Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

eUps pre-airport for regulars since Amadeus

eUps pre-airport for regulars since Amadeus

Old Feb 17, 20, 1:43 pm
  #376  
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: YYT
Programs: AC 50K, WS Rewards, DL SkyMiles, UA MP, Priority Pass, AMEX MR, NEXUS, H-Honors Silver, M-Bonvoy
Posts: 1,624
Originally Posted by xray View Post
Issue is mainly that sometimes you get kicked off the list if you aren't cleared and no one can get you put back on (if you don't have access to concierge)...
Ahh I see! The reason that was my understanding is that AC stated in a press release that they would make every effort to clear upgrade prior to T-24 (implying that if it didn't clear prior to that, you were SOL).

So either they made some changes or I misinterpreted the wording!
codfather is offline  
Old Feb 17, 20, 2:00 pm
  #377  
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: AC Million Miler & long time SE; StarwoodPlat for 10+ yrs & lifetime Gold; Hilton Honours Diamond; IC Ambassador; AMEX Plat;Avis Presidents Club; Airmiles GOLD; and just about everything else!
Programs: aeroplan & 25+year loyalty
Posts: 3,822
As the OP, I did get quick resolution due to my email to the SE desk. But again the system should be working which clearly it is not as others have reported. Further if you are far away in a foreign country as I am, telephoning is not an easy option.
100,000miler is offline  
Old Feb 17, 20, 3:32 pm
  #378  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: YYJ
Programs: AC SE, Bonvoy Tit/LT Plat, HH Gold, National EE, Sixt Plat, Enterprise Gold, UA*S, Accor Gold, Hz 5*
Posts: 2,122
Was denied to request an upgrade by the central concierge office and the local Vancouver concierge for a companion. They said Aeroplan upgrades are not possible.
Nitehawk is offline  
Old Feb 17, 20, 5:27 pm
  #379  
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: AC Million Miler & long time SE; StarwoodPlat for 10+ yrs & lifetime Gold; Hilton Honours Diamond; IC Ambassador; AMEX Plat;Avis Presidents Club; Airmiles GOLD; and just about everything else!
Programs: aeroplan & 25+year loyalty
Posts: 3,822
AC Eup chart gone

I have some e ups to use by end of Feb but cannot find anywhere on the AC site the requirements. Seems to have been pulled as another enhancement to keep us in the dark. I have just wasted several hours trying to find this simple information which used to be there. GONE.

My SE status ends on Feb 29th and frankly the way things are going I am glad. AC has become more opaque each time I look into the site.

If anyone can tell me the # of Eups required from YYZ to YVR in FLEX I would appreciate that. Thanks.
100,000miler is offline  
Old Feb 17, 20, 5:47 pm
  #380  
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: YOW
Programs: AC*SEMM, *G, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Gold
Posts: 861
Originally Posted by 100,000miler View Post
I have some e ups to use by end of Feb but cannot find anywhere on the AC site the requirements. Seems to have been pulled as another enhancement to keep us in the dark. I have just wasted several hours trying to find this simple information which used to be there. GONE.

My SE status ends on Feb 29th and frankly the way things are going I am glad. AC has become more opaque each time I look into the site.

If anyone can tell me the # of Eups required from YYZ to YVR in FLEX I would appreciate that. Thanks.
https://www.aircanada.com/ca/en/aco/...calculate.html - but it is the chart that says "starting at".
YOWCDNFF is offline  
Old Feb 17, 20, 7:46 pm
  #381  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Ottawa
Programs: AC SE*MM/S100K; HHonors Diamond; a bunch of others at various levels!
Posts: 1,565
Link to current detailed eUpgrade requirements chart

Originally Posted by 100,000miler View Post
I have some e ups to use by end of Feb but cannot find anywhere on the AC site the requirements. Seems to have been pulled as another enhancement to keep us in the dark. I have just wasted several hours trying to find this simple information which used to be there. GONE.

My SE status ends on Feb 29th and frankly the way things are going I am glad. AC has become more opaque each time I look into the site.

If anyone can tell me the # of Eups required from YYZ to YVR in FLEX I would appreciate that. Thanks.
Originally Posted by YOWCDNFF View Post
https://www.aircanada.com/ca/en/aco/...calculate.html - but it is the chart that says "starting at".
This was just discussed on the FAQ: How to Upgrade on Air Canada thread. The chart you are looking for is "Enhance your travels with special eUpgrade offers" and the link is in the wiki at the top of the FAQ thread. Since YYZ-YVR is over 1500 miles, it is the maximum number of eUpgrades in whichever FLEX class you booked in.
  • Flex (M, U, H) 4 eUpgrade credits
  • Flex (Q, V, W, G) 8 eUpgrade credits
  • Flex (S, T, L, A, K) 11 eUpgrade credits
GJS - yow is offline  
Old Feb 17, 20, 7:55 pm
  #382  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, Bonvoy Tit LT Sil, Hyatt Glob, HH Diamond, Accor Gold, UA Silver
Posts: 39,434
Originally Posted by Nitehawk View Post
Was denied to request an upgrade by the central concierge office and the local Vancouver concierge for a companion. They said Aeroplan upgrades are not possible.
Can you provide more details because that's... confusing.
canadiancow is offline  
Old Feb 17, 20, 7:59 pm
  #383  
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: YYT
Programs: AC 50K, WS Rewards, DL SkyMiles, UA MP, Priority Pass, AMEX MR, NEXUS, H-Honors Silver, M-Bonvoy
Posts: 1,624
Originally Posted by canadiancow View Post
Can you provide more details because that's... confusing.
I agree. It sounds like a case of DYKIWATA
Nitehawk likes this.
codfather is offline  
Old Feb 17, 20, 8:10 pm
  #384  
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Ottawa
Programs: Aeroplan SE100K
Posts: 7
Originally Posted by YOWCDNFF View Post
https://www.aircanada.com/ca/en/aco/...calculate.html - but it is the chart that says "starting at".
Wow, now I'm confused. I just had to use 26 credits to upgrade YYZ-GRU from Premium Economy (lowest) when the chart shows only 21 credits are required. Anyone able to explain or should I email for a refund of 5 credits?
YA_YOW_SE100K is offline  
Old Feb 17, 20, 9:04 pm
  #385  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: YYJ
Programs: AC SE, Bonvoy Tit/LT Plat, HH Gold, National EE, Sixt Plat, Enterprise Gold, UA*S, Accor Gold, Hz 5*
Posts: 2,122
Originally Posted by canadiancow View Post
Can you provide more details because that's... confusing.
Excerpt from email from one concierge:

"...and due to system limitations it is not possible to process as it is a Rewards ticket."

excerpt from email another concierge:

"
Although, since the system transition, there is a limitation that is providing us from adding booking that requires add on fees on to the upgrade wait list.


We, as concierge agent, understand how e-upgrade is a big part of your yearly benefits of being Super Elite 100k. We did find a work around that resolved the matter and we did use it until last month. The company did specifically ask us to stop using that workaround and wait for the airport system to be updated, which should fix the issue."
pilot007 likes this.
Nitehawk is offline  
Old Feb 18, 20, 12:06 pm
  #386  
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Ottawa
Programs: Aeroplan SE100K
Posts: 7
Mobile browser does not show "starting at" when in portrait mode

Originally Posted by YA_YOW_SE100K View Post
Wow, now I'm confused. I just had to use 26 credits to upgrade YYZ-GRU from Premium Economy (lowest) when the chart shows only 21 credits are required. Anyone able to explain or should I email for a refund of 5 credits?
As per the title, when in portrait mode, it does not show "starting at" on my Galaxy S10. Landscape mode and normal web browsers do show it properly. Argh.

Do I still have a case for a refund of credits 🤓
YA_YOW_SE100K is offline  
Old Feb 18, 20, 1:33 pm
  #387  
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: YXU
Programs: AC SE100K, Marriott Bonvoy Titanium Elite, IHG Platinum Elite
Posts: 291
If AC is clearing wait listed eUpgrade requests at T-36, and you can no longer request an eUpgrade after T-24, am I correct that there’s a 12 hour window in which you must request an eUpgrade to a flight for which you’ve already requested one if you want a hope of getting upgraded at the gate?

This seems like an absurd redundancy compared to, say, leaving people on the wait list or going back to same-day upgrades.
talkeryxu is offline  
Old Feb 18, 20, 2:04 pm
  #388  
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: ARN
Programs: AC, Marriott
Posts: 881
Originally Posted by andrewlawton View Post
If AC is clearing wait listed eUpgrade requests at T-36, and you can no longer request an eUpgrade after T-24, am I correct that there’s a 12 hour window in which you must request an eUpgrade to a flight for which you’ve already requested one if you want a hope of getting upgraded at the gate?
I was waitlisted for AC103 when my window opened up (10 days). My upgrade didn't clear by T-24 (the cowtool showed HK) and when the upgrade list appeared in the app I was not on it. At around T-20 I was back on the list and at T-1 my upgrade cleared. No action was required to get on the upgrade list or be cleared at the gate.
TechnoTourist is offline  
Old Feb 18, 20, 2:07 pm
  #389  
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: YXU
Programs: AC SE100K, Marriott Bonvoy Titanium Elite, IHG Platinum Elite
Posts: 291
Interesting, thank you. My last two flights I’ve checked in pretty much right after T-24 and emailed the concierge to be added back to the list when I saw I wasn’t on it.
talkeryxu is offline  
Old Feb 18, 20, 6:05 pm
  #390  
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 280
Is this normal? The seatmap shows only one seat booked in J on an A320, but the flight is R0, so I'm waitlisted. The flight is in 8 days. Maybe they'll open up R space closer to the date?
musicmtl is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread