Boarding pass codes

Old Apr 18, 05, 7:08 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London
Programs: BA, AC, NZ
Posts: 1,180
Boarding pass codes

I know what AC*A means on my boarding pass but what about ML*2 ? Noticed it on my YVR-YYZ flight this morning.
Reason077 is offline  
Old Apr 18, 05, 7:38 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: YUL
Programs: AC-E50K, IHG-P, HH-G
Posts: 1,215
Mainly used for meal assignments. Were you on standby for that flight?

ML*1 - Revenue customers and guest of AC who are upgraded
ML*2 Revenue and guest standbys
ML*3 Positive space pass holders who are upgraded or downgraded
ML*4 Positive space (confirmed) pass holders
ML*5 Space available pass holders
Prestige is offline  
Old Apr 18, 05, 8:09 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London
Programs: BA, AC, NZ
Posts: 1,180
Ahh, that would explain it. I wasn't on standby but arrived at the airport a bit early and asked to be moved to the earlier flight (AC156 instead of AC162). Despite my Tango Plus fare, the friendly check-in agent was able to accomodate after a bit of poking around.
Reason077 is offline  
Old Apr 18, 05, 10:21 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: YUL
Programs: AC-E50K, IHG-P, HH-G
Posts: 1,215
You mean you didnít pay the $50 change fee?
Prestige is offline  
Old Apr 18, 05, 10:30 am
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: YVR
Programs: AC E75K 2MM former 14-year SE; UA MP Premier Silver; Marriott Bonvoy Lifetime Titanium Elite
Posts: 28,514
Originally Posted by Prestige
Mainly used for meal assignments. Were you on standby for that flight?

ML*1 - Revenue customers and guest of AC who are upgraded
ML*2 Revenue and guest standbys
ML*3 Positive space pass holders who are upgraded or downgraded
ML*4 Positive space (confirmed) pass holders
ML*5 Space available pass holders
Similar to what Empress had posted in the past, this type of question/answer should really be put into some FAQ sticky... if I had a penny each time this question was asked... Thanks Prestige, I will now cut and paste into my own FAQ file
yyznomad is offline  
Old Apr 18, 05, 10:33 am
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London
Programs: BA, AC, NZ
Posts: 1,180
Originally Posted by Prestige
You mean you didnít pay the $50 change fee?
Nope. Lucky me
Reason077 is offline  
Old Apr 18, 05, 10:34 am
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: YVR
Programs: AC E75K 2MM former 14-year SE; UA MP Premier Silver; Marriott Bonvoy Lifetime Titanium Elite
Posts: 28,514
Originally Posted by Reason077
Nope. Lucky me
yyznomad is offline  
Old Apr 18, 05, 11:39 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: YUL
Programs: AC-E50K, IHG-P, HH-G
Posts: 1,215
This is a cut-and-paste from one of Empressí posts into my own FAQ file. All the credit to Empress.
Prestige is offline  
Old Apr 18, 05, 3:50 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: SIN
Posts: 208
Great info, thanks!

Does anyone have information on the codes in the "Airline use" section of the boarding pass? Tried the forum search but it wasn't very responsive...

On my BPs obtained through online check-in, I've seen both 0004 and 0005.
FRAkid is offline  
Old Apr 18, 05, 4:28 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: YHZ
Programs: Sans souci
Posts: 2,190
Originally Posted by FRAkid
Great info, thanks!

Does anyone have information on the codes in the "Airline use" section of the boarding pass? Tried the forum search but it wasn't very responsive...

On my BPs obtained through online check-in, I've seen both 0004 and 0005.
I thought the numbers in the "Airline use" section displayed a) the check-in sequence number and b) the code for either the agent or the kiosk who checked you in. For example: my last BP shows 0120 and YOW80210 ... I understood that to mean that I was the 120th person to check-in for that flight and that I used an Ottawa check-in agent whose id is 80210. If you use a kiosk, a K shows up somewhere in that code; if you check in through the web, it says AirCanada.Com
AnselmAdorne is offline  
Old Apr 18, 05, 4:48 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Canada / USA
Posts: 6,043
Originally Posted by AnselmAdorne
I thought the numbers in the "Airline use" section displayed a) the check-in sequence number and b) the code for either the agent or the kiosk who checked you in. For example: my last BP shows 0120 and YOW80210 ... I understood that to mean that I was the 120th person to check-in for that flight and that I used an Ottawa check-in agent whose id is 80210. If you use a kiosk, a K shows up somewhere in that code; if you check in through the web, it says AirCanada.Com
You are correct on both counts.
YYZC2 is offline  
Old Apr 18, 05, 9:18 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: SIN
Posts: 208
Originally Posted by AnselmAdorne
I thought the numbers in the "Airline use" section displayed a) the check-in sequence number and b) the code for either the agent or the kiosk who checked you in. For example: my last BP shows 0120 and YOW80210 ... I understood that to mean that I was the 120th person to check-in for that flight and that I used an Ottawa check-in agent whose id is 80210. If you use a kiosk, a K shows up somewhere in that code; if you check in through the web, it says AirCanada.Com
So if I check in through the web and it says "AirCanada.com 0005" I guess I was the 5th person to check-in online?
FRAkid is offline  
Old Apr 19, 05, 12:03 am
  #13  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: YVR
Programs: AC E75K 2MM former 14-year SE; UA MP Premier Silver; Marriott Bonvoy Lifetime Titanium Elite
Posts: 28,514
Also, the letters A, B, C, etc. indicate the segments for your trips that day (A being the first)?
yyznomad is offline  
Old Apr 19, 05, 12:33 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: YVR
Programs: WS Platinum, former AC E35K
Posts: 6,325
I've only managed to be first to check in once, and that was going YUL - YVR. Going YVR - YUL it's impossible to be first because of the connecting pax from asia.
shore9 is offline  
Old Apr 19, 05, 12:48 am
  #15  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: YVR
Programs: AC E75K 2MM former 14-year SE; UA MP Premier Silver; Marriott Bonvoy Lifetime Titanium Elite
Posts: 28,514
Originally Posted by shore9
I've only managed to be first to check in once, and that was going YUL - YVR. Going YVR - YUL it's impossible to be first because of the connecting pax from asia.
*golf clap*
yyznomad is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread