AF web-site

Old Mar 30, 03, 4:41 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: SFO, USA - UA PE, *A Gold, AF Gold
Posts: 164
AF web-site

When going to AF's web-site most of the time I am getting a

Error 404
HTTP Web Server: Lotus Notes Exception - Entry not found in index

Lotus-Domino Release 5.0.9a

This has now been for several month. Do they never check their sites?
Very strange. When it comes to the www presence AF comes out last.
Axelerator is offline  
Old Mar 30, 03, 5:58 pm
  #2  
TGV
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris, EU
Programs: FB Life Platinum
Posts: 628
I have the same message quite often.

And I have not found any computer logic in this display : it appears with Netscape, Explorer or Opera, but if you try some time later with the same browser the web site works properly.

I agree they should do something for their web-site, and, at least, make some improvements from time to time !
TGV is offline  
Old Mar 31, 03, 3:03 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Montreux CH
Programs: FB Platinum, M&M FTL, BA Blue
Posts: 9,225
Well, to be honest I find it one of the most horribly user-unfriendly airline sites I have ever used.
Concerto is offline  
Old Mar 31, 03, 3:30 am
  #4  
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: CDG
Programs: I used to be Plat, but now I'm not. Now I'm just Gold. Lucky if I keep that.
Posts: 4,029
As I've stated in other posts, I wrote AF a long letter with particular attention to the horrible, horrible web site. I received a response indicating that they would be updating in 2003.

However, this is the most frequent complaint I hear from feelow AF passenger (with CDG transfers running a close second).

Perhaps if more people wrote to Air France USA about this....

ps: I would advise writing to AF USA because they will actually respond to written correspondance. I wish I could say the same for their Paris-based office.
dctorres is offline  
Old Apr 3, 03, 8:35 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Reality, Freedom • Fly Tarom •
Programs: AF FB Platinum (F+ Rouge Vintage®) / Hertz Five Star / SNCF Grand Voyageur Le Club
Posts: 9,832
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by Axelerator:
When going to AF's web-site most of the time I am getting a

Error 404
HTTP Web Server: Lotus Notes Exception - Entry not found in index

Lotus-Domino Release 5.0.9a

This has now been for several month. Do they never check their sites?
Very strange. When it comes to the www presence AF comes out last.
</font>
To work around this problem, which I also encounter frequently, I click on the "Site Map" or "Plan du Site" link (bottom of page) first and navigate from there - works much more smoothly.
blairvanhorn is offline  
Old Apr 3, 03, 10:06 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: BOS. Formerly DL PM, GM, now nothing
Posts: 605
I've hadthe same trouble with the AF website.

Two workarounds: I go straight to the US website.

Second, I also use the handy site map.
HRGM is offline  
Old Apr 4, 03, 3:08 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Napa, California - DL demoted to xx, AF+ Rouge, FB Platinum
Programs: Air France, Delta
Posts: 511
I also have the same problem, and have told AF about it. We are Mac platorm since we believe it is a better sytem, but we have a lonely PC with Windows. I don't have a problem on the PC, so I don't know if it is related to the Mac computers?
I have also tried different web browser such as Explorer, Netscape and Safari (Apple's new and very good browser).

I have another interesting problem. If I wish to receive a price online or book a ticket, I can to do when I'm on my dsl line. But if I go over my modem, I don't have any problems. I don't know why that is happen?
GrapeDane is offline  
Old Apr 7, 03, 2:56 am
  #8  
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: CDG
Programs: I used to be Plat, but now I'm not. Now I'm just Gold. Lucky if I keep that.
Posts: 4,029
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by GrapeDane:

I have another interesting problem. If I wish to receive a price online or book a ticket, I can to do when I'm on my dsl line. But if I go over my modem, I don't have any problems. I don't know why that is happen?
</font>
That is indeed an odd problem. I have no problems doing that with an ADSL connection.
dctorres is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: