FAQ 5A1 - Paris CDG Airport FAQ

Old Dec 16, 16, 5:50 am
  #1486  
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: PAR/BIA
Programs: FB Platinum, BAEC Silver, Eurostar Carte Blanche
Posts: 264
Originally Posted by Goldorak View Post
March 2017. I can't be more precise at that stage, sorry.
Don't worry, it is already quite precise
joyu12 is offline  
Old Mar 11, 17, 2:06 pm
  #1487  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: London
Posts: 877
Newbie question: Let's say I book separate tickets arriving on SQ (terminal 1) and leaving from terminal 2 on either AF or BA to LHR. If I check a bag (I assume they will not check it through), will I be able to stay airside or will I have to get landside to switch terminals? I.e. is there any stand in T1 where I could re-check the bag?
koroleon is offline  
Old Mar 11, 17, 7:16 pm
  #1488  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Accor 25+ Badge
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Paris, France
Programs: AF/KL Flying Blue Platinum for life/Club2000 Ultimate, Accor ALL Diamond
Posts: 14,995
Originally Posted by koroleon View Post
Newbie question: Let's say I book separate tickets arriving on SQ (terminal 1) and leaving from terminal 2 on either AF or BA to LHR. If I check a bag (I assume they will not check it through), will I be able to stay airside or will I have to get landside to switch terminals? I.e. is there any stand in T1 where I could re-check the bag?
If your bags are not checked through (very likely the case as you said), there's no way you can stay airside if you have to collect bags and re-check them with the other airline.
Goldorak is offline  
Old Mar 12, 17, 8:07 am
  #1489  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: London
Posts: 877
Originally Posted by Goldorak View Post
If your bags are not checked through (very likely the case as you said), there's no way you can stay airside if you have to collect bags and re-check them with the other airline.
Thanks for your reply. I was expecting it to be this way to be honest, but I was secretly hoping to be surprised.
koroleon is offline  
Old Mar 19, 17, 10:22 am
  #1490  
pxm
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 47
Will be traveling to CDG from ORD on AF next week. In an other thread someone mentioned that the PARAFE booths had been taken out as ADP is preparing to add a new system. Does anyone who has traveled recently know if the new boots are now functioning?
pxm is offline  
Old Mar 19, 17, 1:28 pm
  #1491  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Accor 25+ Badge
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Paris, France
Programs: AF/KL Flying Blue Platinum for life/Club2000 Ultimate, Accor ALL Diamond
Posts: 14,995
Originally Posted by pxm View Post
Will be traveling to CDG from ORD on AF next week. In an other thread someone mentioned that the PARAFE booths had been taken out as ADP is preparing to add a new system. Does anyone who has traveled recently know if the new boots are now functioning?
the PARAFE gates on departure in 2E are still there. It is the ones on arrival at 2E that have been removed. And, as of last week, the new ones were not installed yet.
Goldorak is offline  
Old Mar 19, 17, 8:02 pm
  #1492  
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: PAR/BIA
Programs: FB Platinum, BAEC Silver, Eurostar Carte Blanche
Posts: 264
Originally Posted by Goldorak View Post
the PARAFE gates on departure in 2E are still there. It is the ones on arrival at 2E that have been removed. And, as of last week, the new ones were not installed yet.
On a side note, when departing 2E last week the PARAFE gates were even slower than usual to read passport and fingerprints, plus it threw up even more bugs than usual (several parafe eligible passports were turned away from the machines). I hope the new machines will arrive quickly.
joyu12 is offline  
Old Mar 20, 17, 6:37 am
  #1493  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Accor 25+ Badge
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Paris, France
Programs: AF/KL Flying Blue Platinum for life/Club2000 Ultimate, Accor ALL Diamond
Posts: 14,995
Originally Posted by joyu12 View Post
I hope the new machines will arrive quickly.
We all hope...
Goldorak is offline  
Old Mar 20, 17, 2:31 pm
  #1494  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: San Francisco
Programs: UA MileagePlus, AAdvantage, Hyatt Gold Passport, HHonors
Posts: 791
I am flying BES-CDG-SFO next week, and I am arriving at 2F and departing from 2E...my layover is about 3 hours, so I was hoping to maybe go use a priority pass lounge in 2A. Is it possible to access the MLL lounge in 2A if I'm not flying out of 2A?
kthpence is offline  
Old Mar 20, 17, 7:08 pm
  #1495  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Accor 25+ Badge
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Paris, France
Programs: AF/KL Flying Blue Platinum for life/Club2000 Ultimate, Accor ALL Diamond
Posts: 14,995
Originally Posted by kthpence View Post
I am flying BES-CDG-SFO next week, and I am arriving at 2F and departing from 2E...my layover is about 3 hours, so I was hoping to maybe go use a priority pass lounge in 2A. Is it possible to access the MLL lounge in 2A if I'm not flying out of 2A?
No.
Goldorak is offline  
Old Mar 21, 17, 2:06 am
  #1496  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: San Francisco
Programs: UA MileagePlus, AAdvantage, Hyatt Gold Passport, HHonors
Posts: 791
Originally Posted by Goldorak View Post
No.
Fantastic
kthpence is offline  
Old Mar 24, 17, 4:22 pm
  #1497  
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Bamberg, Germany
Programs: DL DM/1.9MM
Posts: 317
This is just a quick comment that I was in the new 2G lounge yesterday and it is perfect. One of the best lounges AF has to offer right now (and on par/better than 2E, and definitively better than 2F...).
cygnus is offline  
Old Mar 24, 17, 5:41 pm
  #1498  
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: UK/FR
Programs: FlyingBlue Platinum, Hertz PC, AVIS PC, Accor Gold, IHG Gold
Posts: 868
I will potentially be in the following scenario: Arrive T2E gates K, 5 hours connection and departure from T2E gates L.
The AF lounge at gates L seems a bit crappy, is it possible to go use the AF lounge gates K and then head over the gates L ?
Mirk is offline  
Old Mar 25, 17, 3:20 am
  #1499  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Accor 25+ Badge
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Paris, France
Programs: AF/KL Flying Blue Platinum for life/Club2000 Ultimate, Accor ALL Diamond
Posts: 14,995
Originally Posted by Mirk View Post
I will potentially be in the following scenario: Arrive T2E gates K, 5 hours connection and departure from T2E gates L.
The AF lounge at gates L seems a bit crappy, is it possible to go use the AF lounge gates K and then head over the gates L ?
No. And the lounge in L is far from being crappy. Not as nice as M lounge of course. The main problem of L today is not-as-good food offering as in K or M.
May I ask why you think you will arrive in K and leave from L, because this is far from being sure (unless you fly on an A380 departing after 2 pm and in this case, it is sure that it is from L).
Goldorak is offline  
Old Mar 25, 17, 10:37 am
  #1500  
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: UK/FR
Programs: FlyingBlue Platinum, Hertz PC, AVIS PC, Accor Gold, IHG Gold
Posts: 868
Originally Posted by Goldorak View Post
May I ask why you think you will arrive in K and leave from L, because this is far from being sure (unless you fly on an A380 departing after 2 pm and in this case, it is sure that it is from L).
You got it for the L K is more of a probability bet.
I will either arrive to K or L, the later is no questions asked for the lounge while if I arrive K, lounge there is tempting since I land just before lunch and they offer good warm food
Mirk is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: