CDG : entering airside a different terminal than one's BP

Old Dec 29, 16, 2:05 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: BSL/SXB
Programs: AFKL Plat STE+ (LT), OZ Diam+ *G (LT), QF Gold OWS (LTG 80%)
Posts: 323
CDG : entering airside a different terminal than one's BP

Hi all

It's been a long time CDG stopped being my home base.
I have an AY-operated flight departing from 2D around noon.
And I would arrive at 2F with AF-operated in the wee hours.

My question : is it possible to transfer to 2C (to sample CX lounge but having a 2D BP), then retransfer airside to 2D or exiting landside from 2C without being stopped in the process ?

I know it's possible to navigate through 2E/K, 2E/L and /M by asking nicely.
But since the new organisation of 2C 2A, things might be different.

Thank you !
mogoy is offline  
Old Dec 29, 16, 2:14 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Accor 25+ Badge
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Paris, France
Programs: AF/KL Flying Blue Platinum for life/Club2000 Ultimate, Accor ALL Diamond
Posts: 14,783
Simple answer = NO
Goldorak is offline  
Old Dec 29, 16, 6:48 pm
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hong Kong
Programs: FB AF Silver, BA Gold
Posts: 11,921
CX lounge is in 2A not 2C. But that makes no difference, you cannot go airside to a non-Schengen terminal from a Schengen terminal: 2F is Schengen and so is 2D-Schengen for the AY flight, while 2A and C are non-Schengen.

Last edited by brunos; Dec 30, 16 at 4:13 am
brunos is offline  
Old Dec 29, 16, 6:53 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Programs: Flying Blue Platinum; Marriott Bonvoy Titanium; Hilton Gold
Posts: 609
I know the pain, when I lived in Finland I often hated going through security twice at CDG when transferring from an AF flight from US / China arriving to 2E to Finnair flight to Helsinky from 2D. I had no problem entering secure area at a different terminal that is connected airside to your terminal (or even without BP, in case you need to recheckin if you're transferring -.-), but at the end, to get to 2D Schengen side, you will still have to exit the secure area and go through security again.

Also there are good chances of your baggage getting a delayed by a day -.-
Sjondorn is offline  
Old Dec 30, 16, 1:41 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Programs: FB Plat for Life, UAMP, BAEC, Accor Live Limitless Gold, Marriott silver, Hilton
Posts: 2,371
Originally Posted by brunos View Post
CX lounge is in 2A not 2C. But that makes no difference, you cannot go airside to another terminal that that of your flight.
Isn't the CX lounge in the new building connecting 2A and 2C?
carnarvon is offline  
Old Dec 30, 16, 4:09 am
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hong Kong
Programs: FB AF Silver, BA Gold
Posts: 11,921
Originally Posted by carnarvon View Post
Isn't the CX lounge in the new building connecting 2A and 2C?
Indeed.
And apologies, I never realized that you could roam freely airside departure 2A and 2C.
brunos is offline  
Old Dec 30, 16, 4:36 am
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: BSL/SXB
Programs: AFKL Plat STE+ (LT), OZ Diam+ *G (LT), QF Gold OWS (LTG 80%)
Posts: 323
Thank you all, for the replies.

Seems, I would not be able to hoplounge this time.
A pity coz Shelt'air lounge is a bit so so.
mogoy is offline  
Old Dec 30, 16, 4:47 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Programs: FB Plat for Life, UAMP, BAEC, Accor Live Limitless Gold, Marriott silver, Hilton
Posts: 2,371
Originally Posted by mogoy View Post
A pity coz Shelt'air lounge is a bit so so.
How long has it been since you have been there last?

Had it been renovated with the entrance moved airside (but before passport control)?
carnarvon is offline  
Old Dec 30, 16, 4:48 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Programs: Eurostar Carte Blanche, SBB-CFF-FFS GA-AG, SNCF Grand Voyageur LeClub
Posts: 6,362
Originally Posted by mogoy View Post
A pity coz Shelt'air lounge is a bit so so.
Oh, has it improved then?
San Gottardo is offline  
Old Dec 30, 16, 5:52 am
  #10  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: BSL/SXB
Programs: AFKL Plat STE+ (LT), OZ Diam+ *G (LT), QF Gold OWS (LTG 80%)
Posts: 323
Originally Posted by San Gottardo View Post
Oh, has it improved then?
Can't say for sure, I have known that lounge in multiple avatar since the AF days. But I saw some reports on flight-report.com. And it seems dated and underwhelming but not so crowded.
mogoy is offline  
Old Dec 30, 16, 9:42 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Programs: DL DM, SPG Plat 100/LT Gold, Marriott Plat, National Executive Elite
Posts: 2,524
Related question.

If I fly DL from US-CDG and then have a CDG-AMS connection on KL, is there any way for me to access the huge AF salon in 2E (the one with the Clarins Spa and entrance inbetween the luxury clothing stores)?

I bet the CDG-AMS leaves from 2F and the underground lounge there is decidedly small and has poorer offerings. Also no Clarins Spa. Any advice on how to navigate this would be appreciated.

Note: I am meeting a disabled friend in CDG and we are continuing on CDG-AMS together on the same flight. He is flying CAI-CDG on AF and our connection times almost perfectly overlap in CDG (long connection, so I said I would meet him there and spend time with him in the lounge).
btonkid12345 is offline  
Old Dec 30, 16, 10:05 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Programs: Eurostar Carte Blanche, SBB-CFF-FFS GA-AG, SNCF Grand Voyageur LeClub
Posts: 6,362
Originally Posted by btonkid12345 View Post
Related question.

If I fly DL from US-CDG and then have a CDG-AMS connection on KL, is there any way for me to access the huge AF salon in 2E (the one with the Clarins Spa and entrance inbetween the luxury clothing stores)?

I bet the CDG-AMS leaves from 2F and the underground lounge there is decidedly small and has poorer offerings. Also no Clarins Spa. Any advice on how to navigate this would be appreciated.

Note: I am meeting a disabled friend in CDG and we are continuing on CDG-AMS together on the same flight. He is flying CAI-CDG on AF and our connection times almost perfectly overlap in CDG (long connection, so I said I would meet him there and spend time with him in the lounge).
Unfortunately not. You'll only be allowed to use the lounges in the terminal you depart from.
San Gottardo is offline  
Old Dec 30, 16, 3:58 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Programs: FB Plat for Life, UAMP, BAEC, Accor Live Limitless Gold, Marriott silver, Hilton
Posts: 2,371
Originally Posted by mogoy View Post
Can't say for sure, I have known that lounge in multiple avatar since the AF days. But I saw some reports on flight-report.com. And it seems dated and underwhelming but not so crowded.
If you had answered my question, I would have been able to help.
carnarvon is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: