Trial wifi still active?

Old Feb 1, 18, 7:42 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: WLG, BOS, YUL, YOW
Programs: NZ*GE, UA*G, Global Entry, NEXUS
Posts: 263
Trial wifi still active?

Hi all, is the trial wifi on NZ1/2, 5/6 still available to Elites, and does anyone know if it is also on NZ28/29 to/from IAH? In December it hugely saved us as we were meant to be on NZ6 which was cancelled, got moved to NZ2 but missed connecting flight and no replacements available til next day, so I booked a quick one-way on another airline while we were still airborne on NZ2. I'm hoping that doesn't happen again this coming week when I'm on NZ29 IAH-AKL.

thanks!
smanch is offline  
Old Feb 1, 18, 8:27 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Programs: NZ Koru
Posts: 5,650
The trail WiFi is currently only on selected 77Ws - it hasn't been fitted to any 77E or 789s yet, so IAH-AKL wont have it.
cavemanzk is offline  
Old Feb 1, 18, 8:55 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Programs: NZ*Elite *G, QF*G, SPG*Platinum, Accor*Platinum, Hilton*Gold
Posts: 995
Was on ZK-OKQ and it was not enabled. sbiddle might have an explanation to this.
dadig is offline  
Old Feb 1, 18, 11:34 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New Zealand (most of the time)
Programs: NZ Elite *G, HHonors Diamond, IHG Platinum Elite
Posts: 4,632
It wasn't automatically available to Elite's - it was selected pax on the flight. As already mentioned above It's only on 3x 77W aircraft not on the 789.

My understanding is the trial has been suspended for a couple of weeks now but there isn't anything more I'll say about that. 😀

Last edited by sbiddle; Feb 2, 18 at 12:44 am
sbiddle is online now  
Old Feb 2, 18, 12:18 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Programs: NZ *E
Posts: 149
Yeah the hidden WiFi network was gone from my flight Monday (even though I could see from the outside it was one of the 773s that was equipped with the satellite hardware)
samjnz is offline  
Old Apr 21, 18, 8:17 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: WLG, BOS, YUL, YOW
Programs: NZ*GE, UA*G, Global Entry, NEXUS
Posts: 263
Hi all, is the hidden wifi network back up? Flying NZ6 tomorrow and wondering if we'll have access as it's mostly a daytime flight now.
smanch is offline  
Old Apr 21, 18, 11:41 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New Zealand (most of the time)
Programs: NZ Elite *G, HHonors Diamond, IHG Platinum Elite
Posts: 4,632
It's been back for a while now. Some issues I raised resulted in the trial being suspended, but they have since been resolved.

OKB (777-200) also has WiFi now after it's recent re-paint and maintenance in Singapore.

Last edited by sbiddle; Apr 22, 18 at 12:08 am
sbiddle is online now  
Old Apr 23, 18, 2:55 am
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: WLG, BOS, YUL, YOW
Programs: NZ*GE, UA*G, Global Entry, NEXUS
Posts: 263
Working great over the Pacific, thanks! I hope this trial lasts awhile....
smanch is offline  
Old Jun 20, 18, 9:26 am
  #9  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Programs: AC SE100K-1MM, NH, DL, AA, Global Entry/Nexus, APEC..
Posts: 16,781
No wifi on recent NZ 7 and NZ 6 (both 777-300). Oddly, it still sows up as an offering on the IFE
24left is offline  
Old Jun 20, 18, 12:49 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New Zealand (most of the time)
Programs: NZ Elite *G, HHonors Diamond, IHG Platinum Elite
Posts: 4,632
Originally Posted by 24left View Post
No wifi on recent NZ 7 and NZ 6 (both 777-300). Oddly, it still sows up as an offering on the IFE
There are only 3 X 77W aircraft with it fitted. You obviously didn't have one of these aircraft.

You can check your aircraft rego before you fly if you want to know, and the app will send a notification as well.
sbiddle is online now  
Old Jun 21, 18, 12:29 pm
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Programs: AC SE100K-1MM, NH, DL, AA, Global Entry/Nexus, APEC..
Posts: 16,781
Originally Posted by sbiddle View Post
There are only 3 X 77W aircraft with it fitted. You obviously didn't have one of these aircraft.

You can check your aircraft rego before you fly if you want to know, and the app will send a notification as well.

Thanks and no worries. I was happy to sleep, I was just posting that there was none. Interestingly, on one flight, the crew announcement provided instructions on how to use it and of course that made little sense.

It was also on a page on the IFE, which I suspect may not as easy to change, but who knows.

To be clear, I've been spoiled with the wifi since 2015 on BR and LH and TK. AC, my main carrier, is very slowly installing it on their wide bodies. It seems to be on their 777-200s and most of their 777-300s (both versions), but it will take a long time until it is up and running on their fleet of 788 and 789s, and eventually their sub-fleet of 330s.

The worst wifi experiences have been NH and EY.
24left is offline  
Old Jul 7, 18, 5:46 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Auckland - New Zealand
Programs: NZ*G,Accor-Gold
Posts: 232
On NZ2 at the moment. $25 for the entire journey.
Craig Whitmore is offline  
Old Jul 7, 18, 5:52 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Auckland - New Zealand
Programs: NZ*G,Accor-Gold
Posts: 232

Craig Whitmore is offline  
Old Jul 7, 18, 6:12 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Auckland - New Zealand
Programs: NZ*G,Accor-Gold
Posts: 232
The WiFi Access Point shows up publicly a few minutes after take off and instructions on use are included on the IFE.As the captive portal intercepts all traffic until you pay some SSL applications complained before I connected.

It seems everyone has access to the WiFi so not an Elite/Business Class/Select few feature .
Craig Whitmore is offline  
Old Jul 7, 18, 1:18 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New Zealand (most of the time)
Programs: NZ Elite *G, HHonors Diamond, IHG Platinum Elite
Posts: 4,632
Right now Air NZ probably have one of the best performing WiFi products out there.
sbiddle is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: