Business Class seats changed at check-in

Old Aug 16, 12, 8:13 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UA 1K, AA EXPLAT, UA MM, DL Gold
Posts: 143
Business Class seats changed at check-in

I haven't flown Air France in years and was hoping for some guidance from the experts. We are on Delta business class award tickets flying Air France from BOS-CDG and the window and aisle business class seats we had reserved on the 747 for more than 3 months were changed to center section middle seat plus aisle. I am unable to change the seat at check-in --- the flight is tomorrow. Any other options? I called the US customer service number and they were pretty much worthless, saying that Air France doesn't allow them to touch the booking within 48 hours. I am Sky Team Elite Plus. I'm just frustrated that we were moved and really wanted the window and aisle. Is a last minute seat move pretty standard with Air France?
brysal is offline  
Old Aug 17, 12, 2:37 am
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist, Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Somewhere between 0 and 13,000 metres high
Programs: AF/KL Life Plat, BA GfL+CCR, Aclub Plat, Hilton Diam, Marriott Gold, blablablah, etc
Posts: 25,792
Originally Posted by brysal View Post
I haven't flown Air France in years and was hoping for some guidance from the experts. We are on Delta business class award tickets flying Air France from BOS-CDG and the window and aisle business class seats we had reserved on the 747 for more than 3 months were changed to center section middle seat plus aisle. I am unable to change the seat at check-in --- the flight is tomorrow. Any other options? I called the US customer service number and they were pretty much worthless, saying that Air France doesn't allow them to touch the booking within 48 hours. I am Sky Team Elite Plus. I'm just frustrated that we were moved and really wanted the window and aisle. Is a last minute seat move pretty standard with Air France?
Did you select them on the Air France website or on the Delta one.

- If the latter, you will find dozens of threads on this forum confirming that in fact you never had any seat selected. DL shows inexistant seatmaps on AF codeshares, does not efficiently communicate the selected seats to the AF system (the two are different) and vice versa. So in short, you thought you had selected some seats but you hadn't.

- If the former, then I would guess change of aircraft configuration 744s are undergoing a major refurbishment as their shelf life has been extended and will get the latest AF product in every cabin, so if your flight was scheduled to be operated by an 'old' version and was moved to a 'new' one or vice versa, seat selections could be changed.

The reservation people are right by the way, at t-48h, control is taken away from reservations to be transferred to operations, if they had indicated any seat at that point it would have been ignored by the system. It is the same with most airline. You can check in online at t-24 from BOS to select your seats.
orbitmic is offline  
Old Aug 17, 12, 2:51 am
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Netherlands
Programs: Platinum: KL Gold: A3 Rust: BA
Posts: 25,306
Originally Posted by orbitmic View Post
- If the latter, you will find dozens of threads on this forum confirming that in fact you never had any seat selected. DL shows inexistant seatmaps on AF codeshares, does not efficiently communicate the selected seats to the AF system (the two are different) and vice versa. So in short, you thought you had selected some seats but you hadn't.
Just as a heads-up, it is now possible to select seats on AF via DL.com, as confirmed in the most recent thread on this long-running saga:

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/delta...ts-dl-com.html
irishguy28 is offline  
Old Aug 17, 12, 4:53 am
  #4  
formerly B7e7US
Marriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Santo Domingo, Dom. Rep. / Washington, DC
Programs: AA/DL PLT, Priority Pass, Marriott Gold, Thalys Gold, JetBlue Mosaic, Hertz PC, Other shiny cards
Posts: 4,170
Originally Posted by orbitmic View Post
- If the former, then I would guess change of aircraft configuration 744s are undergoing a major refurbishment as their shelf life has been extended and will get the latest AF product in every cabin, so if your flight was scheduled to be operated by an 'old' version and was moved to a 'new' one or vice versa, seat selections could be changed.
- If there was an equipment change to a refurbished 747, there would be no middle seat, as the middle seat section now has only two seats.

Originally Posted by orbitmic View Post
The reservation people are right by the way, at t-48h, control is taken away from reservations to be transferred to operations, if they had indicated any seat at that point it would have been ignored by the system. It is the same with most airline. You can check in online at t-24 from BOS to select your seats.
I'm not very familiar with other European Airlines besides AF/KLM, but I have not seen any other airline ignoring seat requests at t-48. DL, AA, US, CO, B6, KE usually let you select a seat until airport control, often at T-3.
SDQBound is offline  
Old Aug 17, 12, 6:36 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Heraklion, Greece
Posts: 6,936
Originally Posted by B7e7US View Post
...I'm not very familiar with other European Airlines besides AF/KLM, but I have not seen any other airline ignoring seat requests at t-48. DL, AA, US, CO, B6, KE usually let you select a seat until airport control, often at T-3.
Has happened to me with a paid business ticket on a LH flight: from aisle to middle seat, yak!
KLouis is offline  
Old Aug 17, 12, 7:22 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Programs: FB-LTPE
Posts: 506
Originally Posted by irishguy28 View Post
Just as a heads-up, it is now possible to select seats on AF via DL.com, as confirmed in the most recent thread on this long-running saga:

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/delta...ts-dl-com.html
I actually read this thread differently - noticing so many still had problems since the thread was posted. So I would not count on any seat selections made through DL yet.
NB00 is offline  
Old Aug 17, 12, 7:26 am
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist, Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Somewhere between 0 and 13,000 metres high
Programs: AF/KL Life Plat, BA GfL+CCR, Aclub Plat, Hilton Diam, Marriott Gold, blablablah, etc
Posts: 25,792
Originally Posted by B7e7US View Post
- If there was an equipment change to a refurbished 747, there would be no middle seat, as the middle seat section now has only two seats.



I'm not very familiar with other European Airlines besides AF/KLM, but I have not seen any other airline ignoring seat requests at t-48. DL, AA, US, CO, B6, KE usually let you select a seat until airport control, often at T-3.
Like KLouis i have had that answer in the past with LH and also with BA (I could change my seat selection online but it would be explicitly ignored at check in and I would be put in my previously booked seat). I think DL has a different it system which integrates the reservation and operational systems so indeed when you select seats even when the seat is open for check in you are automatically sending the information to both systems, maybe it is the same with the other airlines you mention except KE where I suspect that if you manage any assignment change it was made manually (KE has the worst system I know, I have had my seat assignments changed very regularly, especially when they randomly decide to transform part of the J cabin into an extra Y cabin!!)

@irishguy28, thanks for the link, very good to know indeed, although personally I'd still recommend checking on the AF system as it is definitely not working everytime (have a forthcoming mixed AF/DL trip and information communicated correctly from AF to DL but not the other way round and I have had to change my seat on the AF website. Complex itinerary so not sure if it makes a difference...)
orbitmic is offline  
Old Aug 17, 12, 7:43 am
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Netherlands
Programs: Platinum: KL Gold: A3 Rust: BA
Posts: 25,306
Originally Posted by NB00 View Post
I actually read this thread differently - noticing so many still had problems since the thread was posted. So I would not count on any seat selections made through DL yet.
I guess, as with so many things discussed on FT, we should ALWAYS add the YMMV proviso: "Now Able to Choose AF Seats on DL.com - YMMV"
irishguy28 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: