Automated passport control. LAX

Reply

Old Dec 18, 17, 9:36 pm
  #1
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 3
Automated passport control. LAX

Hi
I have been looking on here and searched else where but canít find an answer. I have just renewed my passport and travelling to United States in January, I travel yearly to USA, but this is the first time with new passport. (Since APC has been available)
Can I still use APC, or do I need to go through normal immigration.
My wife was in the same situation a couple of months ago and had to use normal immigration.

Thanks
Tonyrsc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 17, 11:05 pm
  #2
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Australia
Programs: NZ *G
Posts: 5,108
My understanding is that the FIRST visit with the new passport requires the "normal" channel.....unfortunately I do not know what - if any - effect APC would have on that...
trooper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 17, 11:55 pm
  #3
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New Zealand (most of the time)
Programs: NZ Elite *G, HHonors Diamond, IHG Platinum Elite
Posts: 3,115
Everybody regardless of how many times you've visited uses a kiosk - there are no "manual processing queues" as such (and you can ignore the PA announcement Air NZ make because they simply haven't updated it in the 18+ months this has been in operation).

Once you have used the kiosk however you'll get X across your receipt it which means you'll be screened out at the next queue and sent to another CBP queues at the front and be subjected to having your photo and fingerprints taken again by CBP and asked 50 questions. Once you've done this the first time you won't be subjected to the same level of questions or data gathering by CBP on subsequent visits and (hopefully) won't get the X on your receipt.

For frequent travellers it's unfortunately a drama you have to endure with a new passport like I did this year. At least I'm sorted now for a few years!
trooper likes this.
sbiddle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 17, 1:18 am
  #4
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: TRG
Programs: NZ*E, UA*1K, QF G
Posts: 868
Originally Posted by sbiddle View Post
Everybody regardless of how many times you've visited uses a kiosk - there are no "manual processing queues" as such (and you can ignore the PA announcement Air NZ make because they simply haven't updated it in the 18+ months this has been in operation).
Not quite...
As an APEC card user I always skip the machines and go directly through the crew lane.
In my situation I will always receive and X from the machines so there is no point in my heading that way.
WLGNZ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 17, 1:19 am
  #5
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 3
Thanks that answers my question, the Air NZ announcement is confusing.
Tonyrsc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 17, 1:24 am
  #6
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New Zealand (most of the time)
Programs: NZ Elite *G, HHonors Diamond, IHG Platinum Elite
Posts: 3,115
Originally Posted by WLGNZ View Post
Not quite...
As an APEC card user I always skip the machines and go directly through the crew lane.
In my situation I will always receive and X from the machines so there is no point in my heading that way.
An APEC card is the obvious exception for those who have them.
sbiddle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 17, 3:07 am
  #7
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Programs: NZ *E, Accor Platinum, Hertz President’s Circle
Posts: 478
Worth every cent it costs. The US do not make visiting easy
Markhm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 17, 3:34 am
  #8
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Somewhere.
Programs: O6*G, SK*S, AB/RUBY, SBUX GOLD.
Posts: 2,747
Originally Posted by trooper View Post
My understanding is that the FIRST visit with the new passport requires the "normal" channel.....unfortunately I do not know what - if any - effect APC would have on that...
No, you have needed to enter once since 2008, it doesn't matter which passport.
trooper likes this.
miamiflyer8 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 17, 11:56 am
  #9
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New Zealand (most of the time)
Programs: NZ Elite *G, HHonors Diamond, IHG Platinum Elite
Posts: 3,115
Originally Posted by miamiflyer8 View Post
No, you have needed to enter once since 2008, it doesn't matter which passport.
I don't believe the 2008 date means anything now.

In the very early days of APC you needed to have visited the US once since 2008 on your current passport and ESTA to use APC. If you hadn't you needed to use the manual queues.

Now at airports such as LAX every ESTA holder (which in reality is going to be 99% of NZers) uses APC regardless of whether you've visited the US before and/or are on a new passport or ESTA. If you have visited the US before you'll have expedited entry, if you haven't you'll very likely get a big X on the paper slip and will be subject to further screening by CBP.

Air NZ make this confusing because their in flight messages now don't match up with how the process actually works.
sbiddle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 17, 2:38 pm
  #10
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Auckland NZ
Programs: NZ*E
Posts: 53
My wife and I will need new ESTAs as our existing ones will have expired when we next pass through LAX in May 2018. (We last visited USA in September this year). We have existing passports. Do we need to go in the "never been here before" queue at immigration, or do the renewed ESTAs automatically allow us to just join the "electronic" queue.

Incidentally, as compared with the rapid automatic immigration in New Zealand, where machines do all the work unless there is a problem, in both USA and Canada you are required to queue for the automatic machine approval, and then queue again for a "human" to check what the machine has done. So much for these advanced technological countries!
Ellice likes this.
zoovet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 17, 2:48 pm
  #11
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New Zealand (most of the time)
Programs: NZ Elite *G, HHonors Diamond, IHG Platinum Elite
Posts: 3,115
Originally Posted by zoovet View Post
My wife and I will need new ESTAs as our existing ones will have expired when we next pass through LAX in May 2018. (We last visited USA in September this year). We have existing passports. Do we need to go in the "never been here before" queue at immigration, or do the renewed ESTAs automatically allow us to just join the "electronic" queue.
As I posted above every ESTA customer uses the APC machines regardless of whether you've visited the US before on your current passport and/or ESTA.
sbiddle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 17, 12:43 am
  #12
Moderator, Hilton Honors
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: hopefully travelling
Programs: up in the air
Posts: 70,270
I always get an X and often find it takes longer to use the kiosk than a regular line.
Kiwi Flyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 17, 4:29 am
  #13
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Somewhere.
Programs: O6*G, SK*S, AB/RUBY, SBUX GOLD.
Posts: 2,747
At MIA (at least in Concourse J) the kiosks are truly a lifesaver as I'm not GE eligible (yet). Never taken more than 10min to get thru.
miamiflyer8 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 17, 12:25 pm
  #14
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New Zealand (most of the time)
Programs: NZ Elite *G, HHonors Diamond, IHG Platinum Elite
Posts: 3,115
Originally Posted by Kiwi Flyer View Post
I always get an X and often find it takes longer to use the kiosk than a regular line.
How do you even use a "regular line"? There is no such thing any longer at LAX or SFO that I'm aware of - if you arrive at either airport and are entering the US on an ESTA you are required to use a kiosk.

Have you asked why you get an X?
sbiddle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 17, 1:11 am
  #15
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Programs: Air NZ *E
Posts: 118
In the last 5 times Iíve visited/ transited LA in the last 3 years( always with esta, always J class so quickly off the plane) itís been the same. Use the kiosk, maybe get an X, maybe not. regards, end up an a queue with a bunch of other poor saps. Sometimes the X queue quicker than the other. Get asked same brief questions, though exhausted after queuing twice . Still takes forever. I try to fly through San Fran or Huston when ever possible.
Ellice likes this.
wackyflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:05 am.

Home - News - Forum - Hotel Reviews - Glossary - Contact Us - Airport Code Lookup - Terms of Use - Privacy Policy - Cookie Policy - Advertise on FlyerTalk - Archive - Top

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by Flyertalk.com. Copyright © 2017 FlyerTalk.com. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.