A380

Old Feb 19, 09, 8:02 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: 22KM from TLV airport Terminal 3
Programs: LY Gold; BA Silver;
Posts: 2,093
A380

When will AF start to use the A380s?

Which routes will they first oprate?

THX; Gal.
gordo6 is offline  
Old Feb 19, 09, 8:53 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: WAS * LIH * CPT
Programs: SQ * UA * QF * AF
Posts: 147
Originally Posted by gordo6 View Post
When will AF start to use the A380s?

Which routes will they first oprate?

THX; Gal.
Hi!
According to airliners.net, the first delivery would be planned for October 2009 and the first destination (only for a few weeks) would be DXB.
Malonda is offline  
Old Feb 19, 09, 9:27 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: 22KM from TLV airport Terminal 3
Programs: LY Gold; BA Silver;
Posts: 2,093
Originally Posted by Malonda View Post
Hi!
According to airliners.net, the first delivery would be planned for October 2009 and the first destination (only for a few weeks) would be DXB.
Thanks! and what after those several weeks?
gordo6 is offline  
Old Feb 19, 09, 9:29 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Paris, France
Programs: United 1K - Starwood LifetimePlatinum - Air France/KLM Flying Blue Platinum - Singapore Airlines PPS
Posts: 4,826
JFK, LAX, and perhaps NRT would be logical destinations..
couscous is offline  
Old Feb 19, 09, 10:02 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: WAS * LIH * CPT
Programs: SQ * UA * QF * AF
Posts: 147
Originally Posted by couscous View Post
JFK, LAX, and perhaps NRT would be logical destinations..
According to airliners.net and its very reliable AF internal source, it should be SIN, NRT, JNB and IAD.
Malonda is offline  
Old Feb 20, 09, 2:12 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Paris, France
Programs: United 1K - Starwood LifetimePlatinum - Air France/KLM Flying Blue Platinum - Singapore Airlines PPS
Posts: 4,826
Originally Posted by Malonda View Post
According to airliners.net and its very reliable AF internal source, it should be SIN, NRT, JNB and IAD.
Star Alliance hubs only ?? Doesn't make any sense.
couscous is offline  
Old Feb 20, 09, 2:18 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stirling, Scotland
Programs: Amex Centurion - HHonors Diamond - ICH Platinum Roy. Amb. - SPG Gold - Flying Blue Blue - M&M FT
Posts: 1,742
I thought I'd read somnewhere they were perhaps going to use this on Montreal to start with.
pmcg is offline  
Old Feb 21, 09, 3:26 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: SYD
Programs: UA 1K, VA Platinum, IHG Platinum, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Gold, Coles FlyBuys
Posts: 2,768
I read that as well, but it was a long time ago... I suppose things could have changed?
TrayflowInUK is offline  
Old Feb 26, 09, 6:11 am
  #9  
ICA
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Asia-EU
Programs: DL Plat, JL Diamond, TK Elite, A3 Gold, IHG Plat Ambassador, Hyatt Diamond
Posts: 140
Originally Posted by couscous View Post
Star Alliance hubs only ?? Doesn't make any sense.
Yeah, that's funny!


A bit happy to read the NRT-CDG plan... but ...
only if I continue my loyalty to Flying Blue
after the April 1st story...
ICA is offline  
Old Feb 26, 09, 7:55 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Paris, France
Programs: United 1K - Starwood LifetimePlatinum - Air France/KLM Flying Blue Platinum - Singapore Airlines PPS
Posts: 4,826
Originally Posted by ICA View Post
A bit happy to read the NRT-CDG plan... but ...
only if I continue my loyalty to Flying Blue
after the April 1st story...
You can then fly the A380 on SQ out of CDG..
couscous is offline  
Old Feb 26, 09, 11:09 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Programs: FB Plat for life
Posts: 730
Originally Posted by couscous View Post
You can then fly the A380 on SQ out of CDG..
OT but does the SQ 380 flight will depart of T2 or T1. T1 in CDG is the *A terminal but has this terminal been homologated for the 380. On the otherside if it has to depart from T2 SQ won't have any lounge to offer in the terminal???
Pauillac is offline  
Old Feb 27, 09, 8:56 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ecosse
Programs: Flying Blue Platinum for Life, BMI Gold, EK Skywards Gold, BA Gold, IC Hotels Platinum Ambassador
Posts: 704
JNB would make sense. Everytime I take the 997 at midnight it is half empty whether it be a B772 or B77W yet the AF995 at around 2030 is packed to the gunnels. Just send one 380 out at 10pm would make all sorts of sense on the way up - of course it would mean leaving a 380 sat on the ground all day in JNB (difficult until they have a few) or a day flight from CDG which just won;t work.
chunk73 is offline  
Old Feb 27, 09, 10:08 am
  #13  
ICA
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Asia-EU
Programs: DL Plat, JL Diamond, TK Elite, A3 Gold, IHG Plat Ambassador, Hyatt Diamond
Posts: 140
Originally Posted by couscous View Post
You can then fly the A380 on SQ out of CDG..
Oh yeah! I'd love to
ICA is offline  
Old Mar 4, 09, 10:05 am
  #14  
Accor Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Confœderatio Helvetica
Programs: AY Platsku (OW Emerald), FB, SBB GA, Bonvoy Gold, ACCOR, Coop card, Aligro Card, Porsche Club Suisse
Posts: 2,920
I guess not many airports can yet handle the A380 as special gates has to be constructed for the purpose at each operating airport.

Doesn't the A380 also require longer runways?
Cupart is offline  
Old Mar 5, 09, 3:25 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,452
Originally Posted by Cupart View Post
Doesn't the A380 also require longer runways?
Emphatically no!

The reason is that A380 has so big wings. A380 wings have something like 156% the area of 747-400 wings. A380 is heavier than B747, but the weight of A380 is just 137 % of 747. This means that A380 can, thanks to its huge wing, stay in air while flying very slowly, and take off and land in a short distance.

Actually, even Airbus was surprised how short. Their aerodynamic predictions turned out to be far off the mark, and A380 wing gives 6 % better lift than hoped. When flight tests started, the Vref landing speed was thought to be 137 knots, but flight tests discovered that A380 could fly 4 knots slower than expected, at 133 knots.
chornedsnorkack is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread