Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

Missing / incorrect flight activity (SQM/SQS/SQD/Aeroplan, November 2020 onwards)

Old May 17, 2021, 11:43 pm
FlyerTalk Forums Expert How-Tos and Guides
Last edit by: Adam Smith
Please note: this thread is for questions about flights you have taken where you have not received credit (SQM/SQS/SQD, as well as Aeroplan points - including elite bonus points), and how to get that missing credit. If you have a question about whether an upcoming flight can or should earn SQx/points (and how many), please see the status qualification thread. If you are missing points from an Aeroplan promotion, please post in the thread relating to that promotion, as these points post on their own timelines unrelated to when the flights themselves post.

For flights that have not posted at all, request missing points for a flight (should credit missing SQM/SQS/SQD, as well as Aeroplan points).

If the request is rejected by the automated system, e-mail [email protected].

For flights with SQD missing or incorrect, after SQM/SQS have posted, report a Status Qualifying Dollar discrepancy. It's also possible to e-mail the SQD adjustments team at [email protected]. E-mail does not appear to consistently provide faster responses.

If all else fails, use the customer service web form (select General Concerns, then Aeroplan, then Other. This will give you a free-form text box where you can explain your situation and attach any supporting files).

Please do not phone AC or Aeroplan about this. Anyone you reach on the phone will be unable to help you. At best, they will fill out the web form above, which will take far longer than if you just do it yourself. (The same is true of the SE and Concierge e-mail addresses).
Print Wikipost

Missing / incorrect flight activity (SQM/SQS/SQD/Aeroplan, November 2020 onwards)

Old Aug 16, 2021, 11:13 am
  #136  
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: YVR
Programs: Aeroplan 75K, Westjet Gold, Skymiles, Alaska MP, Marriott Gold, IHG Gold, Amex MR
Posts: 40
Originally Posted by King Chung Huang
Was the trip just one flight segment? The SQD is spread out for multiple segments.

Edit: Also, I think segments on non-Star Alliance members won't accrue SQD.
This was an AC ticket on AC metal on a single segment. My inquiry is out to Air Canada, so waiting for a response. Something was off with their SQD discrepancy tool, as it was only allowing me to select future dates, which made no sense, so I made a generic request via customer care.
davesmunroe is offline  
Old Aug 17, 2021, 1:32 pm
  #137  
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Ontario Canada
Programs: Air Canada 50K - Hilton Diamond - Marriott Platinum
Posts: 289
do i have to do a request on each segment of a trip? or can just 1 be used for the entire ticket once completed?
Aselwyn is offline  
Old Aug 17, 2021, 1:34 pm
  #138  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, BA Gold, SQ Silver, Bonvoy Tit LTG, Hyatt Glob, HH Diamond
Posts: 44,807
Originally Posted by Aselwyn
do i have to do a request on each segment of a trip? or can just 1 be used for the entire ticket once completed?
Generally each segment, though I have seen it give me segments I didn't explicitly request.
Adam Smith and Aselwyn like this.
canadiancow is offline  
Old Aug 17, 2021, 1:34 pm
  #139  
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Programs: OW Emerald, *A Gold
Posts: 6,913
Originally Posted by supatight80
ALL of my AC flights since the start of the year are missing these bonus miles. I have been complaining and complaining to AP since June and none have been posted yet.
At least it is consistent I had some flights for which the bonus points posted while for others they don't. Same with my wife's account. I hope they will figure it out …
totti is offline  
Old Aug 17, 2021, 1:50 pm
  #140  
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: YVR
Programs: Aeroplan 75K, Westjet Gold, Skymiles, Alaska MP, Marriott Gold, IHG Gold, Amex MR
Posts: 40
Originally Posted by davesmunroe
This was an AC ticket on AC metal on a single segment. My inquiry is out to Air Canada, so waiting for a response. Something was off with their SQD discrepancy tool, as it was only allowing me to select future dates, which made no sense, so I made a generic request via customer care.
AC granted all the missing SQD for my flights in 2021 without any fuss. They couldn't offer any explanation why they weren't appearing, so I'll have to keep a close eye on them from now on, I guess.
24left and Aselwyn like this.
davesmunroe is offline  
Old Aug 18, 2021, 6:53 pm
  #141  
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC SE100K
Posts: 53
Something wrong with their system, every flight since June has credit SQD 80+% lower than actual… salt in the wound when every flight in your most recent itinerary was cancelled or 2+ hour delay!
Preo is offline  
Old Aug 18, 2021, 6:58 pm
  #142  
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC SE MM, BW Diamond Select
Posts: 716
AC did not add to my LQM totals even though my SQDs and SQMs were updated. At least they rounded up $1.00 for the SQD.
TTC900Rocket is offline  
Old Aug 18, 2021, 7:50 pm
  #143  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Programs: AC SE100K-1MM, NH, DL, AA, BA, Global Entry/Nexus, APEC..
Posts: 18,877
Originally Posted by Preo
Something wrong with their system, every flight since June has credit SQD 80+% lower than actual… salt in the wound when every flight in your most recent itinerary was cancelled or 2+ hour delay!
[MENTION=892297]Preo[/MENTION]
See posts by @davesmunroe starting with .#94


EDIT TO ADD:

Originally Posted by supatight80
ALL of my AC flights since the start of the year are missing these bonus miles. I have been complaining and complaining to AP since June and none have been posted yet.

In fact, last Wednesday I was told by a certain supervisor from Vancouver CC named "Jenny" this is marketing's problem not AP's and next time to email SE desk and not them.
@supatight80
Your AC and Aeroplan experiences are both sad and weirdly unprofessional.

A few years ago, I recall missing AQMs and missing bonus from the selected benefit. It was not a pleasant battle with Aeroplan who kept saying AC was responsible and that I should contact them. AC agents said it was Aeroplan's. This was when Aeroplan was still owned by Aimia. I recall once posting that many of us were tired of being the "kids caught in the middle of a divorce". Like, get your act together.

AC and Aeroplan are remarried and yet still....

I would take a deep breath and write a nice but pointed message to AC and include things like these:

On January 7 of this year, AEROPLAN sent this email, inviting us to choose our privileges.





On the pages where we select benefits, we had options. This was one of them:






This was part of the summary page.





It is also up to you whether you want to quote the name and agent you spoke with (with date and time of call).
.

Last edited by 24left; Aug 18, 2021 at 8:21 pm Reason: Merge 2 posts before someone else does it for me :D
24left is offline  
Old Aug 18, 2021, 9:40 pm
  #144  
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: CEB - primary/YVR -secondary
Programs: AC*Super Elite (100K) / PR*Elite / AY*Platinum (OWE) / SPG*Bonvoy Titanium (LTT)
Posts: 2,281
Originally Posted by 24left
[MENTION=892297]Preo[/MENTION]
See posts by @davesmunroe starting with .#94


EDIT TO ADD:



@supatight80
Your AC and Aeroplan experiences are both sad and weirdly unprofessional.

A few years ago, I recall missing AQMs and missing bonus from the selected benefit. It was not a pleasant battle with Aeroplan who kept saying AC was responsible and that I should contact them. AC agents said it was Aeroplan's. This was when Aeroplan was still owned by Aimia. I recall once posting that many of us were tired of being the "kids caught in the middle of a divorce". Like, get your act together.

AC and Aeroplan are remarried and yet still....

I would take a deep breath and write a nice but pointed message to AC and include things like these:

On January 7 of this year, AEROPLAN sent this email, inviting us to choose our privileges.





On the pages where we select benefits, we had options. This was one of them:






This was part of the summary page.





It is also up to you whether you want to quote the name and agent you spoke with (with date and time of call).
.

Thank you so much! I will copy this layout when I'll email them mid-september (was told to give them until that time for things to be fixed due to "staffing issues".

Thank God I have screenshot everything!
supatight80 is offline  
Old Aug 22, 2021, 10:30 am
  #145  
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC SE MM, BW Diamond Select
Posts: 716
LQM/Million Mile Counter

Is anyone finding that their MM counter is not updating properly?

Until recently, my LQM/MM counter increased in lockstep with SQM, SQD, and the Aeroplan activity list, but I have had a few flights that have not been posted properly in the last few days.

SQDs, SQMs, and SQSs are all at their correct totals, but not my MM counter.
TTC900Rocket is offline  
Old Aug 22, 2021, 12:27 pm
  #146  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, BA Gold, SQ Silver, Bonvoy Tit LTG, Hyatt Glob, HH Diamond
Posts: 44,807
Originally Posted by TTC900Rocket
Is anyone finding that their MM counter is not updating properly?

Until recently, my LQM/MM counter increased in lockstep with SQM, SQD, and the Aeroplan activity list, but I have had a few flights that have not been posted properly in the last few days.

SQDs, SQMs, and SQSs are all at their correct totals, but not my MM counter.
Try refreshing. I just looked at my activity page, and my Friday flights weren't there. Then I looked at my LQM counter, and it didn't match what I expected based on pre-Friday. It matched what I expected post-Friday. Then I went back to my activity page, and Friday's flights were there.

And 1150 SQD for a ticket that cost 622 after tax
Bohemian1 and TTC900Rocket like this.
canadiancow is offline  
Old Aug 23, 2021, 12:25 pm
  #147  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 78
I had a paid Business Class J on AC. The miles didnt credit so I did a missing mile request on the app. It credited miles under Class T so I only got 25% here. Any advice on this? Should I call in?

Last edited by Adam Smith; Aug 23, 2021 at 12:40 pm Reason: Edit to reflect thread move
MaHa is offline  
Old Aug 23, 2021, 12:44 pm
  #148  
Moderator, Air Canada; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: YYC
Programs: AC SE MM, FB Plat, WS Plat, BA Silver, DL GM, Marriott Plat, Hilton Gold, Accor Silver
Posts: 16,941
Originally Posted by MaHa
I had a paid Business Class J on AC. The miles didnt credit so I did a missing mile request on the app. It credited miles under Class T so I only got 25% here. Any advice on this? Should I call in?
When you said "paid business class", did you originally purchase a business class fare (which should have been in J, C, D, Z, or P classes), or did you purchase an economy fare and subsequently purchase an upgrade either through the bid upgrade program or a last-minute upgrade at check-in?

If you purchased a business class ticket, you will probably need to write in to AC customer service via the web form (since you've already been credited for the flight, if you use the tool in the wiki, it will likely say you've already been credited). If you purchased an upgrade, the T&C of both of those programs state that mileage earning remains as per the original fare purchased, so you're likely not entitled to anything more than what you've received.

Either way, please let us know. If you were indeed credited for a Standard T fare after having purchased a J cabin fare, that would be bizarre.
Adam Smith is offline  
Old Aug 23, 2021, 1:33 pm
  #149  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 78
Originally Posted by Adam Smith
When you said "paid business class", did you originally purchase a business class fare (which should have been in J, C, D, Z, or P classes), or did you purchase an economy fare and subsequently purchase an upgrade either through the bid upgrade program or a last-minute upgrade at check-in?

If you purchased a business class ticket, you will probably need to write in to AC customer service via the web form (since you've already been credited for the flight, if you use the tool in the wiki, it will likely say you've already been credited). If you purchased an upgrade, the T&C of both of those programs state that mileage earning remains as per the original fare purchased, so you're likely not entitled to anything more than what you've received.

Either way, please let us know. If you were indeed credited for a Standard T fare after having purchased a J cabin fare, that would be bizarre.

Definitely didnt purchase an upgrade
I decided to call in.

I didnt realize that my original flight was paid economy Class K on one segment and one segment paid Class J. ( Aug 14 YOW to YYZ, overnight, then Aug 15 YYZ to YYC). My first original segment flight got cancelled so when I got to the airport, the agent had to change my ticket because AC decided to automatically rebook me Aug 15 direct YOW to YYC but I had no hotel in YOW for the night. The agent said this got me booked both Class K with business upgrade (and shows up as Class T on my app for some reason), so they are going to be crediting me Class J on YYZ to YYC, just have to wait 5-10 business days.

Thanks for your help.
Aselwyn likes this.
MaHa is offline  
Old Aug 23, 2021, 1:41 pm
  #150  
Moderator, Air Canada; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: YYC
Programs: AC SE MM, FB Plat, WS Plat, BA Silver, DL GM, Marriott Plat, Hilton Gold, Accor Silver
Posts: 16,941
Originally Posted by MaHa
I didnt realize that my original flight was paid economy Class K on one segment and one segment paid Class J. ( Aug 14 YOW to YYZ, overnight, then Aug 15 YYZ to YYC). My first original segment flight got cancelled so when I got to the airport, the agent had to change my ticket because AC decided to automatically rebook me Aug 15 direct YOW to YYC but I had no hotel in YOW for the night. The agent said this got me booked both Class K with business upgrade (and shows up as Class T on my app for some reason), so they are going to be crediting me Class J on YYZ to YYC, just have to wait 5-10 business days.
That's a strange situation. They should have just re-booked you in J on the YYZ-YYC segment. Whoever handled that re-booking doesn't seem to have done it correctly.

Sounds like it will all work out in the end though
MaHa likes this.
Adam Smith is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.