First NZ/QF flight

Reply

Old Nov 25, 18, 2:44 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Programs: NZ *E, Accor Platinum, Hertz President’s Circle
Posts: 542
First NZ/QF flight

Today I flew a few sectors (and saw safety video in J...it is worse as itís longer&#128553

Finished with my first flight on the NZ/ QF code share.

my observations.

1. could not choose QF seats, was allocated 17 (in Dash 8) but got is changed in SYD
2. QF do not recognise my status, I could not enter Business Lounge, only Qantas club
3. No status credits




Markhm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 18, 3:04 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: NT Australia
Programs: QF gold-> platinum
Posts: 390
If it makes you feel any better iím QF gold and am never able to select seats on the dash in advance 😉
nancypants is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 18, 5:00 am
  #3  
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: SIN
Programs: NZ*E, QF Gold, Hilton Gold
Posts: 185
Originally Posted by Markhm View Post
2. QF do not recognise my status, I could not enter Business Lounge, only Qantas club
3. No status credits
Both of these items are in line with what AirNZ says on their website:

https://www.airnewzealand.co.nz/co-o...artners-qantas
https://www.airnzagent.co.nz/qantas-codeshare

Airpoints Elite and Gold customers, plus one guest, will have access to Qantasí Domestic Club lounges when connecting onto (or commencing) a codeshare service. E.g. an eligible customer flying from AKL NZ SYD QF CBR will have access at Air NZ lounge at AKL international and the Qantas Club lounge at SYD domestic terminal.
Note no mention of Business Lounges, but rather 'Club' lounges. There isn't any differentiation between Gold & Elite, so NZ*E isn't treated as 'Partner Platinum' or anything like that.

If you travel on a Qantas operated flight with an NZ flight number (e.g. NZ7000) domestically within Australia you will earn Airpoints Dollars based on the earning rates in the Partner flights section of the Airpoints Dollars earning rates look up table. Status Points are not able to be earned.
KiwiJC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 18, 11:53 am
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Programs: NZ *E, Accor Platinum, Hertz President’s Circle
Posts: 542
Originally Posted by KiwiJC View Post
Both of these items are in line with what AirNZ says on their website:

https://www.airnewzealand.co.nz/co-o...artners-qantas
https://www.airnzagent.co.nz/qantas-codeshare



Note no mention of Business Lounges, but rather 'Club' lounges. There isn't any differentiation between Gold & Elite, so NZ*E isn't treated as 'Partner Platinum' or anything like that.
I should have read the T&Cs myself.
Markhm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 18, 4:17 am
  #5  
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: UK
Programs: NZ Gold, BA Gold, QF Silver, AF Ivory, FlyBe, IHG Platinum Elite, Accor Platinum
Posts: 931
I did this today AKL-SYD-CBR (in Y), but what was interesting was that my AKL-SYD flight was over an hour late, so I was rebooked onto another SYD-CBR flight (got the boarding pass at SYD QF domestic transfer). Then I tried to get into the Qantas Club with my Airpoints Card....
1. I had been rebooked on a QF flight number, not an NZ one (the original SYD-CBR flight was an NZ code), so this caused trouble to get me access to the Qantas Club with my NZ status.
2. I was asked about QF status, so I offered my BA status (being higher than QF in OW) and it was simple enough to credit the QF flight to BAEC and I gained access to the Business Lounge (as I would if I booked in QF myself). I'll be getting points credited to BAEC from it too.

So the lesson is, if you are rebooked onto a QF domestic flight (without a NZ codeshare ticket attached), you may face difficulty getting into the Qantas Club lounges using your NZ status (assuming it is in economy), without OW Sapphire or Emerald status.
libertyuk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 19, 6:06 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Programs: *G
Posts: 2,197
No seat selection in J on QF codeshares

Shortly after the NZ/QF codeshare arrangement started, I booked a J trip HBA-(QF)-SYD-(NZ)-AKL for this February. Although I was given the QF locator, no seat assignment was possible, which NZ put down to the arrangement being new. I have since tried unsuccessfully online (although the QF website recognizes the locator), and called QF, but they cannot allocate a seat.

One of the links posted up-thread says that "Generic Seat Select is available" - does anyone know what that means, and has anyone had any experience trying to select seats in J on an NZ/QF codeshare?
fin 645 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 19, 8:34 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: YYZ/SFO/AKL
Programs: NZ*G, back of the bus UA, corner of the MLL AC.
Posts: 187
Originally Posted by fin 645 View Post
Shortly after the NZ/QF codeshare arrangement started, I booked a J trip HBA-(QF)-SYD-(NZ)-AKL for this February. Although I was given the QF locator, no seat assignment was possible, which NZ put down to the arrangement being new. I have since tried unsuccessfully online (although the QF website recognizes the locator), and called QF, but they cannot allocate a seat.

One of the links posted up-thread says that "Generic Seat Select is available" - does anyone know what that means, and has anyone had any experience trying to select seats in J on an NZ/QF codeshare?
"Generic Seat Select" in my experience usually means old school "window or aisle?'

YMMV.
samyoull is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 19, 3:52 am
  #8  
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: UK
Programs: NZ Gold, BA Gold, QF Silver, AF Ivory, FlyBe, IHG Platinum Elite, Accor Platinum
Posts: 931
If the flight is on a turboprop for QF you generally cannot choose a specific seat in advance.
libertyuk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 19, 10:47 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Programs: *G
Posts: 2,197
Originally Posted by libertyuk View Post
If the flight is on a turboprop for QF you generally cannot choose a specific seat in advance.
Definitely not a Dash 8. It shows as a 717 with a separate J cabin. QF agent I spoke to put me on hold to seek help but came back that they can't do it. Looks like a system glitch to me.
fin 645 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 19, 1:30 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New Zealand (most of the time)
Programs: NZ Elite *G, HHonors Diamond, IHG Platinum Elite
Posts: 4,048
Are you definitely seated in J for the QF flight? Booking J doesn't guarantee that (even on a flight with J) , but will tell you at the time of booking otherwise.
sbiddle is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 19, 5:26 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Programs: *G
Posts: 2,197
Originally Posted by sbiddle View Post
Are you definitely seated in J for the QF flight? Booking J doesn't guarantee that (even on a flight with J) , but will tell you at the time of booking otherwise.
Good point, but NZ confirmation says Business - booking class J. The QF booking info using their locator online clearly says "Travel Class Business (J)".

If I try to select a seat on the QF website, the page just goes into limbo - the 3 little dots just go on forever!

It seems to be an NZ/QF codeshare glitch, but I wondered if anyone else had a similar experience or had found a way to deal with it.
fin 645 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 19, 12:39 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K, DL, WN, Global Entry; +others wherever miles/points are found
Posts: 8,154
QF blocks crazy numbers of seats for their own elites (all of rows 1-2 for domestic Business if I recall); could it also be possible that calling QF failed because no seats are available for assignment? Perhaps unlikely for a sector like HBA-SYD.
nancypants likes this.
findark is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 19, 8:39 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Programs: *G
Posts: 2,197
Originally Posted by findark View Post
QF blocks crazy numbers of seats for their own elites (all of rows 1-2 for domestic Business if I recall); could it also be possible that calling QF failed because no seats are available for assignment? Perhaps unlikely for a sector like HBA-SYD.
Thanks for leading me to the explanation - looking at EF, there are two seats occupied, and all the remaining 10 seats are blocked. EF shows J6, so there is space at the moment. It would have been so much simpler if NZ or QF could have offered the explanation!
fin 645 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 19, 12:00 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: PPQ
Programs: TG*G, Accor Gold
Posts: 6,838
Originally Posted by fin 645 View Post
Thanks for leading me to the explanation - looking at EF, there are two seats occupied, and all the remaining 10 seats are blocked. EF shows J6, so there is space at the moment. It would have been so much simpler if NZ or QF could have offered the explanation!
All is not lost. The QF J seat map should open up somewhat a few days prior to the flight (T-80?), and then a 'free-for-all' at T-24. I can't recall the exact details, so ask on the QANTAS board for info!
nancypants likes this.
Thai-Kiwi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 19, 1:04 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: AKL
Programs: NZ Elite, QF Gold, Honors Gold, Accor Gold
Posts: 1,482
On QF 737 (maybe also 717) Business, rows 1 & 2 are blocked for QF Platinum and above. Row 1 may even be only for Platinum One and Chairmans Lounge. As TK says, they open up at T-80 for others to select if not already taken
NZ_Flyer is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread