Will AC have first class on its new fleet?

Old Nov 8, 05, 5:10 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 147
Will AC have first class on its new fleet?

Just wondering, Will AC bring back First Class on demanding routes?

AC A380
AC A380 is offline  
Old Nov 8, 05, 5:18 pm
  #2  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 5,305
Not a chance.
F class is a dying product. Even BA is slowly squeezing it out.
mtacchi is offline  
Old Nov 8, 05, 5:37 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Programs: Aeroplan SE AND 1MM, HHonors Gold, Marriott Rewards Gold, Fairmont President Club Platinum
Posts: 9,009
Originally Posted by mtacchi
Not a chance.
F class is a dying product. Even BA is slowly squeezing it out.
I believe that Asian and Middle Eastern carriers, including Singapore Airlines, Cathay Pacific, and Emirates, the first class product is popular and profitable.

I am wondering about the status of a true first class (in a 3 cabin plane) with US carriers.
FlyerGoldII is offline  
Old Nov 8, 05, 5:56 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: YVR
Posts: 9,999
I believe that Asian and Middle Eastern carriers, including Singapore Airlines, Cathay Pacific, and Emirates, the first class product is popular and profitable.
Not only that, some of those airlines are improving/enhancing their F cabins.
Ken hAAmer is offline  
Old Nov 8, 05, 6:15 pm
  #5  
At Large
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: oakville Ontario canada;AC*SE
Posts: 16,985
China eastern is going for that first class market as well in a big way.
parnel is offline  
Old Nov 8, 05, 6:40 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: YGK
Programs: AA Plat/1MM, AC Basic (ex E, SE, VIA, Marriott, SPG, Hyatt, Hilton
Posts: 529
... and American is upgrading its 777 fleet in F to full Flagship suites from beds. There must be some demand for the product.
HereNow... is offline  
Old Nov 8, 05, 6:50 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,391
Originally Posted by HereNow...
... and American is upgrading its 777 fleet in F to full Flagship suites from beds. There must be some demand for the product.
Unfortunately, the Canadian market has always been cheap. Businesses don't spend on first class, and thanks to our tax system, we don't have the top-bracket wealth that the Americans do. LH dropped F to Canada several years ago. BA doesn't have it on a lot of flights to Canada, and when it does, it often offers it as a free upgrade to anyone paying full J. Yes, in some parts of the world, it works. Not here. Here, it was always a chance for retired executives to freeload, and for crew to steal the caviar. I'm not make an idle accusation either. I have a buddy who had authority over in-flight at AC when there still was F, and he said that between the scammers and freeloaders, there was little revenue and great expense. For a while, the prestige of having an F cabin kept it alive but once CO debuted BusinessFirst, F was a dead duck at AC.
Sebring is offline  
Old Nov 8, 05, 7:12 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Programs: AC.SE
Posts: 2,546
Originally Posted by Sebring
LH dropped F to Canada several years ago.
LH still offers F to Canada.
ylwae is offline  
Old Nov 8, 05, 7:54 pm
  #9  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: YVR
Programs: AC E75K 2MM former 14-year SE; UA MP Premier Silver; Marriott Bonvoy Lifetime Titanium Elite
Posts: 28,417
IIRC, there was some mention about how there was no more F to YYZ. I guess there's some F to YUL and YVR?
yyznomad is offline  
Old Nov 8, 05, 8:36 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ontario,Canada
Posts: 64
I don't know about now but I flew back to YYZ from FRA on LH in F class as an op-up in early Sept. Business and econ were all full and I was lucky! (was my first time in F and yes I did have some caviar)
ziti 2 is offline  
Old Nov 8, 05, 9:06 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto,
Posts: 834
No.

No company in Canada wants the publicity of having executives seen in a true First Class. Better to put her or him in a new C class with 40 others in a flat bed.

Personally I find a true F cabin relaxing due to the small numbers of passengers and great service, and that has only been on LH. Others here refer to EK and the Asian F carriers. Love to try it, but it ain't going to happen here.
Skyhawk is offline  
Old Nov 8, 05, 9:41 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mumbai
Programs: LH Senator, QR Gold, AMEX Centurion, Starw.Plat. HH Diamond, Ambassador Platinum,Sixt Diamond
Posts: 885
Originally Posted by ziti 2
I don't know about now but I flew back to YYZ from FRA on LH in F class as an op-up in early Sept. Business and econ were all full and I was lucky! (was my first time in F and yes I did have some caviar)

It depends with LH, in the summer schedule they offered F to YYZ because they had on that route a 747-400 which have all F-Class, for the winter schedule, they fly again one of these dreadful ex-Sabena leased A340-300 which only have Business and Economy but no F, it is like this since 2 years
ThWilmesi is offline  
Old Nov 8, 05, 10:02 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: YVR
Posts: 9,999
No company in Canada wants the publicity of having executives seen in a true First Class.
Absolutely!

F should be reserved for technical specialists.
Ken hAAmer is offline  
Old Nov 8, 05, 10:06 pm
  #14  
At Large
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: oakville Ontario canada;AC*SE
Posts: 16,985
Originally Posted by Ken hAAmer
Absolutely!

F should be reserved for technical specialists.
And union thugs....pairs well met
parnel is offline  
Old Nov 8, 05, 10:12 pm
  #15  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 11,902
Originally Posted by Ken hAAmer
Absolutely!

F should be reserved for technical specialists.
I can see it now,30 F seats in a space where 24J seats used to exist on a 767-200.

I hear you with the lousy seats on the likes of FIN 615-616.Not very nice Personal experience,lately
acysb87 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread