Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

The Air Canada Early Status Recognition Thread

The Air Canada Early Status Recognition Thread

    Hide Wikipost
Old Nov 9, 19, 4:17 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: Bohemian1
Wiki Link
2017 Altitude Status

Here are the Reduced eUpgrade Credits selection for Bundle 1 & Bundle 2 for each Early Status Recognition Altitude Status:
Code:
 E35K E50K
 Bundle 1: 5 eUpgrade (instead of 10) Bundle 1: 5 eUpgrade (instead of 30)
 Bundle 2: 5 eUpgrade (instead of 20) Bundle 2: 5 eUpgrade (instead of 10)
 
 E75K SE100K
 Bundle 1: 10 eUpgrade (instead of 40) Bundle 1: 10 eUpgrade (instead of 50)
 Bundle 2: 5 eUpgrade (instead of 15) Bundle 2: 5 eUpgrade (instead of 20)
Package Received Timeframe:

E35K - 5 to 6 Business Days (Based in YYZ)
E50K - 7 Business Days (Based in YYZ)
E75K - 10 Business Days (Based in YYZ)
E100K - 14 Business Days (Based in YVR)
Print Wikipost

Old Jun 2, 12, 10:00 pm
  #781  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: YYZ/YVR
Programs: ACMM SE100K; *G
Posts: 1,524
Originally Posted by devriedd View Post
Hi All
I think I know the answer already, but am hopeful I am wrong!

I started the year 2012 with SE status. I just passed 50 segments, and was wondering if I get an early 2013 Elite package - Select priviledges (looking for more Upgrade credits).

Or is the January package I chose it for the year?

Seems like a disadvantage to start a year with status...

Fingers crossed.
Welcome to FlyerTalk, devriedd.

If you've got 2012 SE status you aren't eligible for any early 2013 qualifications. You can only early qualify for tiers above your current level (if you're P you can early qualify for E then SE; if you're E you can early qualify for SE).
j_the_p is offline  
Old Jun 14, 12, 10:31 am
  #782  
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: YHM
Programs: AC*S100K SPG Gold
Posts: 258
Does anyone have any in-sight if early recognition will be offered for the new tiers at 50K and 75K? I passed the first last week and haven't seen a change yet.
Hussar is offline  
Old Jun 14, 12, 10:33 am
  #783  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: YYZ/YVR
Programs: ACMM SE100K; *G
Posts: 1,524
Originally Posted by Hussar View Post
Does anyone have any in-sight if early recognition will be offered for the new tiers at 50K and 75K? I passed the first last week and haven't seen a change yet.
Throughout 2012, early recognition will be based on the 2012 program. I.e., Elite/*G at 35K miles or 50 segs, and SE/*G at 100k miles or 95 segs.

2013 levels (50k, 75k) do not apply to this year.
j_the_p is offline  
Old Jun 15, 12, 4:55 pm
  #784  
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: YYC / random hotel in YYZ
Programs: AC*E - PC Plat - Carlson Gold - National E/E
Posts: 705
Status hit June 3rd
Package mailed June 8
Received June 15

E-ups in account June 4, EXCEPR missing threshold creds (and I will fight them on this). Earned 10 for the 20k threshold as "prestige" - i'll be darned if they try to argue i'm not eligible for 10 at 20k for instant elite. Sorry AC, but your charts don't lie. as an elite you earn 10 at 20k --- if i earned instant elite---- you owe me 10 at 20k, on top of the 10 i earned at 20k as a prestige.

call me greedy, but it doesn't say anywhere I'm not entitled...
jazzsax is offline  
Old Jun 15, 12, 10:27 pm
  #785  
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 353
The Air Canada Early Status Recognition Thread

You're not going to win that one. It says "Earn 35,000 Air Canada Status Miles and move up to 2012 Elite Status*" It doesn't say "Instantly move up to Elite Status while receiving the same benefit a second time." Good luck though!
gateguard0 is offline  
Old Jun 15, 12, 10:50 pm
  #786  
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: YYC / random hotel in YYZ
Programs: AC*E - PC Plat - Carlson Gold - National E/E
Posts: 705
Originally Posted by gateguard0 View Post
You're not going to win that one. It says "Earn 35,000 Air Canada Status Miles and move up to 2012 Elite Status*" It doesn't say "Instantly move up to Elite Status while receiving the same benefit a second time." Good luck though!
I moved up to Elite status.

As an elite, at 20k, I'm owed 10 creds. Regardless of whether I earned them as prestige.... that would be denying an elite a benefit they are entitled to....

Gonna fight them on this one!
jazzsax is offline  
Old Jun 15, 12, 10:59 pm
  #787  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: YUL
Programs: AC*SE
Posts: 124
Originally Posted by jazzsax View Post
I moved up to Elite status.

As an elite, at 20k, I'm owed 10 creds. Regardless of whether I earned them as prestige.... that would be denying an elite a benefit they are entitled to....

Gonna fight them on this one!
Let's say you hit SE on October 1st. What will you request then?
YULcookiemonster is offline  
Old Jun 15, 12, 11:10 pm
  #788  
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: YVR
Programs: AC S100K
Posts: 978
Before getting early E, were you a prestige member or non-status?

If the former, you'll certainly get the threshold credits (once).

If the latter,good luck, but you're not entitled under the program.

If fighting gets you somewhere, telling us about it here may ignite a storm of sorts.

BlueMilk is offline  
Old Jun 16, 12, 6:06 pm
  #789  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC S100K
Posts: 45
Question: I fly mostly in the U.S. on United or US Air. Got my 25k status miles in April but with only 3 mandatory Air Canada segments. I have now 36k status miles and just completed the 5 AC segments 2 weeks ago but the website still saying I do not qualify for any top tier status. Is that correct?
sskl1998 is offline  
Old Jun 16, 12, 7:10 pm
  #790  
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: YVR
Programs: AC S100K
Posts: 978
Originally Posted by sskl1998 View Post
Question: I fly mostly in the U.S. on United or US Air. Got my 25k status miles in April but with only 3 mandatory Air Canada segments. I have now 36k status miles and just completed the 5 AC segments 2 weeks ago but the website still saying I do not qualify for any top tier status. Is that correct?
You need a minimum on AC metal of 5segments AND 10,000 status miles.
BlueMilk is offline  
Old Jun 16, 12, 7:22 pm
  #791  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: YUL
Programs: AC*SE
Posts: 124
Originally Posted by sskl1998 View Post
Question: I fly mostly in the U.S. on United or US Air. Got my 25k status miles in April but with only 3 mandatory Air Canada segments. I have now 36k status miles and just completed the 5 AC segments 2 weeks ago but the website still saying I do not qualify for any top tier status. Is that correct?
If the website shows >= 35k status miles and >= 5 segments you should have Elite.

Based on my recent experience, the website changed to Elite very soon (immediately?) after I passed 35k status miles. I had about 20 segments but that shouldn't matter.

On mine there is a green checkmark under my miles and segments which presumably indicate I have satisfied the AC Minimum Requirements. Do you have at least one checkmark?
YULcookiemonster is offline  
Old Jun 16, 12, 7:28 pm
  #792  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: YUL
Programs: AC*SE
Posts: 124
Originally Posted by BlueMilk View Post
You need a minimum on AC metal of 5segments AND 10,000 status miles.
I don't think so based on this page: http://www.aircanada.com/en/aeroplan/toptier.html

It says "or" (and that you can qualify on miles and satisfy AC minimum on segments).
YULcookiemonster is offline  
Old Jun 18, 12, 11:43 am
  #793  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC S100K
Posts: 45
Originally Posted by YULcookiemonster View Post
If the website shows >= 35k status miles and >= 5 segments you should have Elite.

Based on my recent experience, the website changed to Elite very soon (immediately?) after I passed 35k status miles. I had about 20 segments but that shouldn't matter.

On mine there is a green checkmark under my miles and segments which presumably indicate I have satisfied the AC Minimum Requirements. Do you have at least one checkmark?
I do have the green checkmarks at both the status miles and segment requirements, but when I clicked on the Top Tier at the side bar, it told me I was not qualified for any top tier status. I will check again today when their site is back up.
sskl1998 is offline  
Old Jun 18, 12, 11:50 am
  #794  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: YYZ/YVR
Programs: ACMM SE100K; *G
Posts: 1,524
Originally Posted by BlueMilk View Post
You need a minimum on AC metal of 5segments AND 10,000 status miles.
It's an OR, not an AND.
j_the_p is offline  
Old Jul 2, 12, 7:35 pm
  #795  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC S100K
Posts: 45
Originally Posted by sskl1998 View Post
I do have the green checkmarks at both the status miles and segment requirements, but when I clicked on the Top Tier at the side bar, it told me I was not qualified for any top tier status. I will check again today when their site is back up.
I finally got the Elite status on the website on June 22, but have yet to receive the package. Got couple of emails each saying I got 10 eUpgrade credits but the EUP account shows 0.
sskl1998 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread