Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

Aeroplan Booked, Turkish Airlines flight canceled

Aeroplan Booked, Turkish Airlines flight canceled

Old Aug 28, 20, 12:54 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Chicago
Programs: AA Gold, UA Gold, HH Gold, Bonvoy Gold
Posts: 204
Aeroplan Booked, Turkish Airlines flight canceled

Hi All - hoping some AP experts on here can shed some light on my current situation.

I have two award tickets booked with AP from ORD-IST-MLE and MIA-IST-MLE departing on 9/29 and arriving on 10/1. unfortunately, TK has canceled the IST-MLE flight on 10/1 and has decided to resume on 10/2.

I want to move our itinerary by one day so leaving on 9/30 and arriving on 10/2. Issue is there is no award (I) space on either ORD-IST, MIA-IST or IST-MLE...

I am on the phone with AP now and they are saying that they canít force availability on TK despite having read on here that itís definitely possible when TK themselves cancel the flight.

Can anyone confirm whether what iíve read on here is correct? Is this a case of HUCA? Thanks in advance
rvlcr is offline  
Old Aug 28, 20, 1:09 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 125
Originally Posted by rvlcr View Post
Hi All - hoping some AP experts on here can shed some light on my current situation.

I have two award tickets booked with AP from ORD-IST-MLE and MIA-IST-MLE departing on 9/29 and arriving on 10/1. unfortunately, TK has canceled the IST-MLE flight on 10/1 and has decided to resume on 10/2.

I want to move our itinerary by one day so leaving on 9/30 and arriving on 10/2. Issue is there is no award (I) space on either ORD-IST, MIA-IST or IST-MLE...

I am on the phone with AP now and they are saying that they can’t force availability on TK despite having read on here that it’s definitely possible when TK themselves cancel the flight.

Can anyone confirm whether what i’ve read on here is correct? Is this a case of HUCA? Thanks in advance
it is not easy to force open a seat on TK, but you can reroute on any carrier that has (I) space without triggering fee and surcharge recalculation. it might not be that easy nowadays in order to respect covid transit rules of different countries. good luck
jlimftalk likes this.
aznfreak007 is offline  
Old Aug 28, 20, 1:18 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Chicago
Programs: AA Gold, UA Gold, HH Gold, Bonvoy Gold
Posts: 204
Originally Posted by aznfreak007 View Post
it is not easy to force open a seat on TK, but you can reroute on any carrier that has (I) space without triggering fee and surcharge recalculation. it might not be that easy nowadays in order to respect covid transit rules of different countries. good luck
Thanks, this is interesting because this thread says otherwise:
Aeroplan bought flight cancelled, no availability, options?

this is very frustrating because we did have an agreement and i would expect AP to work with TK to free up availability in this case so that they can still get me to MLE within 24H.... there are some flights with Swiss and EY but, with their covid testing requirements itís not feasible. A revenue J flight is like 5,000 so not feasible. whatís most annoying is that both flights are empty.....
jlimftalk likes this.
rvlcr is offline  
Old Aug 28, 20, 1:22 pm
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, Bonvoy Tit, HH Diamond, Hyatt Glob, Accor Gold, UA Silver
Posts: 34,732
Aeroplan can and will force space on AC metal for things like this.

For other airlines, the only "consistent" (and even here it can take some fighting) time I've seen them buy revenue space on other airlines is when they fail to ticket and the space disappears.

I would definitely not expect them to buy a TK flight here, and my advice is to lengthen your trip by one day.

Anything's possible, and I've certainly seen unusual things happen, but expecting them to buy TK J on a date you weren't even booked is just asking for disappointment.
Often1 and jlimftalk like this.
canadiancow is offline  
Old Aug 28, 20, 1:30 pm
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Chicago
Programs: AA Gold, UA Gold, HH Gold, Bonvoy Gold
Posts: 204
Originally Posted by canadiancow View Post
Aeroplan can and will force space on AC metal for things like this.

For other airlines, the only "consistent" (and even here it can take some fighting) time I've seen them buy revenue space on other airlines is when they fail to ticket and the space disappears.

I would definitely not expect them to buy a TK flight here, and my advice is to lengthen your trip by one day.

Anything's possible, and I've certainly seen unusual things happen, but expecting them to buy TK J on a date you weren't even booked is just asking for disappointment.
well, i was perfectly happy with my original date, had TK not canceled it! so itís not like itís them doing me any favors so the least TK could do is free up space!

the only other option is EY, and i donít want to fly with EY because of covid testing.
rvlcr is offline  
Old Aug 28, 20, 1:57 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 1,420
It's an unpleasant situation for sure, but this is not a normal time to be travelling and as you've noticed there just aren't many options in some cases, especially with niche destinations.

If I was in your shoes, I would take the EY flights and deal with the cost/logistical challenge of COVID testing before departure. If all goes well, you'll quickly forget about it once you are at your resort in the Maldives.
YYCCL3 is offline  
Old Aug 28, 20, 2:13 pm
  #7  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 49,405
AP can ask AC through its *A liaison to reach out to the *A liaison desk at TK and request that the space be opened. If TK will do so, AP can then change the ticket. But, there is nothing AP can do to force anything other than on AC.

Given that you have an entire month, I would start that process right now.

Don't give this much of a chance because TK is likely accommodating its own customers first and that may not leave much space, whether revenue or redemption.

In the meantime, I would look at other *A alternatives and have those in reserve.
Often1 is offline  
Old Aug 28, 20, 2:59 pm
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Chicago
Programs: AA Gold, UA Gold, HH Gold, Bonvoy Gold
Posts: 204
Originally Posted by Often1 View Post
AP can ask AC through its *A liaison to reach out to the *A liaison desk at TK and request that the space be opened. If TK will do so, AP can then change the ticket. But, there is nothing AP can do to force anything other than on AC.

Given that you have an entire month, I would start that process right now.

Don't give this much of a chance because TK is likely accommodating its own customers first and that may not leave much space, whether revenue or redemption.

In the meantime, I would look at other *A alternatives and have those in reserve.
I was able to get across a super competent agent who was able to find availability... except that all of a sudden TK pulled all revenue business availability literally mid call on the IST-MLE leg (no issues on the ORD-IST segment) so now the process is on hold. i assume this is a temporary glitch due to inventory reshuffling.

he confirmed that they are allowed to force revenue seats for TK by what iím assuming is the exact process you described. will call again later when TK will put back space for revenue seats (hopefully soon).
rvlcr is offline  
Old Aug 28, 20, 3:09 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: YYC
Programs: AC SE
Posts: 752
the cannot force revenue or award seats from TK.
canadiancow likes this.
300rwhp is offline  
Old Aug 28, 20, 3:18 pm
  #10  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Chicago
Programs: AA Gold, UA Gold, HH Gold, Bonvoy Gold
Posts: 204
Originally Posted by 300rwhp View Post
the cannot force revenue or award seats from TK.
the supervisor i spoke to was definitely able to force it for the ORD-IST leg despite there being no I availability for redemption on my specific date. I dont know how he did it (maybe forced is the wrong word...?)

The IST-MLE leg is for some reason not showing any J availability on any friday in october presumably bc they are shuffling things around... or some sort of glitch.

I will just call back as soon as i see J for sale
again on IST-MLE on 10/1... and letís see what happens.

Last edited by rvlcr; Aug 28, 20 at 3:37 pm
rvlcr is offline  
Old Aug 28, 20, 4:57 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 678
TK does do strange things with its inventory. I was looking at a *A award flight (OZ miles) from LAX to IST for about a week, and there were 4 seats available every single time that I checked. On the day I decided to book, the J availability for that specific flight vanished, and I was forced to settle for Y on that segment. A few days later, all of the J seats reappeared. I had to pay a $30 change fee, but I was able to rebook in J.
downinit is offline  
Old Aug 28, 20, 5:19 pm
  #12  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 49,405
Originally Posted by rvlcr View Post
the supervisor i spoke to was definitely able to force it for the ORD-IST leg despite there being no I availability for redemption on my specific date. I dont know how he did it (maybe forced is the wrong word...?)

The IST-MLE leg is for some reason not showing any J availability on any friday in october presumably bc they are shuffling things around... or some sort of glitch.

I will just call back as soon as i see J for sale
again on IST-MLE on 10/1... and letís see what happens.
I can assure you that AP can't force anything on TK and that if TK did not wish to permit the space, it would not have ticketed.

Just keep pressing AP. You need an agent who is willing to be your advocate.
canadiancow likes this.
Often1 is offline  
Old Aug 28, 20, 6:50 pm
  #13  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Chicago
Programs: AA Gold, UA Gold, HH Gold, Bonvoy Gold
Posts: 204
Originally Posted by Often1 View Post
I can assure you that AP can't force anything on TK and that if TK did not wish to permit the space, it would not have ticketed.

Just keep pressing AP. You need an agent who is willing to be your advocate.
they have now added J revenue seats back into inventory.. except now ive called back 3 times and everyone says they cant help me or even contact *A/Turkish despite what the agent said this morning. What a pain, not sure what else I can do.

Not sure if there is a specific way to phrase this. the last woman i spoke to said that she's been working with AP for 20 years and said that this is not protocol. maybe the guy from earlier today was lying, but i dont know what is up...
rvlcr is offline  
Old Aug 28, 20, 6:56 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: PVG, FRA, SEA, HEL
Programs: UA Premier Gold
Posts: 4,221
What a pain, not sure what else I can do.
You are wasting your time.

and has decided to resume on 10/2.
I think this flight will be cancelled as well.
The second wave is increasing now - also affecting Turkey more and more.
Airlines are usually cancelling flights in a batch. With the next batch, the 10/2 flight will be included.

All the time you are spending now to rebook the ticket, is basically wasted.

In 2020 longhaul tourist travel is not going to happen.
Are you really sure that people from the US are allowed to enter the Maldives - without any restrictions? It would seem strange if yes.

Last edited by tcook052; Sep 1, 20 at 8:02 pm Reason: Off topic
warakorn is offline  
Old Aug 28, 20, 6:57 pm
  #15  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, Bonvoy Tit, HH Diamond, Hyatt Glob, Accor Gold, UA Silver
Posts: 34,732
Originally Posted by rvlcr View Post
they have now added J revenue seats back into inventory.. except now ive called back 3 times and everyone says they cant help me or even contact *A/Turkish despite what the agent said this morning. What a pain, not sure what else I can do.

Not sure if there is a specific way to phrase this. the last woman i spoke to said that she's been working with AP for 20 years and said that this is not protocol. maybe the guy from earlier today was lying, but i dont know what is up...
Just because something is possible, doesn't mean it's protocol.

I've redeemed millions of miles on flights over the past few years, and when stuff like this happens, I've had AC space opened for me, I've had change fees waived, I've been allowed to exceed MPM, I've been allowed an extra stopover, and I've been allowed to book LH with no YQ.

But I have never had space opened on another airline for me.

IMO, it is not worth with the time and effort to pursue this. Find I space on any dates/airlines/routes that work, and go for that. Try LH with no YQ. Extend your trip by a day. Do something. But trying to get what you want is going to take many hours on the phone, and I think your chance of success is below 10%.
canadiancow is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: