip the lounge, do it at the gate
samyoull is offline  
Old Feb 7, 19, 7:44 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New Zealand (most of the time)
Programs: NZ Elite *G, HHonors Diamond, IHG Platinum Elite
Posts: 4,473
You'll potentially struggle to get this done at the gate as well
sbiddle is offline  
Old Feb 7, 19, 1:01 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 354
I wouldn't try doing this at the gate - unless I was early at the gate (before boarding started and staff weren't busy) - as the disruption when actually boarding wouldn't really be fair (in my opinion, I know others will differ). Especially with domestic.
ukflyer1 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread