itinerary not available on NZ site

Old Jan 7, 19, 4:29 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: WLG, BOS, YUL, YOW
Programs: NZ*GE, UA*G, Global Entry, NEXUS
Posts: 262
itinerary not available on NZ site

I'm trying to book a one-way flight from WLG-BWI on quite a tight schedule where we need to get the travel done with a late afternoon departure and arrival without a second overnight flight in the domestic US. There's a single route that works, which I can find bookable on Kayak and other OTAs (WLG-AKL on any NZ regular flight, AKL-IAH on NZ28, and IAH-BWI on UA1851). I can't get the NZ website to give this route, however, and would prefer to book it through NZ so that I can lodge an Elite upgrade on the long haul (OTAs are routing me to 016- UA tickets only). If I call in, can they book this ticket without charging exorbitant phone booking fees, since the NZ website won't do it? Or is there some way to trick the NZ website into making this fare available?
smanch is offline  
Old Jan 7, 19, 4:36 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Programs: Air NZ Gold
Posts: 48
Yeah a similar issue has occurred to me. I'm trying to book AKL to FRA return, but want to go via LHR on NZ2/1 so i can use some RUs. However the Air NZ booking engine only comes up with single stop routes like through Singapore etc and won't let me choose NZ1/2 the whole way. You would think they would want to offer customers the option of maximizing the number of NZ metal flights??? What is up with this???
stick1 is offline  
Old Jan 7, 19, 4:40 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: PPQ/WLG/BKK
Programs: TG*G, Accor Gold
Posts: 7,288
Originally Posted by stick1 View Post
Yeah a similar issue has occurred to me. I'm trying to book AKL to FRA return, but want to go via LHR on NZ2/1 so i can use some RUs. However the Air NZ booking engine only comes up with single stop routes like through Singapore etc and won't let me choose NZ1/2 the whole way. You would think they would want to offer customers the option of maximizing the number of NZ metal flights??? What is up with this???
Did you try using the multi-city tool to force the route you want?
Thai-Kiwi is offline  
Old Jan 7, 19, 4:41 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: YYZ/SFO/AKL
Programs: NZ*G, back of the bus UA, corner of the MLL AC.
Posts: 203
Last time I found something unbookable on the website, they waived the phone fee. Should definitely be able to do it if you're *E.

However, if all the OTA's are trying to plate on 016, the issue might be lack of published fares WLG-BWI on NZ...
samyoull is offline  
Old Jan 7, 19, 4:42 pm
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: WLG, BOS, YUL, YOW
Programs: NZ*GE, UA*G, Global Entry, NEXUS
Posts: 262
For my route, I can force it to get me to IAD or DCA but not to BWI since Baltimore isn't one of the cities listed in NZ's tools....
smanch is offline  
Old Jan 7, 19, 4:44 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: YYZ/SFO/AKL
Programs: NZ*G, back of the bus UA, corner of the MLL AC.
Posts: 203
Originally Posted by smanch View Post
For my route, I can force it to get me to IAD or DCA but not to BWI since Baltimore isn't one of the cities listed in NZ's tools....
Try searching from airnewzealand.com, I can get it to show up there.
samyoull is offline  
Old Jan 7, 19, 4:46 pm
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: WLG, BOS, YUL, YOW
Programs: NZ*GE, UA*G, Global Entry, NEXUS
Posts: 262
Originally Posted by samyoull View Post
Try searching from airnewzealand.com, I can get it to show up there.
Ah BWI does show up on the multistop tool from airnewzealand.com but it can't find the connecting flight IAH-BWI (gives me an error message with no available flights).
smanch is offline  
Old Jan 7, 19, 5:03 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 992
Originally Posted by smanch View Post
Ah BWI does show up on the multistop tool from airnewzealand.com but it can't find the connecting flight IAH-BWI (gives me an error message with no available flights).
What is the connection time? Is it below the minimum connection time?
nzkarit is offline  
Old Jan 7, 19, 5:08 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: YYZ/SFO/AKL
Programs: NZ*G, back of the bus UA, corner of the MLL AC.
Posts: 203
Looks like airnz.com routes via LAX/ORD - any reason you don't want to transit ORD? Far better timings.
samyoull is offline  
Old Jan 7, 19, 5:26 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Programs: Air NZ Gold
Posts: 48
Yeah that does work. Sort of. It fails to estimate AP/SP earn. I assume it wouldn't create any issues with checking through.
stick1 is offline  
Old Jan 7, 19, 5:30 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New Zealand (most of the time)
Programs: NZ Elite *G, HHonors Diamond, IHG Platinum Elite
Posts: 4,473
Both the Air NZ site and multistop tool will only offer limited numbers of connections and will typically look at price and total travel time and give you what it determines as the best options rather than all options.
sbiddle is offline  
Old Jan 7, 19, 5:45 pm
  #12  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: WLG, BOS, YUL, YOW
Programs: NZ*GE, UA*G, Global Entry, NEXUS
Posts: 262
Here's the flight on Kayak (this one on a United ticket) plenty of layover time...

smanch is offline  
Old Jan 7, 19, 5:55 pm
  #13  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: WLG, BOS, YUL, YOW
Programs: NZ*GE, UA*G, Global Entry, NEXUS
Posts: 262
Originally Posted by samyoull View Post
Looks like airnz.com routes via LAX/ORD - any reason you don't want to transit ORD? Far better timings.
LAX/ORD flights are too early in the day for a work commitment. The only suitable flight is this itinerary through IAH (though if absolutely necessary, I'll book IAD or DCA as the destination airport instead of BWI; those would mean more of a drive).
smanch is offline  
Old Jan 7, 19, 6:05 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: YYZ/SFO/AKL
Programs: NZ*G, back of the bus UA, corner of the MLL AC.
Posts: 203
Originally Posted by smanch View Post
LAX/ORD flights are too early in the day for a work commitment. The only suitable flight is this itinerary through IAH (though if absolutely necessary, I'll book IAD or DCA as the destination airport instead of BWI; those would mean more of a drive).
The ORD flight is after the IAH one? Leaves WLG later and gets you into BWI earlier, without the 5 hour layover in IAH.

https://goo.gl/flights/4rFeq
samyoull is offline  
Old Jan 7, 19, 6:08 pm
  #15  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: WLG, BOS, YUL, YOW
Programs: NZ*GE, UA*G, Global Entry, NEXUS
Posts: 262
Originally Posted by samyoull View Post
The ORD flight is after the IAH one? Leaves WLG later and gets you into BWI earlier, without the 5 hour layover in IAH.

https://goo.gl/flights/4rFeq
It's 20 Mar, not 20 Feb. I think UA doesn't have an ORD-BWI at the same time the following month.
samyoull likes this.
smanch is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread