Modifying Flying Blue Award itinerary

Old Mar 7, 2023, 1:53 pm
Original Poster

Modifying Flying Blue Award itinerary

This is my first time traveling on a Flying Blue award. I have a round-trip from the US to CDG, with the outbound in (low award -- 55K) business and the return in (low award -- 30K) premium economy. The low business class inventory just became available on the return.

The FB desk is telling me that I cannot simply change the return segment (and pay the different in FB miles), but rather the whole itinerary must be repriced (which wouldn't make sense to do because there is no outbound itinerary in anything close to the 55K business class level).

Is this really how the program works? Is there any way around this? Sorry if this is obvious to those regularly using FB awards, but I was really surprised by this.

Thanks in advance.
Old Mar 7, 2023, 2:34 pm

Programs: FB Plat for Life, UAMP, BAEC, Accor ALL Platinum, Marriott silver, Hilton, Meli silver.
Originally Posted by flyerwma
(...) Is this really how the program works?.
Yes, it is.

Is there any way around this?.
Yes, but only for next time. Book 2 OW. You can cancel one without affecting the other.
irishguy28 and Squerez like this.
Old Mar 8, 2023, 2:34 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: KL Platinum; A3 Gold
Is this really how the program works?
See 3.2.8 of the Flying Blue T&Cs:
Attached Images  
Squerez likes this.
Old Mar 8, 2023, 2:59 am

Programs: FB, M&B, UA, AA
Indeed, always book one way tickets if that does not make it more expensive in miles. More flexibility.
Old Mar 10, 2023, 12:31 am
Suspended

Originally Posted by carnarvon
Yes, it is.

Yes, but only for next time. Book 2 OW. You can cancel one without affecting the other.
will the price in miles or taxes the same when booking 2 OW instead of 1 RT ?
Old Mar 10, 2023, 12:58 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Originally Posted by macaron95