Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

Status Passes - what are they and how to use them?

Old Sep 15, 21, 4:27 pm
FlyerTalk Forums Expert How-Tos and Guides
Last edit by: canopus27
A STATUS PASS DOES NOT CONFER YOUR STATUS TO THE RECIPIENT!
SO FOR EXAMPLE IF YOU ARE SUPER ELITE, YOUR BENEFICIARY DOES NOT GET OR HAVE SUPER ELITE PRIVILEGES! THEY DO NOT GET ANY KIND OF STAR ALLIANCE GOLD PRIVILEGES!
SEE WIKI BELOW!



What is a status pass?

A status pass (sometimes abbreviated as "STPA") grants passengers many of the benefits of elite status (detailed below). One status pass is applied to a booking and extends benefits to all passengers (up to 9), on all flights, on that booking.

The benefits of the STPA don't exactly correspond to any elite tier.

The status pass must be applied before travel commences. It cannot be applied after any flights have been taken. It is unclear whether there is a deadline to apply the pass. A pass can be removed from a booking up to 6 hours before travel commences.

What does a status pass get you?
  • Priority check-in
  • Free checked bags (3 per passenger), with priority baggage handling
  • Priority security
  • Access to Maple Leaf Lounges ("MLL"), including international lounges, prior to your departing flight
  • Priority boarding (Zone 2)
  • Priority standby

What DOESN'T a status pass get you?
  • Access to non-MLL AC lounges (i.e. Cafe and Signature Suites)
  • Access to lounges not operated by AC
  • Free seat selection
  • MLL guesting privileges
  • E50K status (some of the status pass benefits are similar, but are certainly not comprehensively equivalent to E50K)
  • *G status

How does a status pass get added to a reservation?

The pass must be applied by the person with elite status (E50K, E75K, Super Elite). It can be done through the AC app or via the AC website.

In order to apply the pass, you will need the PNR (booking reference) and last name of any of the passengers on the PNR.

How do I know if the Status Pass actually was added? How can the PAX show to Airport staff that they have one?

The person granting the pass should see the pass applied in their Benefits section under Status Pass. Look at sent passes.

COWTOOL PNR lookup will indicate "A status pass has been applied" for reservations where it has been successfully applied.

The PAX should have "STPA" on their boarding pass.



Are status passes different depending on the status of the person giving the pass?

No. All status passes are the same. Whether the pass was given by an 50K or a Super Elite is irrelevant.

The AC website says "travel must occur within the current benefit year". What does that mean?
The recipient's trip must start before the end of the benefit year, which is also the calendar year, i.e. the first flight must be taken on or before December 31.

However, if there are additional flights on the PNR in the following year, the status pass will also be valid for those flights (not explained on the AC site, but verified in practice by FTers for bookings straddling 2021 and 2022).

Do they work for award and cash bookings?

They can be applied to both


Print Wikipost

Status Passes - what are they and how to use them?

Old Aug 19, 21, 2:09 pm
  #76  
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 534
Originally Posted by Dave510
I was able to talk my parents into the YYC lounge on arrival with the status pass applied to their reservation, but the system, by default, rejected them from entering when the BP was scanned. But then again, the “system” also rejected them from using the priority security lane at YYZ (which they are clearly entitled to). The rationale I used with the agent was the Status Pass essentially applied 50k status to the Status Pass holder, so they should get access. Seems like a YMMV situation until AC decides to clarify the benefit.
I'm curious about this as well, I'll have family members flying into YYZ on a status pass who might want to visit the MLL prior to dealing with baggage.

For what it's worth the system rejected my arrival boarding pass for arrival lounge access as a 50k member back in mid July. Lounge dragon had to override something in her system and mentioned it's happened a few times.
canadiancow likes this.
zappy312 is offline  
Old Aug 29, 21, 1:21 am
  #77  
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: YYC
Programs: AC SE
Posts: 817
tried to use one for my father on a basic booking to europe. System said error. Can check said booking on manage my booking and it comes up as ticketed.
300rwhp is offline  
Old Aug 29, 21, 2:37 pm
  #78  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: YVR
Programs: AC SE 2MM; UA MP Premier Silver; Marriott Bonvoy LT Titanium Elite; Radisson
Posts: 34,894
Originally Posted by 300rwhp
tried to use one for my father on a basic booking to europe. System said error. Can check said booking on manage my booking and it comes up as ticketed.
Are you saying that it gave an error online when you went to apply an STPA to your dad's booking? Sorry, what's a "Can check"?
yyznomad is offline  
Old Aug 29, 21, 3:17 pm
  #79  
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: YYZ, YYJ, ZRH
Programs: AC MM
Posts: 429
Would some kind soul tell me exactly where I have to go on the Air Canada website in order to give one of these status passes to a friend?

I am Elite 50K (Million Mile), would have thought that after a million miles I should be able to figure out how to navigate the Air Canada website to give out one of these passes, but just can't find out how to do it. Entering "How to give status pass" in the search box of the Air Canada website does not return any answers.

This whole Aeroplan program was a lot less complicated back in the day when we had to apply little stickers to our tickets to collect miles...
Max Power is offline  
Old Aug 29, 21, 4:17 pm
  #80  
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: YYZ
Programs: Ex-Bonvoyed, Hyatt, Hilton, BR, AC, AA
Posts: 1,010
Originally Posted by Max Power
Would some kind soul tell me exactly where I have to go on the Air Canada website in order to give one of these status passes to a friend?

I am Elite 50K (Million Mile), would have thought that after a million miles I should be able to figure out how to navigate the Air Canada website to give out one of these passes, but just can't find out how to do it. Entering "How to give status pass" in the search box of the Air Canada website does not return any answers.

This whole Aeroplan program was a lot less complicated back in the day when we had to apply little stickers to our tickets to collect miles...
Aircanada.com > Log In > Hamburger Menu > My Aeroplan > Benefits tab > Status Pass > Enter recipient's name and booking reference
Max Power and canadiancow like this.
Dave510 is offline  
Old Aug 29, 21, 7:38 pm
  #81  
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: YYZ, YYJ, ZRH
Programs: AC MM
Posts: 429
Dave, you are a Prince and a Scholar - thank you very much for your assistance, your directions were excellent and it worked perfectly first time around.
Max Power is offline  
Old Aug 29, 21, 9:01 pm
  #82  
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: YYZ
Programs: Ex-Bonvoyed, Hyatt, Hilton, BR, AC, AA
Posts: 1,010
Originally Posted by Max Power
Dave, you are a Prince and a Scholar - thank you very much for your assistance, your directions were excellent and it worked perfectly first time around.
Glad to help
Dave510 is offline  
Old Aug 30, 21, 6:06 am
  #83  
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: YYC
Programs: AC SE
Posts: 817
yes YYZnomad when trying to apply a status pass to my fathers booking it would error. As to "Can check" the booking would come up via manage my booking. I tried again this morning and it worked so it looks like you need to wait 24hrs after booking before trying.
300rwhp is offline  
Old Aug 30, 21, 11:14 am
  #84  
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC SE MM, Bonvoy Plat, Hilton G,Nexus, Amex MR Plat,IHG Plat
Posts: 4,305
So I gifted a status pass to a friends daughter heading to univ. She was able to check in yesterday and she did get 3 free checked bags. This morning she was in the lounge. Will ask for feedback on whether she got priority security. So everything seemed to work though it was just for a domestic flight.
vernonc is offline  
Old Aug 30, 21, 12:36 pm
  #85  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: YVR
Programs: AC SE 2MM; UA MP Premier Silver; Marriott Bonvoy LT Titanium Elite; Radisson
Posts: 34,894
Originally Posted by 300rwhp
yes YYZnomad when trying to apply a status pass to my fathers booking it would error. As to "Can check" the booking would come up via manage my booking. I tried again this morning and it worked so it looks like you need to wait 24hrs after booking before trying.
That's good to know re 24 hours thing. I wonder if anyone else had similar issues here.
yyznomad is offline  
Old Aug 30, 21, 12:39 pm
  #86  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, UA Gold, Bonvoy Tit LT Sil, Hyatt Glob, HH Diamond, Accor Silver
Posts: 42,070
Originally Posted by yyznomad
That's good to know re 24 hours thing. I wonder if anyone else had similar issues here.
Nope, I booked a ticket for my cousin and immediately applied the STPA successfully.
Dave510 likes this.
canadiancow is online now  
Old Aug 30, 21, 7:13 pm
  #87  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: YVR
Programs: AC SE 2MM; UA MP Premier Silver; Marriott Bonvoy LT Titanium Elite; Radisson
Posts: 34,894
Originally Posted by canadiancow
Nope, I booked a ticket for my cousin and immediately applied the STPA successfully.
Maybe cows get exempted from the latency. Kidding. I guess we can chalk this one up again to AC IT.
yyznomad is offline  
Old Aug 31, 21, 7:04 am
  #88  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, UA Gold, Bonvoy Tit LT Sil, Hyatt Glob, HH Diamond, Accor Silver
Posts: 42,070
So her (digital) BP has "PRIORITY SECURITY" on it. I know there was some reports upthread that it wasn't working, but maybe they've fixed it now?

I will note that she didn't use the priority line though, as it wasn't busy. But I assume it's just scanning for the flag, and it would have worked.

Other than that, it said she had lounge access, zone 2, etc. Of course, she's in a middle seat because it's a TG fare.
Jebby_ca, vernonc and Dave510 like this.
canadiancow is online now  
Old Aug 31, 21, 10:21 am
  #89  
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: YVR - MILLS Waypoint (It's the third house on the left)
Programs: AC*SE100K, wood level status in various other programs
Posts: 5,452
Originally Posted by canadiancow
Of course, she's in a middle seat because it's a TG fare.
Since it's kinda like E50K for a trip, it's too bad that the status pass doesn't include priority seat selection.
vernonc and Adam Smith like this.
Bohemian1 is online now  
Old Aug 31, 21, 12:01 pm
  #90  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: YVR
Programs: AC SE 2MM; UA MP Premier Silver; Marriott Bonvoy LT Titanium Elite; Radisson
Posts: 34,894
I know the STPA is good for the entire trip (or was it itinerary?), but does anyone have any news on using it at an MLL with an arriving BP?
yyznomad is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread