AC web site has crashed!

Old Apr 25, 08, 2:46 pm
  #16  
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC *P
Posts: 1,807
Originally Posted by Hogtowner View Post
Aeroplan has been down (and continues to be) for 4 or 5 hours.
AP has been down since 1am EST today.
mudd_stuffin is offline  
Old Apr 25, 08, 3:55 pm
  #17  
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: YYC
Programs: AC*SE100K
Posts: 243
Not that I'm surprised, but really AP is big enough that they should have redundancy systems to get it back up in a more timely manner than this.

I wanted to book through AP today and while I could use the opportunity to (maybe?!?) get a booking for free with an agent, the wait was just too long and I gave up. Also figured I should leave space for those with non-discretionary travel issues.

I also like how the 'error message' on the website has changed from "maintenance" to "Due to a technical issue, our web site is currently unavailable" during the day. Classy.
YYCYYZ is offline  
Old Apr 25, 08, 4:17 pm
  #18  
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: YYZ/NYC/LHR/MEL
Programs: SPG-Platinum. A3 Gold (ex-Aeroplan-E50), Skymiles Gold, Hertz Gold, HH Gold
Posts: 308
Originally Posted by zkzkz View Post
www.aircanada.com seems to be down, I just get errors when I try to log in.
Of course it's down - today must be the yearly 'customer service training seminar', and even the IT rocket-scientists are attending...
sam33 is offline  
Old Apr 25, 08, 7:15 pm
  #19  
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: YWG
Programs: UA 1K, AC E, *G x2, BMI Silver, SPG Platinum, Hyatt Diamond, PC Platinum, Hilton Gold
Posts: 1,260
Oatmeal stuck in the servers

But how can I get my bonus Aeroplan Pointss from my Oatmeal boxes I am throwing out tonight!


Sorry, the Aeroplan site is currently down for routine maintenance and will be unavailable for a few hours. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this may cause you. Be sure to come back later and try again.
Golden Toque is offline  
Old Apr 25, 08, 8:07 pm
  #20  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Programs: AC,UA,AA,DL,Hyatt,Hilton,Marriott,etc.
Posts: 19
Bye Bye IBM

I recall that IBM runs the AC site.

http://www.crn.com/it-channel/18825564

This type of thing has happened before.

AC -Its well past high time to find a better IT service provider...
airbuff is offline  
Old Apr 25, 08, 8:12 pm
  #21  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: YYC
Posts: 21,568
Originally Posted by airbuff View Post
I recall that IBM runs the AC site.
And of course these incompetents who are in charge of IT at AC can hide behind IBM. As they say, nobody ever got fired by hiring IBM.

Although this time it's real bad, dragging on forever. Still not up as of now. Big note on the aircanada.com site.

Is it still that Lise person who is the who who ought to have got fired ages ago, but didn't?
Stranger is offline  
Old Apr 25, 08, 8:26 pm
  #22  
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 974
Originally Posted by nolens volans View Post
Another AC crash ! Thank heaven the IT people aren't involved in flying the planes.

(I hope. )
Or fixing the planes.

I HOPE !!!
thebobmc is offline  
Old Apr 25, 08, 9:39 pm
  #23  
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 466
Originally Posted by thebobmc View Post
Or fixing the planes.

I HOPE !!!
or it could be a good thing because they'd take their time?!
tyassine is offline  
Old Apr 25, 08, 9:55 pm
  #24  
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Programs: AC*G; BD*G; CX; SPG Plat; Hyatt Diam
Posts: 100
i have heard that the issue stems from their IT vendor and requires full restoration...poor choice of IT supplier but not much else AC can do at the moment
flyyyz is offline  
Old Apr 25, 08, 10:03 pm
  #25  
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Shanghai
Programs: CX Diamond, HH Diamond, A-Club Gold, Hyatt Platinum, Shangri-la Jade, Intercon Gold Ambassador
Posts: 1,370
Originally Posted by Stranger View Post
Is it still that Lise person who is the who who ought to have got fired ages ago, but didn't?
Yep!

--> http://www.aircanada.com/shared/imag...fournel_hr.jpg
ACORD is offline  
Old Apr 25, 08, 10:10 pm
  #26  
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Shanghai
Programs: CX Diamond, HH Diamond, A-Club Gold, Hyatt Platinum, Shangri-la Jade, Intercon Gold Ambassador
Posts: 1,370
An outage of this length might imply some kind of data corruption issue:

Check your balances!
ACORD is offline  
Old Apr 25, 08, 10:13 pm
  #27  
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: YYZ most of the time
Programs: AC SE100K MM, UA*1K, Princess Elite
Posts: 3,798
Maybe when it comes back up I'll have credit for my missing flight segment.
yyz_atc_qq is offline  
Old Apr 25, 08, 10:16 pm
  #28  
ALW
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 8,521
Does this

* NOTICE: aircanada.com member sign in is temporarily unavailable. Customers may continue to make regular bookings on aircanada.com by continuing as a guest on the Review Flight Details page.
If you are an Air Canada Flight Pass holder looking to make a credit booking please try again later or for travel within the next 12 hours, you may contact Air Canada Reservations for assistance. Kindly have your Aeroplan number or Flight Pass Reference number available.
typically includes Latitude-Pass upgrades?

=aw
ALW is offline  
Old Apr 25, 08, 10:46 pm
  #29  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: YYC
Posts: 21,568
Originally Posted by ACORD View Post

Gross. Couldn't you make the picture a bit smaller?

Seriously, does that look like the face of a computer-literate person? Not nearly nerdy enough.
Stranger is offline  
Old Apr 25, 08, 10:48 pm
  #30  
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Closer to YTZ
Programs: Fairmont Platinum | AC Gate Lice Status | VIPorter
Posts: 2,554
Thumbs down

Errorplan site was unusable for me a few days ago, whereas in the past it was not. Attempting to look up and view reward flight details would return both AJAX and fatal server errors. I gave up in the end.

What kind of national company has its site go down for this long?
Truly another AC embarassment, more negative PR. I hope a wag from the Globe & Mail will pick up on this and mention it.

Sorry


Due to a technical issue, our web site is currently unavailable. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this may cause you. Be sure to come back later and try again.


Thank you for your patience.

Tangoer is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread