FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   Air New Zealand | Air Points (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/air-new-zealand-air-points-440/)
-   -   Airpoints dollar upgrades (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/air-new-zealand-air-points/1940819-airpoints-dollar-upgrades.html)

Jenky Nov 15, 2018 7:44 pm

Airpoints dollar upgrades

Over the last 2 years have many of you had more and more difficulty getting elite upgrades using airpoints dollars? Or in my partners case RU. Are one-ups now taking precedence? I fly out of ALK to IAH tonight and looks like my partner and I will have the joy of the back of the plane? Yet again just should have paid for the PE fare in the first place. Also had the pleasure to see they have moved me from 36C to a less desirable location. After 10yrs of Elite status Im just beginning to wonder what benefit truly remains that you can't just get with Koru membership?

sopwith7 Nov 15, 2018 8:21 pm

There just aren't that many PE seats on the NZ Dreamliners, and they certainly fill up with paid passengers on that route. That said, I'd be interested to know if there are some behind-the-scenes shenanigans to discourage Elites from using Elite APD upgrades on Y fares.

sbiddle Nov 15, 2018 8:37 pm

Quite simply the problem is there are too many HVCs as well as too many passengers willing to pay for PE/BP meaning getting upgrades can be a challenge as premium cabins are full on the vast majority of flights. Despite people coming in here every few months suggesting that OneUps clear before a RU or APD upgrade there is not a single piece of evidence to suggest this occurs.

Having said that I've never not had an upgrade clear in my last ~15 or so long-haul flights.

If flying in a specific cabin is so important you should always pay for it. Period. If you want upgrades cleared you should book flights well in advance and base your flights around A/R availability so these can clear immediately.