Does the A380 board J from the lounge in JFK and CDG?

Reply

Old Jun 12, 12, 10:25 am
  #1
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,673
Does the A380 board J from the lounge in JFK and CDG?

Title says (asks) it all.
jamienbaker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 12, 10:30 am
  #2
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: CDG/AMS
Programs: FB Plat for life, FB PC, M&M FT, Hertz 5*, Mas Gold, Best Western Diamond (+ many low tier cards)
Posts: 2,597
Originally Posted by jamienbaker View Post
Title says (asks) it all.
No and no. Separate gates though.
Zembla is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 12, 10:40 am
  #3
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,673
Originally Posted by Zembla View Post
No and no. Separate gates though.
Pity. Not since Concorde have I had the good fortune of lounge boarding. I was hoping to share the experience with my kids. Thank you for the quick reply.
jamienbaker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 12, 4:53 pm
  #4
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 104
ORD

If you happen to be X ORD, the A332 boards from the lounge.
bucknjeff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 12, 12:47 am
  #5
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Programs: FB Plat for Life, UAMP, BAEC, Le Cclub Accorhotels Plat, Marriott, Hilton
Posts: 1,827
Originally Posted by jamienbaker View Post
Pity. Not since Concorde have I had the good fortune of lounge boarding. I was hoping to share the experience with my kids. Thank you for the quick reply.
Fly with Emirates from BNE and you will experience this pleasure again.
carnarvon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 12, 5:24 am
  #6
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,673
Originally Posted by carnarvon View Post
Fly with Emirates from BNE and you will experience this pleasure again.
Interestingly, I flew EK in F from DXB, and while there was a second story boarding zone close to the lounge, there was a considerable queue given no agents showed up to process passengers. I stood around for a bit, then left and boarded with Y, then had to climb the stairs up to F. The cabin crew were quite thrown off and initially didn't believe I was ticketed in F, but I still made it on before other F passengers. A very disappointing start, but I suppose the exercise did me well.
jamienbaker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 12, 7:32 am
  #7
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 69,098
FRA is set up to board some LH flights from lounges, including their business class lounges for intraEU flights, but I've never done it or even seen it happen.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 12, 5:12 am
  #8
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NTE
Programs: Flying Blue Platinum
Posts: 51
You could board from the lounge in IAD, but I think this has been reconfigured now? It is a very pleasent experience.
Boatboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 12, 6:41 am
  #9
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Accor 25+ Badge
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Paris, France
Programs: AF/KL Flying Blue Platinum for life Ultimate, UA Mileage plus, Le Club Accorhotels platinum
Posts: 10,167
Originally Posted by jamienbaker View Post
Pity. Not since Concorde have I had the good fortune of lounge boarding. I was hoping to share the experience with my kids. Thank you for the quick reply.
In JFK T1, there is no direct boarding from AF lounge. Concorde was boarding from gate 1 IIRC, so a 50 m walk from the lounge. May be there was a lounge boarding in the former terminal AF was using before T1 ?

Originally Posted by Boatboy View Post
You could board from the lounge in IAD, but I think this has been reconfigured now? It is a very pleasent experience.
This was in the former AF lounge in B concourse. Now, AF/KL use the ex-NW lounge in concourse A and but you don't board directly from the lounge, although I'm pretty sure it was the case for KL flights when they were handled by NW. Now, AF & KL birds are parked just across the lounge (on the other face of the terminal).

Originally Posted by bucknjeff View Post
If you happen to be X ORD, the A332 boards from the lounge.
Not always unfortunately. On the 3 last times I was in this lounge, only once AF plane was at gate M7, allowing boarding from the lounge. The 2 other times, the gate was occupied by EI and LX and AF used M3 (and KL M5).
Goldorak is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 12, 5:18 pm
  #10
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 191
How bout at IAD? Was reading some reviews of the "new" AF lounge at Dulles from 2010 that specifically mentioned boarding directly from the lounge. But more recent reviews haven't stated such and one said something like, "it was nice because the lounge was so close to the gate.". Having never done the direct boarding, I would like to try.

Jaminbaker- I am envious, one of my big regrets in life is that when US had a Concorde award for a very (very) short period that I didn't take advantage of it....though I must say the memories of Australia and flying there in J instead are ones I wouldn't want to be doing without either!
Clay Clayton is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 12, 5:21 pm
  #11
FlyerTalk Evangelist, Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Somewhere between 0 and 13,000 metres high
Programs: AF/KL Life Plat, BA CCR, A3 G, Aclub Plat, Hilton D, IC Plat Amb, Starwood G, blablablah, etc
Posts: 20,537
Originally Posted by Clay Clayton View Post
How bout at IAD? Was reading some reviews of the "new" AF lounge at Dulles from 2010 that specifically mentioned boarding directly from the lounge. But more recent reviews haven't stated such and one said something like, "it was nice because the lounge was so close to the gate.". Having never done the direct boarding, I would like to try.
Err... do you realise that the post just above yours answers this question?
orbitmic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 12, 9:10 am
  #12
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 191
I am apparently blind. Sorry about that.
Clay Clayton is offline  
Reply With Quote
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:34 pm.

Home - News - Forum - Hotel Reviews - Glossary - Contact Us - Airport Code Lookup - Terms of Use - Privacy Policy - Cookie Policy - Advertise on FlyerTalk - Archive - Top

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by Flyertalk.com. Copyright 2017 FlyerTalk.com. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.