Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

The Air Canada Early Status Recognition Thread

The Air Canada Early Status Recognition Thread

    Hide Wikipost
Old Aug 19, 19, 11:20 pm   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: Bohemian1
Wiki Link
2017 Altitude Status

Here are the Reduced eUpgrade Credits selection for Bundle 1 & Bundle 2 for each Early Status Recognition Altitude Status:
Code:
 E35K E50K
 Bundle 1: 5 eUpgrade (instead of 10) Bundle 1: 5 eUpgrade (instead of 30)
 Bundle 2: 5 eUpgrade (instead of 20) Bundle 2: 5 eUpgrade (instead of 10)
 
 E75K SE100K
 Bundle 1: 10 eUpgrade (instead of 40) Bundle 1: 10 eUpgrade (instead of 50)
 Bundle 2: 5 eUpgrade (instead of 15) Bundle 2: 5 eUpgrade (instead of 20)
Package Received Timeframe:

E35K - 5 to 6 Business Days (Based in YYZ)
E50K - 7 Business Days (Based in YYZ)
E75K - 10 Business Days (Based in YYZ)
E100K - 14 Business Days (Based in YVR)
Print Wikipost

Old Oct 1, 06, 5:22 am
  #16  
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: YYZ
Programs: AP Elite
Posts: 73
Thanks Zorn for bringing back this thread - very infomrative and helpful - Mark
DAS1 is offline  
Old Oct 1, 06, 10:08 am
  #17  
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Toronto, ON
Programs: UA, AA, AC
Posts: 13
Originally Posted by zorn

When will I get my (Super) Elite card and certificates and what if I need status benefits before then?
You will get them in the mail. Until then you can get your updated status on boarding passes (which by default will reflect your status at time of booking). You should call AC, get them to delete your AP number from your booking and then re-enter it, for the boarding pass to show your new status.
Anyone know if the same is true to ensure AC's system sees a status change in another *A airline's FF account? I have an AC booking from YYZ to S. America over Christmas and New Year, and my outbound flight in December will put me over the top to achieve 1P status with United (*A Gold). Will the system see my new status when I check in for the return, or do I need to call and ask AC to reenter my UA MP number?
Isaac is offline  
Old Oct 1, 06, 6:28 pm
  #18  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto YYZ UA-1K 1MM,QFgold
Programs: Royal Ambassador/ SPG Platinum 75/Marriott gold
Posts: 14,285
AC wont really give you anything for *G. You can use the lounge for *gold
AC does not have any good seats to prebook. So it really wont make much difference.
why fly is offline  
Old Oct 1, 06, 6:41 pm
  #19  
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: AC Million Miler & long time SE; StarwoodPlat for 10+ yrs & lifetime Gold; Hilton Honours Diamond; IC Ambassador; AMEX Plat;Avis Presidents Club; Airmiles GOLD; and just about everything else!
Programs: aeroplan & 25+year loyalty
Posts: 3,807
So, does this all mean those that are E or SE, could drop out for a year, revert to Prestige or less, then regain E or SE by travelling alot in one year which would give them benefits for 2 years?

Sounds like a good way to take a sabbatical to me although at the cost of no upgrades for one year. What guarantees exist that the early qualification program will even be around after this year? None, of course. The programs all change each year as we know.

Finally I can only assume that people who earn status by this early qualification means they will get E or SE kits each year and not simply a nice card.
100,000miler is offline  
Old Oct 1, 06, 7:05 pm
  #20  
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Mississauga Ontario
Posts: 3,653
For this SE, I'm starting an American Platinum Challenge, effective today.

All I need to do is cross 10,000 miles in the next three months -- which will likely happen in the next *two weeks* -- and at least I'll have another option, albeit not with too much value -- when stranded in O'Hare or DFW or other places, and at least have a human being to call as opposed to a robotic anti-human droid customer service loop.

Call it hedging.

I understand that the new AA status will kick in immediately at 10K, and that I should see a kit within a few weeks after that, and that my status will be good till Feb 08.
InTheAirGuy is offline  
Old Oct 2, 06, 5:17 pm
  #21  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC*SE MM, SD Gold, SPG Gold
Posts: 12,919
Originally Posted by InTheAirGuy
For this SE, I'm starting an American Platinum Challenge, effective today.

All I need to do is cross 10,000 miles in the next three months -- which will likely happen in the next *two weeks* -- and at least I'll have another option, albeit not with too much value -- when stranded in O'Hare or DFW or other places, and at least have a human being to call as opposed to a robotic anti-human droid customer service loop.

Call it hedging.

I understand that the new AA status will kick in immediately at 10K, and that I should see a kit within a few weeks after that, and that my status will be good till Feb 08.
Then the trick will be to maintain both in 2008 and beyond!
The Lev is offline  
Old Oct 3, 06, 1:09 pm
  #22  
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Whistler, Canada
Programs: Air Canada Elite , Hilton Honors
Posts: 283
Good thread.
Very helpful for those approaching a new status level.

I'm guessing that those of us that have Elite, and have passed the 35k threshold already should not expect any contact about next year?
I've been getting the UG certs on schedule but nothing noted about the E threshold.
My chances of getting more than 50k this year are slim-to-none so SE is not in my future. Just seemed to remember something being said at 35k last year.

Commander Bob
Suddenly Infrequent Flyer.
cbob is offline  
Old Oct 9, 06, 10:38 am
  #23  
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: YWG
Programs: AC Altitude E35K, *Silve, UA Premier Silver, Marriott Platinum, SPG Preferred Plus, a bunch of other
Posts: 410
Originally Posted by JoshKleiman
I just got my E package the other day. It took approximately 2 weeks to receive the Elite card in the mail.
Anyone else with similar stories? I should cross the Elite threshold on the 18/19th of October and was hoping to get the SSWU's to use on a flight that I am taking November 5... Any chance that I will get my package in time if I choose my package right away?

Vader
Vader is offline  
Old Oct 9, 06, 11:23 am
  #24  
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Programs: AC Altitude SE100K, HH Diamond
Posts: 250
Originally Posted by Vader
Anyone else with similar stories? I should cross the Elite threshold on the 18/19th of October and was hoping to get the SSWU's to use on a flight that I am taking November 5... Any chance that I will get my package in time if I choose my package right away?

Vader
I chose my SE benefits today.... I'll let you know when I receive the package.
AleEat is offline  
Old Oct 9, 06, 12:47 pm
  #25  
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Programs: UA MileagePlus, AAAdvantage, Delta Skymiles
Posts: 146
is this why I've gone from zero to 2p, valid to Feb 2008?

(I flew 26k miles between May and Aug this year)
Sludge82 is offline  
Old Oct 9, 06, 2:01 pm
  #26  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC E35K
Posts: 6,917
Originally Posted by Sludge82
is this why I've gone from zero to 2p, valid to Feb 2008?

(I flew 26k miles between May and Aug this year)
No, the information in this thread reflects Air Canada's policies and practices only. (Hence the use of 'AC' throughout.)

You should see the United Airlines thread for information on how status with UA works.
zorn is offline  
Old Oct 9, 06, 4:39 pm
  #27  
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Programs: Aeroplan SE AND 1MM, HHonors Gold, Marriott Rewards Gold, Fairmont President Club Platinum
Posts: 8,998
If one is already a SE or E, and one qualifies for the same status for the following year by the end of April, will one get another SE or E package, respectively. If so, would one get extra certs that one may not otherwise get, through this early re-qualification?
FlyerGoldII is offline  
Old Oct 9, 06, 5:46 pm
  #28  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC E35K
Posts: 6,917
Originally Posted by FlyerGoldII
If one is already a SE or E, and one qualifies for the same status for the following year by the end of April, will one get another SE or E package, respectively. If so, would one get extra certs that one may not otherwise get, through this early re-qualification?
No.
zorn is offline  
Old Oct 12, 06, 4:16 am
  #29  
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Programs: UA MileagePlus, AAAdvantage, Delta Skymiles
Posts: 146
Originally Posted by zorn
No, the information in this thread reflects Air Canada's policies and practices only. (Hence the use of 'AC' throughout.)

You should see the United Airlines thread for information on how status with UA works.

oops, sorry, my bad

not sure how I managed to get lost and end up on an air canada thread tho!
Sludge82 is offline  
Old Oct 17, 06, 3:20 pm
  #30  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: YUL
Programs: AC SE, UA PE, HH Diamond, SPG Plat, Marriott Gold
Posts: 580
Originally Posted by Vader
Anyone else with similar stories? I should cross the Elite threshold on the 18/19th of October and was hoping to get the SSWU's to use on a flight that I am taking November 5... Any chance that I will get my package in time if I choose my package right away?

Vader
My SE package arrived about 10 business days from the day that I selected the package.

Good luck!!!!
aaac is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread