Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

YYZ Lounge Access for a Premium Rouge flight?

YYZ Lounge Access for a Premium Rouge flight?

Old Dec 14, 19, 8:50 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 126
YYZ Lounge Access for a Premium Rouge flight?

Hello,

I have a Premium Rouge flight to Lima. I know it's not quite a Business Class but it's the highest class available on Rouge.

Does this give access to the AC Lounge? Which one you recommend in YYZ? I'll be landing and departing from T1 but if there is a better lounge I do have about 2:20 min layover. Thanks!
spartac is offline  
Old Dec 14, 19, 9:30 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: YYZ
Programs: Air Canada E75K /*A Gold, Emirates Skywards Silver, Marriott Titanium Elite
Posts: 116
Yes you will have lounge access in the Maple Leaf International Lounge in Pearson T1. Just not the Signature Suite.
42000ft is offline  
Old Dec 14, 19, 10:12 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 126
Great thanks. Any idea what lounge I could use when departing from Lima?
spartac is offline  
Old Dec 14, 19, 10:16 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 71
Originally Posted by spartac View Post
Great thanks. Any idea what lounge I could use when departing from Lima?
Make sure you donít need to pre-book the lounge. We flew PE on AC back in August. I was told by an agent we could just walk up to the front desk at the YYZ lounge. When we got there, they said we had to pre-book. They wouldnít make an exception.
Bokehman is offline  
Old Dec 14, 19, 10:18 am
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 126
Originally Posted by Bokehman View Post
Make sure you donít need to pre-book the lounge. We flew PE on AC back in August. I was told by an agent we could just walk up to the front desk at the YYZ lounge. When we got there, they said we had to pre-book. They wouldnít make an exception.
Thanks for the tip. Does anyone know how to Pre-Book a lounge? Never heard of such a concept
spartac is offline  
Old Dec 14, 19, 10:24 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: YYZ
Programs: Air Canada E75K /*A Gold, Emirates Skywards Silver, Marriott Titanium Elite
Posts: 116
Originally Posted by spartac View Post
Great thanks. Any idea what lounge I could use when departing from Lima?
No lounge in Lima when I was there

Originally Posted by Bokehman View Post
Make sure you donít need to pre-book the lounge. We flew PE on AC back in August. I was told by an agent we could just walk up to the front desk at the YYZ lounge. When we got there, they said we had to pre-book. They wouldnít make an exception.
I've never heard of this.

@OP, looks like I was incorrect in my previous post. Check this out: https://www.aircanada.com/ca/en/aco/...f-lounges.html

Apparently premium rouge flights to South America must purchase lounge access. Weird. Sorry for the mistake on my part.

If it makes you feel better, you're not missing much: a mediocre lounge at best, with crap food.
42000ft is offline  
Old Dec 14, 19, 10:36 am
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 126
Originally Posted by 42000ft View Post
No lounge in Lima when I was there



I've never heard of this.

@OP, looks like I was incorrect in my previous post. Check this out: https://www.aircanada.com/ca/en/aco/...f-lounges.html

Apparently premium rouge flights to South America must purchase lounge access. Weird. Sorry for the mistake on my part.

If it makes you feel better, you're not missing much: a mediocre lounge at best, with crap food.
Thanks for the catch. I'll just use a Priority Lounge then. Probably just as bad
spartac is offline  
Old Dec 14, 19, 11:08 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 71
Originally Posted by 42000ft View Post
No lounge in Lima when I was there



I've never heard of this.

@OP, looks like I was incorrect in my previous post. Check this out: https://www.aircanada.com/ca/en/aco/...f-lounges.html

Apparently premium rouge flights to South America must purchase lounge access. Weird. Sorry for the mistake on my part.

If it makes you feel better, you're not missing much: a mediocre lounge at best, with crap food.
Perhaps, but those tables with the electronic displays in T1 are truly ridiculous. They take up way too much space, leaving little room to navigate or stow your bags. Whatís wrong with a simple chair?
42000ft likes this.
Bokehman is offline  
Old Dec 14, 19, 12:31 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: EDI
Programs: AC *s p, BA bronze, A3 & EI nobody!
Posts: 329
Originally Posted by 42000ft View Post
No lounge in Lima when I was there



I've never heard of this.

@OP, looks like I was incorrect in my previous post. Check this out: https://www.aircanada.com/ca/en/aco/...f-lounges.html

Apparently premium rouge flights to South America must purchase lounge access. Weird. Sorry for the mistake on my part.

If it makes you feel better, you're not missing much: a mediocre lounge at best, with crap food.
Premium rouge as far as I know comes in 2 classes - Premium Economy for Intl and Business Class for NA and Caribbean destinations.

As a seasonal regular on ACr, YYZ/EDI, pre-booking is offered at the time of booking on-line (or at least it was using the system prior to 18 Nov!) or call Air Canada reservations in advance to do this.

BTW having booked lounge access on-line at the time of booking a YYZ/EDI flight last June along with other sectors, some of the other sectors had been subject to service changes related to the non availability of the MAX. The MLL 'booking' did not auto transfer over to the changes made. In the end quickly sorted in the MLL by a friendly agent!
edinv is offline  
Old Dec 14, 19, 1:01 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 71
Originally Posted by edinv View Post
Premium rouge as far as I know comes in 2 classes - Premium Economy for Intl and Business Class for NA and Caribbean destinations.

As a seasonal regular on ACr, YYZ/EDI, pre-booking is offered at the time of booking on-line (or at least it was using the system prior to 18 Nov!) or call Air Canada reservations in advance to do this.

BTW having booked lounge access on-line at the time of booking a YYZ/EDI flight last June along with other sectors, some of the other sectors had been subject to service changes related to the non availability of the MAX. The MLL 'booking' did not auto transfer over to the changes made. In the end quickly sorted in the MLL by a friendly agent!
For our YYZ-DUB flight last August, I did get a notification in the AC app to book the lounge. I tried, and got an error. Thatís when I called an agent, who told me I didnít need to pre-book, and could just purchase at the lounge. The girl at the desk told us they donít take walk-ups, as they canít anticipate how much food to order.
Bokehman is offline  
Old Dec 14, 19, 2:28 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: USA
Programs: Frontier 100K, AC SE100K, BA Gold, WN A-/CP, Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 3,754
Originally Posted by Bokehman View Post
The girl at the desk told us they donít take walk-ups, as they canít anticipate how much food to order.
of all the potential reasons, this one is laughable

defrosted foodsevice campbells soup and nachos are bought by the pallet or trukload.
42000ft and Barrheadlass like this.
expert7700 is online now  
Old Dec 14, 19, 2:59 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto - YYZ
Programs: Aeroplan/Hilton Gold/Marriott Bonvoy PE/Accor/Hyatt Gold Passport
Posts: 5,456
Originally Posted by spartac View Post
Thanks for the catch. I'll just use a Priority Lounge then. Probably just as bad
El Salon by Newrest is probably your best bet. Believe it's a newish lounge, and they make a very decent pisco sour.
ACYYZ/SD is offline  
Old Dec 14, 19, 3:40 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: west coast best coast
Programs: TINDER GOLD, STARBUCKS GOLD, COSTCO EXECUTIVE!!
Posts: 3,371
Originally Posted by edinv View Post
Premium rouge as far as I know comes in 2 classes - Premium Economy for Intl and Business Class for NA and Caribbean destinations.

As a seasonal regular on ACr, YYZ/EDI, pre-booking is offered at the time of booking on-line (or at least it was using the system prior to 18 Nov!) or call Air Canada reservations in advance to do this.

BTW having booked lounge access on-line at the time of booking a YYZ/EDI flight last June along with other sectors, some of the other sectors had been subject to service changes related to the non availability of the MAX. The MLL 'booking' did not auto transfer over to the changes made. In the end quickly sorted in the MLL by a friendly agent!
Prebooking a lounge when every *G and their dog can just walk in???

This sounds like just a cost-cutting strategy to deny access to cash LMUs at the airport.
keitherson is offline  
Old Dec 14, 19, 3:52 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: YYZ
Programs: FOTSG Tangerine Ex E35k (AC)
Posts: 5,582
Having to purchase MLL access in advance from the AC site/app is not a new thing but it does seem odd.

Given the fact that theyíll happily take cash from peole with status who run out of family and first spots for various girlfriends.

And in at least one case they have taken cash for someone flying PY. Which in many routes is the same as PR.

Meanwhile I just enjoyed roast beef and yorkshire pudding at YYZ after a shower. In Terminal 3

But what do I know, I donít work at the airport.
jc94 is offline  
Old Dec 14, 19, 5:45 pm
  #15  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K, Accor Plat, Bonvoy Gold, HH Diamond
Posts: 31,809
I know it's been stated, but I want to clarify this since the first reply was 100% wrong.

You do not have complimentary access to any Air Canada or *G lounges with an international premium economy ticket.
Adam Smith and Jebby_ca like this.
canadiancow is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: