AC Permanent Resident Format

Old Sep 18, 20, 4:36 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Programs: Air Canada
Posts: 4
AC Permanent Resident Format

When checking in using the new and improved Air Canada online check in, you are asked for your permanent residence number if you reside in the US. I have a number and input it as it reads on the card. I get invalid format. I remove the - and still the same. No indication what the format is. Any ideas? Not the best code I have seen
oceanasteve is offline  
Old Sep 19, 20, 9:16 am
  #2  
GVA
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Here there everywhere
Programs: A3 *G, BA Silver, Hilton Diamond, Bonvoy LTT, United Silver, LH Unelected fool, Carrot Rewards
Posts: 2,688
Use the number on the rear at the top right.
GVA is offline  
Old Sep 19, 20, 9:39 am
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO (temp YYZ)
Programs: AC SE MM, Bonvoy Tit, HH Diamond, Accor Gold, UA Silver
Posts: 34,033
Are you talking about US PR or Canadian PR?

For the former, I've never been asked, but it's been a month since I last flew to the US.
canadiancow is online now  
Old Sep 19, 20, 11:13 am
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Programs: Air Canada
Posts: 4
Originally Posted by canadiancow View Post
Are you talking about US PR or Canadian PR?

For the former, I've never been asked, but it's been a month since I last flew to the US.
Its a US green card
oceanasteve is offline  
Old Sep 19, 20, 11:31 am
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO (temp YYZ)
Programs: AC SE MM, Bonvoy Tit, HH Diamond, Accor Gold, UA Silver
Posts: 34,033
Are you sure it's not asking for Canadian PR information, and you're trying to put in a US number?

As of a month ago, there was no way for me to enter my green card information in YYZ-SFO.
canadiancow is online now  
Old Sep 19, 20, 11:45 am
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Programs: Air Canada
Posts: 4
It asks which country not and if it is a permanent alien or permanent resident. I have a US perm resident. Instead of selecting the perm resident I used the perm alien and the number on my perm residence card. It worked.... reported it as a bug to AC. We shall see what happens at the airport
oceanasteve is offline  
Old Sep 19, 20, 11:55 am
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: YYC
Posts: 22,470
Originally Posted by oceanasteve View Post
It asks which country not and if it is a permanent alien or permanent resident. I have a US perm resident. Instead of selecting the perm resident I used the perm alien and the number on my perm residence card. It worked.... reported it as a bug to AC. We shall see what happens at the airport

But are alien people?
Stranger is offline  
Old Sep 19, 20, 12:02 pm
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Programs: Air Canada
Posts: 4
apparently more status than residence
oceanasteve is offline  
Old Oct 23, 20, 5:55 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 1
thank you! just ran into the same problem, this worked!
Jennifer12345 is offline  
Old Oct 23, 20, 7:05 pm
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ZOA, SFO, HKG
Programs: UA 1K 0.9MM, Marriott Gold, HHonors Gold, Hertz PC, SBux Gold, TSA Pre✓
Posts: 12,230
Originally Posted by oceanasteve View Post
No indication what the format is. Any ideas?
It is a 9-digit number, which is formerly known as Alien Registration number, A# number, etc. I believe it is known as USCIS# now. This is a number following an immigrant for life, even after naturalization. CBP TECS will be able to verify the status of the Immigrant by use this set of number.

There is a second set of number, which is the serial number for the card itself. That number virtually has no value.
garykung is online now  
Old Oct 24, 20, 12:40 am
  #11  
Moderator, Air Canada
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: YYC
Programs: AC SE100K, WS Gold, BA Silver, Marriott Titanium, Accor/Hilton/Radisson/NH Gold
Posts: 9,118
Originally Posted by Jennifer12345 View Post
thank you! just ran into the same problem, this worked!
With this being your first post, welcome to FT
Adam Smith is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: