Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

The Air Canada Early Status Recognition Thread

The Air Canada Early Status Recognition Thread

    Hide Wikipost
Old Aug 19, 19, 11:20 pm   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: Bohemian1
Wiki Link
2017 Altitude Status

Here are the Reduced eUpgrade Credits selection for Bundle 1 & Bundle 2 for each Early Status Recognition Altitude Status:
Code:
 E35K E50K
 Bundle 1: 5 eUpgrade (instead of 10) Bundle 1: 5 eUpgrade (instead of 30)
 Bundle 2: 5 eUpgrade (instead of 20) Bundle 2: 5 eUpgrade (instead of 10)
 
 E75K SE100K
 Bundle 1: 10 eUpgrade (instead of 40) Bundle 1: 10 eUpgrade (instead of 50)
 Bundle 2: 5 eUpgrade (instead of 15) Bundle 2: 5 eUpgrade (instead of 20)
Package Received Timeframe:

E35K - 5 to 6 Business Days (Based in YYZ)
E50K - 7 Business Days (Based in YYZ)
E75K - 10 Business Days (Based in YYZ)
E100K - 14 Business Days (Based in YVR)
Print Wikipost

Old Aug 25, 19, 10:52 am
  #2101  
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: YYC
Programs: UA 1K, AC E35, Starwood Platinum, Marriott Platinum
Posts: 1,901
Any recent experience on how long it takes for the eupgrade credits to show up in your account after selecting privileges for early recognition? I'd moved up a status level this week and was able to select my privileges on the Altitude Dashboard today earlier today. The eupgrades haven't been deposited yet, so I'm wondering when I can expect to see them. I don't recall much of a delay in the past, but I've got a flight that I could upgrade once the credits are deposited, so hoping it doesn't take long.
gcashin is offline  
Old Aug 25, 19, 11:49 am
  #2102  
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Programs: Aeroplan
Posts: 20
Originally Posted by gcashin View Post
Any recent experience on how long it takes for the eupgrade credits to show up in your account after selecting privileges for early recognition? I'd moved up a status level this week and was able to select my privileges on the Altitude Dashboard today earlier today. The eupgrades haven't been deposited yet, so I'm wondering when I can expect to see them. I don't recall much of a delay in the past, but I've got a flight that I could upgrade once the credits are deposited, so hoping it doesn't take long.
I just earlied to 50k yesterday. Picked privileges same day. Credits showed up this morning. It's all pretty darn quick.
canadiancow likes this.
bigev007 is offline  
Old Aug 26, 19, 11:28 am
  #2103  
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 10
Originally Posted by flying chef View Post
As always, thanks for the response(s). So, another "newbie" question - I now have 20 e-upgrades that will expire Feb 2020, based on early status recognition. Will I receive another 20 as of March 2020 for the 2020-2021 year ?
Does anyone have the answer to this? Also if you were to select the extra eupgrades during early recognition, can you change the selection later for the “real” year of 2020-2021?
can lynx is offline  
Old Aug 26, 19, 11:38 am
  #2104  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K, Accor Plat, Bonvoy Gold, HH Diamond
Posts: 29,982
Early recognition lets you select benefits for the 19/20 year.

You will select your 20/21 privileges separately.
Jebby_ca likes this.
canadiancow is offline  
Old Aug 27, 19, 1:32 pm
  #2105  
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Montreal
Programs: Aeroplan E75K, Accor Platinum, BW Diamond
Posts: 161
I did not read the 140+ pages dating back 2017 so apologies if already answered

At E50K I selected 1500 AQM bonus that were added, but at E75k I selected E35k for a friend and something else.
I now see a -1500 AQM in my activity, that means the 1500 from E50K is reverted when you don't select 2500 bonus AQM as E75K privilege???
theBeachBoy is offline  
Old Aug 27, 19, 1:33 pm
  #2106  
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Montreal
Programs: Aeroplan E75K, Accor Platinum, BW Diamond
Posts: 161
Another similar question.

I guess if I selected E35K gift and get to SE I need to select E50K gift otherwise the person will not receive their E50K status?
theBeachBoy is offline  
Old Aug 27, 19, 1:41 pm
  #2107  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K, Accor Plat, Bonvoy Gold, HH Diamond
Posts: 29,982
Originally Posted by theBeachBoy View Post
I did not read the 140+ pages dating back 2017 so apologies if already answered

At E50K I selected 1500 AQM bonus that were added, but at E75k I selected E35k for a friend and something else.
I now see a -1500 AQM in my activity, that means the 1500 from E50K is reverted when you don't select 2500 bonus AQM as E75K privilege???
That's probably correct.

You're not supposed to get 5 sets select privileges by progressing through all the levels, just the privileges at the top level you reach. Things aren't always implemented this way, but you should assume it's how AC wants it to work.

Originally Posted by theBeachBoy View Post
Another similar question.

I guess if I selected E35K gift and get to SE I need to select E50K gift otherwise the person will not receive their E50K status?
In previous years, those were separate. You could give one person E35K and another E50K, or you could do just one. I don't know if you could upgrade the previously selected person from E35K to E50K though - someone with more experience may be able to answer, or comment on whether this still works.
theBeachBoy likes this.
canadiancow is offline  
Old Sep 17, 19, 7:30 am
  #2108  
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: YYZ
Programs: E35K, TK*S ;Bonvoy PE
Posts: 360
I just met the E35K AQD today after a flight from last week finally posted. Are they still doing upgrade sweeps on particular days or should my Altitude status change instantly (which it hasn't even though both the AQD and AQM are at 100%).
Sam_AE is offline  
Old Sep 17, 19, 8:49 am
  #2109  
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: YVR
Programs: AC SE100K, Bonvoy Gold Elite, IHG Gold
Posts: 1,400
Originally Posted by Sam_AE View Post
I just met the E35K AQD today after a flight from last week finally posted. Are they still doing upgrade sweeps on particular days or should my Altitude status change instantly (which it hasn't even though both the AQD and AQM are at 100%).
You're likely to get swept up on Sunday. Status change is never immediate.
Sam_AE likes this.
WaytoomuchEurope is online now  
Old Sep 17, 19, 10:10 am
  #2110  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K, Accor Plat, Bonvoy Gold, HH Diamond
Posts: 29,982
Both in 2018 and 2016, it was the day after the requirements were met for American Bovine, with DCS picking it up the day after that.
canadiancow is offline  
Old Sep 17, 19, 10:19 am
  #2111  
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Montreal
Programs: Aeroplan E75K, Accor Platinum, BW Diamond
Posts: 161
Originally Posted by canadiancow View Post
Both in 2018 and 2016, it was the day after the requirements were met for American Bovine, with DCS picking it up the day after that.
+1 for me it happened the next day.

The main thing is that AQD posting is so long and random, this is what really makes the status long to get (if requiring AQD).
canadiancow likes this.
theBeachBoy is offline  
Old Sep 17, 19, 11:21 am
  #2112  
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: LGA
Posts: 131
Originally Posted by theBeachBoy View Post
+1 for me it happened the next day.

The main thing is that AQD posting is so long and random, this is what really makes the status long to get (if requiring AQD).
I had several IROPs and AirCanada/Aeroplan was never able to manually add the Segments to the system.

If I qualify for a status before Oct.31, let's say 50 segments, but my AQS shows 48 due to 2 irrops that can't be manually added (but they are able to add the AQM, I don't qualify by AQM but AQS, always).

How will the system pick up that before oct.31 I am actually at 50? I have to call, and wait, request, fill out forms for manual recalculations etc..?
royal757 is offline  
Old Sep 18, 19, 11:34 am
  #2113  
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: LGA
Posts: 131
Originally Posted by royal757 View Post
I had several IROPs and AirCanada/Aeroplan was never able to manually add the Segments to the system.

If I qualify for a status before Oct.31, let's say 50 segments, but my AQS shows 48 due to 2 irrops that can't be manually added (but they are able to add the AQM, I don't qualify by AQM but AQS, always).

How will the system pick up that before oct.31 I am actually at 50? I have to call, and wait, request, fill out forms for manual recalculations etc..?
anyone have an idea? Thanks!
royal757 is offline  
Old Sep 19, 19, 11:42 am
  #2114  
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: YYZ
Programs: E35K, TK*S ;Bonvoy PE
Posts: 360
Originally Posted by Sam_AE View Post
I just met the E35K AQD today after a flight from last week finally posted. Are they still doing upgrade sweeps on particular days or should my Altitude status change instantly (which it hasn't even though both the AQD and AQM are at 100%).
Just wanted to update the timing I experienced.

Sept 17 -- AQD posted which triggered E35K threshold
Sept 19 AM -- Status remained at E25K
Sept 19 at 12noon'ish -- Status changed to E35K

Seems really strange that the update was done mid day but I checked a few times in the morning and it still showed 25k ... until around noon.
Sam_AE is offline  
Old Sep 20, 19, 8:52 am
  #2115  
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Montreal
Programs: Aeroplan E75K, Accor Platinum, BW Diamond
Posts: 161
In a week (plus an extra week for AQD posting) I will finally enjoy SE experience on my next flights.

I am getting a baggage tag collection for 35-50-75-SE for 2019.
canadiancow likes this.
theBeachBoy is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread