Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

Unofficial AC PNR Viewing Tool (cowtool)

Old Jan 7, 2022, 12:33 am
FlyerTalk Forums Expert How-Tos and Guides
Last edit by: canadiancow
https://acpnr.cowtool.com/

Feature Requests / Bug Reports
  • More direct links to partner airline "manage booking" pages
  • For points bookings, show how many points were used
  • Sometimes when you have UN segments, it doesn't show the entire PNR
  • How about a one tool using the other: PNR lookup tool could show R space available Y/N if pax isn't already upgraded.
  • Can seat # be a clickable link to carrier manage booking/seat?
  • Display ticket create date/time, helpful to know when reticketed due to schedule change.
Print Wikipost

Unofficial AC PNR Viewing Tool (cowtool)

Old Dec 25, 2020, 5:22 pm
  #256  
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 1,206
Edit: Delete
hoipolloi is offline  
Old Dec 25, 2020, 5:24 pm
  #257  
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 1,206
is it normal that reward tickets issued by United on AC metal cannot be viewed using this tool when providing the AC PNR ?

Originally Posted by canadiancow
I may have to start charging for this, as my hosting bill is going to be roughly $50/month for all this stuff now. I'll definitely try to reduce that, but giving anonymous users free and unlimited queries may end. If this is permitted by FT rules, and I go this route, I'll make it clear that I'm not going to make a profit. Just trying to recoup some costs.
you could start a GoFundMe or something, I'm sure many here, including me, would chip in enough to cover the costs for a good amount of time
hoipolloi is offline  
Old Dec 25, 2020, 5:35 pm
  #258  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, BA Gold, SQ Silver, Bonvoy Tit LTG, Hyatt Glob, HH Diamond
Posts: 44,798
PM me the information and I can take a look. It's quite possibly an error on my end. This version of the code hasn't been used in many months.
Adam Smith likes this.
canadiancow is offline  
Old Dec 25, 2020, 7:58 pm
  #259  
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 1,206
Originally Posted by canadiancow
PM me the information and I can take a look. It's quite possibly an error on my end. This version of the code hasn't been used in many months.
Nevermind. The issues I encountered with the cowtool being unable to retrieve AC PNRs containing tickets issued by UA were in the past. They seem to have been resolved with your recent update since today
canadiancow likes this.
hoipolloi is offline  
Old Dec 25, 2020, 8:59 pm
  #260  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, BA Gold, SQ Silver, Bonvoy Tit LTG, Hyatt Glob, HH Diamond
Posts: 44,798
Well, you should have PM'd me in the past then
canadiancow is offline  
Old Feb 3, 2021, 10:55 am
  #261  
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 648
Is the Eastern Seaboard winter storm affecting the cowtool? (No judgement if it is, other acceptable reasons include government travel advisory or catering delay)

I'm getting this error when searching up my PNRs:
{"message": "Endpoint request timed out"}
zappy312 is offline  
Old Feb 3, 2021, 11:33 am
  #262  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, BA Gold, SQ Silver, Bonvoy Tit LTG, Hyatt Glob, HH Diamond
Posts: 44,798
Sorry, the API has slowed down, and AWS API Gateway has a maximum 30 second timeout. I have a plan to rectify it, but I've had literally like 10 minutes of free time in the past ~10 days.
zappy312 likes this.
canadiancow is offline  
Old Feb 3, 2021, 12:12 pm
  #263  
Moderator, Air Canada; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: YYC
Programs: AC SE MM, FB Plat, WS Plat, BA Silver, DL GM, Marriott Plat, Hilton Gold, Accor Silver
Posts: 16,938
Originally Posted by canadiancow
Sorry, the API has slowed down, and AWS API Gateway has a maximum 30 second timeout. I have a plan to rectify it, but I've had literally like 10 minutes of free time in the past ~10 days.
Maybe you'd have more free time to do this important work if you weren't wasting time trading meme stocks
Adam Smith is offline  
Old Feb 4, 2021, 11:43 pm
  #264  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, BA Gold, SQ Silver, Bonvoy Tit LTG, Hyatt Glob, HH Diamond
Posts: 44,798
Well I finally had more than 10 minutes free, so I have a fix at https://flyertalk.canadiancow.com/acpnr.php

Yes, it's a different link. But everything else should work the same. And the 30 second timeout is gone. Silly AWS.
canadiancow is offline  
Old Feb 7, 2021, 12:41 am
  #265  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, BA Gold, SQ Silver, Bonvoy Tit LTG, Hyatt Glob, HH Diamond
Posts: 44,798
It now recognizes secondary black card holders.

I still need someone who only has a base credit card (not the mid-tier "slate" card) to help me figure out these codes.
canadiancow is offline  
Old Feb 8, 2021, 9:18 am
  #266  
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: YYC, SFO, OAK
Programs: AS MVP 75K, AA Platinum, IHG Platinum, Club Carlson Gold
Posts: 734
Thanks for this great tool, cow. I'm willing to pay a fee to use it.
AwardBee is offline  
Old Feb 18, 2021, 12:55 pm
  #267  
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: YYZ-YYC
Programs: AC50K, OZ*G
Posts: 281
So interesting issue. Pulled my PNR and it said this:


Name eTicket FF# AC *A
xxxxxxxxxx 014213456XXX OZ 768XXXXXX 75K MM OZ*G

Definitely not an AC MM. Have P25K on AC, and *G on OZ. I used my useless e-upgrades on one of the flights, so maybe that's where the confusion is coming from? Would this be a AC data issue or, a cowtool issue?
WannabeSE is offline  
Old Feb 18, 2021, 1:30 pm
  #268  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, BA Gold, SQ Silver, Bonvoy Tit LTG, Hyatt Glob, HH Diamond
Posts: 44,798
Originally Posted by WannabeSE
So interesting issue. Pulled my PNR and it said this:


Name eTicket FF# AC *A
xxxxxxxxxx 014213456XXX OZ 768XXXXXX 75K MM OZ*G

Definitely not an AC MM. Have P25K on AC, and *G on OZ. I used my useless e-upgrades on one of the flights, so maybe that's where the confusion is coming from? Would this be a AC data issue or, a cowtool issue?
If you send me the details I can take a look.
canadiancow is offline  
Old Feb 18, 2021, 5:06 pm
  #269  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, BA Gold, SQ Silver, Bonvoy Tit LTG, Hyatt Glob, HH Diamond
Posts: 44,798
My bad, and fixed. Thanks for sharing.
WannabeSE likes this.
canadiancow is offline  
Old Mar 16, 2021, 10:58 pm
  #270  
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: ARN
Programs: AC, SK, AY, Marriott, BW, Avis
Posts: 1,217
YXC-YVR is showing up as 333 miles (distance) but credits 334 AE points
TechnoTourist is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.